We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Larnaca Salt Lake

Larnaca Salt Lake
Artemidos Street, Larnaka, Cyprus
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 41 Attractions in Larnaka
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hard to say that it was very good but if you have time leave your car at the road and take the newly built path down to the Mosque. This would be a lovely path along which a family with children could cycle.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    61
    27
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iasi, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Wonderful landscape, especially during the sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was near to the Flamingo Beach Hotel so we visited several times.The landscape is beautiful especially during the sunset when the salt gets a shade of pink and the sky seems a peinture.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paralimni, Cyprus
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice for Twitchers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Salt Lakes at Larnaca are adjacent the Airport and easily accessible from the roadside. They are visited by hundreds of Flamingos each year during the Winter months and often into late spring. As well as these frequent visitors there are numerous indiginous species for the ardent twitcher to focus his binoculars.
The church of Hala Sultan Tekke Mosque is also situated at the edge of the largest of the lakes and is a well visited heritage site.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“worth going for photos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

worth visiting once in your life, especially if you are visiting hala sultan tekke, took some amazing photos if you are a keen photographer.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“yep it's a salt lake..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you must go, I advise going near sunset. The hills will serve as a great back drop, and the sun setting behind the hills really is a beautiful site.

Almost daily for six weeks I drove past these lakes. My moped was quite slow, so I was able to get the only long and clear views that I needed. The "lakes" are quite large, they seemed kind of dirty, and yep a lot of salt. Salt chunks, slabs of salt, sprinkles of salt.. but really not exciting.
I didn't understand the hype as I drove by and occasionally saw people taking pictures.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larnaca Salt Lake also viewed

Larnaka, Larnaka District
Larnaka, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka, Larnaka District
Larnaka, Larnaka District
 

Been to Larnaca Salt Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larnaca Salt Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.