We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Boring” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Michaels Beach Apartments

Save Saved
You added Michaels Beach Apartments to your Saves list
Michaels Beach Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Michaels Beach Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dekelia Rd, Larnaka 6532, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka
Kiev
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cheap & Boring”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here on a last minute 4-day holiday in September. The location is very quiet and feels a bit deserted. There are a couple of bars and hotels around, but nothing interesting for a young couple. If you are planning to spend time in Larnaca or other places, you'll need to rent a car to travel from here. Otherwise public bus only goes every 30 minutes and takes about 10-15 minutes to get to Larnaca.

The beach is decent and you can use the sunbeds for free. The hotel looks like it hasn't been renovated since the 70's, but there is some retro charm to it. There is even an old Space Invaders slot machine in the lobby, but unfortunately it's broken. There is also free wi-fi access in the lobby.
The room was quite big and clean and even had a kitchenette, air conditioning worked fine too. Breakfast was very basic, with just tea/coffee, toasts and boiled eggs.

Basically there wasn't much to complain about given the low cost of accommodation. But if you are a traveller, who wants not to only lie on the beach but to explore the area, or enjoy some nightlife I'd suggest to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Frankly speaking I was on a budget trip and wanted to make the most of my Cyprus trip. We came accross Micheal's beach appartments. The rooms were clean and big. The toilet too was nice and simple. The best thing about this hotel is it is centrally located in Larnaca mid way between AyiaNapa & Paphos other two main locations in Cyprus. This hotel's other benifit is that it is just close walk from the beach, say 500 mts and it also has a beautiful swiming pool. The house keeping was good and done daily. Car parking was nice and close to resturants in the same street like pizza hut & some other resturants. This is a budget place and would recommend it to anyone. It also has a mini market for basic needs and a bar on the beach which serves light snacks , coffee etc. I liked the place very much and surely you will like it too if in a budget travel and looking to enjoy the beach & pool.

Room Tip: Top floor , room 609 facing the beach with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

the start of our holiday was horrendous due to the lack of organisation of the management of micheal's beach.We arrived after a tough stressful flight form london with 3 children age 2-7yr (u can imagine the stress) at 2am very tired kids in arms we just wanted to check in and get a bed. we were told by the staff memer on the front desk we were not booked in, horrified i showed him my booking confirmation and receipt he again checked his system and told us sorry there is no booking for us. we left luckly we had relatives to go to i was in tears my husband was raging and kids crying with tiredness. the next day it came to light that the managment had not entered the booking but was in their emails. they apologised and they let us stay 2 extra days and did not charge us for the tv, which was the least they could do in my opinion.

after a rocky start we tried desperately not to let this affect our holiday and began to settle being right on the beach was great but a nightmere when it came to the mosq. so take lots of repellent. the staff are friendly and helpful. the rooms are not great could do with a complete refurb however they are spacious.
i would not stay here again think i would pay the extra and stay at palm beach next door. having kids you need a certain amount of comfort and facilities. if i was young with my mates no kids looking for somewhere cheap these aprartments are perfect.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The netherlands
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

When we arrived there was a cockroach to welcome us. Although that isn't something i'm really bothered by, it given an indication how the complex is maintained.

First the good:
the appartments are spacious
the appartments are right on the beach
the aircondition is very well capable of cooling down the place
the staff is nice to their customers (not very nice, just nice)

The bad
there is a very loud disco nearby, VERY loud, it closes down at around 1am
the interior is very old and run down
the bathroom was filthy (towls smelled like mould)

i wouln't go there a second time....

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

My husband who is 6'6 inches tall and likes a lot of space. Our appartment fitted the bill perfectly and had superb views of the sea. We were there for 2 weeks (our first time) and found the whole stay wonderful. Staff very friendly and couldnt do enough to help you. We will definately go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Terribly maintain accommodation. Even though we were expecting a budget accommodation, it was run down and dirty. The view's from the rooms were amazing but the entire building was run down and not a single thing in the room was clean.

Furnished apartments- Sure. Clean- HELL NO! Dusty shelves and cupboards, cracked tiles and rusty pipes in the kitchen and toilets. Dirty cutlery and cookery, rusty fridge. Stained and dirty sheets and mattresses...

Wouldn't recommend it to anyone!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Everything else was terrible
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

We have just returned from Michael's Beach Apartments in Larnaca and I have to say that it was the worst experience we ever had abroad. On arrival we were allocated a substandard 1 bedroomed apartment. The mattresses were stained, the towels were stained and there was a strange smell in the apartment. The fridge was rusty, when we complained it was replaced with a fridge that had the door hanging off. The airconditioning unit was leaking. The apartment did not feel clean and we didn't feel happy about using crockery and cutlery. When we asked to be moved we were told that there were no other apartments available. On the 3rd day we saw that there were some people moving out so we demanded to be moved to a newer apartment This apartment looked better beds were newer, fridge and utensils were much better but unfortunatley we now had ants and cockroaches. This was the last straw so we just moved out. We found a lovely house further down the beach for our last few days at a cost of 600 euros, so we were seriously out of pocket. In my opinion , Michael's Beach should be closed down or completely refurbished. The sunbeds and umbrellas are very old and torn

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The standard of accommodation
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michaels Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michaels Beach Apartments

Address: Dekelia Rd, Larnaka 6532, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Michaels Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Michaels Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michaels Beach Apartments Larnaca
Michaels Beach Larnaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michaels Beach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.