We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful landscape, especially during the sunset” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larnaka Salt Lake

Larnaka Salt Lake
Artemidos Street, Larnaka City, Cyprus
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 52 things to do in Larnaka City
Attraction details
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful landscape, especially during the sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was near to the Flamingo Beach Hotel so we visited several times.The landscape is beautiful especially during the sunset when the salt gets a shade of pink and the sky seems a peinture.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    103
    60
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paralimni, Cyprus
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice for Twitchers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Salt Lakes at Larnaca are adjacent the Airport and easily accessible from the roadside. They are visited by hundreds of Flamingos each year during the Winter months and often into late spring. As well as these frequent visitors there are numerous indiginous species for the ardent twitcher to focus his binoculars.
The church of Hala Sultan Tekke Mosque is also situated at the edge of the largest of the lakes and is a well visited heritage site.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“worth going for photos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

worth visiting once in your life, especially if you are visiting hala sultan tekke, took some amazing photos if you are a keen photographer.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yep it's a salt lake..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you must go, I advise going near sunset. The hills will serve as a great back drop, and the sun setting behind the hills really is a beautiful site.

Almost daily for six weeks I drove past these lakes. My moped was quite slow, so I was able to get the only long and clear views that I needed. The "lakes" are quite large, they seemed kind of dirty, and yep a lot of salt. Salt chunks, slabs of salt, sprinkles of salt.. but really not exciting.
I didn't understand the hype as I drove by and occasionally saw people taking pictures.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great to see the sun blazing down on this, however winter sees both a lake of water and the flamingoes that settle there. Don't know which view is best so my advice is to see both

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larnaka Salt Lake also viewed

Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 

Been to Larnaka Salt Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larnaka Salt Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.