We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern design, in the best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sun Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Athens Ave, Larnaka 6302, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 40 hotels in Larnaka
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Modern design, in the best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The most important fact about this hotel is the location,fantastic in the coastline of Larnaca and the main street of fun and resturants in this city,try to get rooms with see view and balcony great fun, rooms have special and nice decoration very normal bathroom and limited TV Channels, you don't have any facility for making tea or coffee in your room which is a bit pity but you can enjoy good food in the resturant, breakfast isn't very fascinating but acceptable there is a Coffe machin which you can have nice hot chocolate , AC is a bit noisy and when I was there was not working properly and I should say maintenance service in this hotel could make you crazy! If you are young couple or family with children who wants to enjoy the beach This one could be your choice in Larnaca, you are very close to the beach with access to many different resturants , bars and fun all in walking distance, they may help you to ignore the weaknesses

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    53
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
17
26
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have just spent 4 nights here. The rooms are very basic like a UK travelodge and several of the fittings are poor. The shower head wouldn't stay up and had low power, sink was wobbly, wardrobe doors didn't slide and were close to falling out, some sockets wouldn't accept plugs.. All pretty minor but annoying. Walls were very thin, had an annoying American next door who I never saw because he was living on US time and was phoning at 4, 5, 6am.. I know because I could hear his conversations and the annoying up/down of the Skype connection which woke me regularly. Thermostat for air conditioning was not connected to reality (cold or off). Room was never fully clean - floor had dust bunnies and insect corpses that were there throughout my stay. Breakfast was OK - again pretty basic buffet in a large meeting room area. No free WiFi but reception area cafe was good with good lunch (best bit of the hotel). Staff on reception were mixed, some seemed to know what they were doing and others were clueless (on leaving after checkout they had to double check our bill, disappeared for 15 minutes to come back and say "all OK"). Sea view was pretty nice (5th floor but I wouldn't bring children, the balcony was too low) - beach was better to look at than visit (lots of plant flotsam and many many flies here and in the local beachfront businesses e.g. Starbucks, Pizza Hut, McD and Goody - this is a poor man's mini San Diego). I was here on business so it was functional but a long way below my normal experiences (about 2-star IMHO). Conference room had tiny tiny screen - hard to read anything below top bullet points which was pretty poor; sound system OK. I wouldn't come to this location on holiday (but if I had to then I would stay elsewhere).

Room Tip: Sea view is good but noisy, choose high floor. Rear view is awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

In its favour, the location is good as it is close to a reasonable beach, bars and restaurants. No parking but we found a free car park within walking distance. Check in was dealt with efficiently. Our room had a side view of the sea and was quiet and pleasant. The room was clean with comfortable beds and a good bathroom. However, the sliding doors of the wardrobe were not functioning as they should and became a nuisance to open and close. Air conditioning in the room had problems coping and communal areas (other than reception) had none at all. The breakfast room was not such a good experience since the tables and chairs were dirty and covered in crumbs and the unfriendly staff (not Cypriots) had a "could not care less" attitude. The food available was poor and when we asked a member of staff if more eggs could be made available she claimed she could not understand us. We gave up waiting. The only time the staff seemed to move at speed was to clear away any signs of breakfast and guests who turned up 10 minutes before the deadline were disappointed. For us a last cup of tea was out of the question. Will not be back.

Room Tip: A side view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

At a very convenient spot of Larnaka at Finikoudes beach (one of the best beaches in Larnaka). Unfortunately no parking place(!) near meaning that either the guests have to pay to the local municipality for a parking place or park at a certain distance from the hotel for free. Average breakfast and average behaviour during check in with the receptionist doing her job but in a non friendly or professional manner (the receptionist based on the way she talked originated from another country and not Cyprus). Efficient check out by a Cypriot receptionist. Average rooms with basic amenities. Good if you want to stay for 1-2 nights or to be close to city center or the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We rented one of their apartments in Sept 2012.
The location was excellent, right on the beachfront and surrounded by all levels of restaurants.
The standard is about three star. Everything worked and the service was very good.
The bus stop for all destinations including the airport is directly across the street.
It had three permanent english tv channels and english movie channels at night.
The only downside was that the beds were quite hard which didn't lead to a good nights sleep.
The couch was also very firm.
It's worth getting a sea view balcony.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: A sea view balcony is worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran-Iran
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

the hotel is located in the center of all that is going on in Larnaca . beach is right in from of you and you just need to cross the street and all the restaurants and cafes just out of the door step . but be ware , because of the location you might not get the peace and quite you like to have on vacation . i booked a sea view room which was more expensive than normal rooms and to be honest had a great view but i couldn't get any sleep till late at night and i was woken up early in the morning . the noise from the cafes and ppl talking and shouting , concerts on the beach and cars were really annoying . a asked to be moved to a normal room but i was told they are fully booked and atlast on my last night and after being a pain in the neck to reception i could change my room .
rooms are renovated and really clean , bathroom is also clean . beds are OK but you can not find any of 4star hotel facilities there . no tea and coffee making facilities , no complementary water , sheets not changed every day ( i stayed in my first room for 4 nights and sheets were not changed ) . boring breakfast and breakfast area . TV channels really limited .
ppl working at reception were really nice but very few of them had this tired attitude .
overall an OK experience .

Room Tip: DO NOT book sea view rooms they are noisy , more expensive and smaller than standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Cheap- not but what to expect if you stay just in the middle of restaurants and you are just opposite the beach? Noisy- yes but again, what can we expect. Good hotel, nice staff, and big generous breakfast on the mezzanine level. If you can afford, book here as everything is nearby. ( local bus stop also just in front.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hall Hotel

Address: 6 Athens Ave, Larnaka 6302, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Hall Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Larnaca and its Landmark hotel Your voyage of discovery will begin in the hotel lobby of Sun Hall Hotel. The stylish, contemporary beach side hotel with prompt service, expansive meeting and event facilities, supreme hospitality and service, a wealth of desirable dining options and hotel amenities, will appeal to families and business professionals alike. The artistic interiors add a lavish welcome atmosphere to the hotel; the parquet floor, the white marble, the elegant wooden furnishings, all create a homely atmosphere.With 113 guestrooms and suites, the hotel is situated in the heart of the city, at the central coastal promenade, Phinikoudes Beach. Phinikoudes is one of the most famous areas in Cyprus, for its cafes, bars, restaurants and direct access to the adjacent shopping and commercial center. Sun Hall reflects the contemporary style, through its deluxe accommodation with all rooms equipped with international standard facilities and amenities: mini bar and personal safe, coffee/tea making facilities, hi speed internet connection, satellite channels including pay TV and games, air conditioning and private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sun Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hall Hotel And Apartments
Sun Hall Hotel Apartments
Sun Hall Larnaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.