We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Larnaka Dekelia Road | P.O. Box 40394, Larnaka CY 6303, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 41 hotels in Larnaka
Cymru/Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great all round hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Enjoyed an all inclusive week here; relocated due to fire in a nearby hotel. For a large, group establishment the Palm Beach was very dependable in every department. Based on our package price it probably represented excellent value for money as well.
Reception staff were attentive, sociable and responsive, especially if one tried a few pleasantries in Greek. Requests for local information and packed lunches e.g. were handled efficiently
My room balcony faced away from the sea, overlooking the lush gardens and suburbs to distant mountains - pleasant enough. Yes, fittings were a little dated in bedroom and bathroom but everything worked and was well maintained and cleaned. Storage space was generous.
The breakfast/lunch room is bright and spacious; waiters were happy to arrange outdoor dining in a small enclosed patio at very short notice. Both meals offered ample choice of hot dishes though there was little variation at breakfast time. Plenty of varied breads, rolls and pastries for breakfast with salads and fresh fruit at lunch time were available. Dishes were routinely replenished and service was well organised with a head waiter in attendance at all times.
The dinner buffet was offered in a larger restaurant at basement level, generally less pleasant than the upper room. Again staff were attentive and well trained, especially young ladies from Bulgaria and Romania, one lively 'treasure' even had a masters degree in Cultural Tourism! Many thanks to you both in particular. All my fellow travellers appreciated the range and quality of meats, vegetables and salads with only the chewy spare ribs one night coming in for criticism. Each evening's main course cuisine had a special theme to avoid repetition with 5 or 6 choices available. Although desserts, fruits and cheeses were somewhat repetetive, everyone was complimentary. Every evening there was live vocals/keyboard music (not too intrusive) with Greek dancing on one occasion; diners were invited to join some of the more familiar routines - great fun!
The main hotel building is only about 50 yards from the very gently shelving grey sand beach so there is relatively little space for lawns, pool and seaside bar. I'm not a pool lounger but the boardwalk alongside the beach was a great asset for morning and evening strolls. Where this narrow 'promenade' ends one can walk along the shor for a mile or two in both directions, though the landward views are rather dull, consisting of many forlorn, scrubby plots - seeking developers perhaps?
Service buses into Larnaka were cheap, regular, dependent and convenient. Studying timetables supplied by receptionist allowed two of us us to catch an onward connection to Lefkosia/Nicosia allowing for a 5-6 hour stay there. On this trip and hours spent in Larnaka I found the Cypriot people to be very approachable, chatty, generous, well travelled and truly engaged in current affairs. The colonial legacy also means that many have exemplary English.
On the whole the Palm Beach could not be faulted and those guests staying on for a further week were sorry to be transferred to the original venue - where fire damage had been repaired.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm B, General Manager at Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Friends,

Thank you very much for staying with us, even if you were “moved” from another hotel to the Palm Beach. Also, thank you for your positive, detailed review, reflecting so may aspects of your stay!!
We were happy to accommodate your group. I must admit I was reluctant in taking this group because we do not offer AI in our hotel, but from the feedback we received from most of the people. We must have done it ok!! Many want to come again and stay with us next year, which is great.
Once again, thank you for your custom!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    134
    74
    22
    12
See reviews for
93
169
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Really big pool and great beach setting. All the staff were very friendly and helpful particularly the concierge and breakfast team. Very well equipped gym.

Would stay again next time we need rest in the sun.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm B, General Manager at Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Alan,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and for the review. I love our gym too and for this reason we have many sports enthusiasts as well as professional teams stay with us.
I look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Cyprus.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place is okay. That's all I can say. The rooms? Okay. The service? Okay. Not the cleanest place and the rooms are screaming for updates. The beach is the best asset. The breakfast is lovely and the food is quite good. The concierge was helpful in giving us driving directions, which was great. This place is decent, but definitely not the place to stay if you plan on a luxurious experience in which you don't leave the hotel much. Thankfully, our plans included a lot of driving around the country to see other spots, so we really didn't spend our days in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm B, General Manager at Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Friends

A warm hello from hot Cyprus!! Thank you very much for staying with us and for the feedback. I thought a lot about your review and what to respond to it. My concern was that you did not find it very clean or ‘the cleanest place’ as usually we do get very positive comments about our cleanliness. Now, with regards to the rooms I would like to advise you that the rooms which have been renovated, do offer luxury, i.e. our garden bungalows and suites in the bungalows. We have also done sample room and suite in the main building and we will do major renovations next winter.
Once again thank you for your custom and for your feedback. We would love to see you back to our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINDFORD
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This our fourth stay at Palm Beach and we have loved every minute of it. Being of a older age it suits our requirements very well. The hotel is excellent but its real selling point is the superb staff. They really do make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. The facilities are good for young children but not for teenagers. There is very little for them to do at night that does not involve taxi's. Some areas require up dating and we were told he hotel is closing during the winter for refurbishment.
A high point was their help in arranging a suprise birthday party for my wife (a significant one) which became a super evening.
Great food, great service great location. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm B, General Manager at Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Bill J

Thank you very much for the very positive comments. Your points are very much to the points are very much to the point and they describe what we try to offer to our guests. For this reason we do have many discerning repeat clients. The hotel enjoys a great location. The services as well as food are two of our strengths, along with the gardens and ample space as well as great facilities. Next winter we will do a lot of room upgrading and updating. Every year we do something in the hotel to keep the repeat guests coming and the overall condition of the hotel in a good status.
I am pleased you enjoyed the birthday party and I do hope to see you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards from sunny and hot Larnaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I only came to the Palm Beach to use the pool as we were staying with family in Larnaca. It has a really lovely garden and pool area with a nice shallow kids pool too, perfect for my 2 year old. It also has its own narrow private stretch of beach as well, all areas with lots of sunloungers.

Service was ok, although we were there on a busy Sunday and the waitress forgot a few things from our order! The poolside staff were very helpful though.

Generally the hotel seemed to have a lot of families but managed to not feel overrun by screaming kids, probably due to the seperate kids pool. We will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm B, General Manager at Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Friends

Thank you very much for your visit to our hotel and your review on the experience you have had during your visit.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beach facilities and found the service attentive. We do cater to families, but because we have very large grounds, big beachfront as well as a number of pools, including two pools and a children playground, this is not intrusive at all to the other guests.
I wish you a lovely summer and hopefully we will have you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night only and while we had a lovely stay, I do feel the price for the night was too high for the standard of the room we stayed in. We had a sea view, which was beautiful, but our room really smelled of smoke and there were several flies in there when we arrived. The room was small, decor out-dated and bed very hard. In the morning I noticed the curtains had several holes in it - letting the sunlight in and just giving the impression that they were very old. The hotel itself was very pleasant, we had a drink in the evening and sat outside which was nice, we also enjoyed the breakfast in the morning, although the courtyard seating area was a bit cramped. The service was very good and we enjoyed restaurant recommendations from the very helpful staff at the front desk. The next day we had some time on the beach before leaving, and again were impressed with the staff who were friendly and helpful - getting sunbeds for us and being nice and chatty. I would have been very happy with this hotel if we'd paid a price that reflected the fact that the rooms really need refurbishment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm B, General Manager at Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Serap,

Thank you for staying with us and for the review.
I am pleased to hear about the aspects that made you happy, such as the beautiful sea views and the friendly service. With regards to the rooms I would like to let you know that we are organizing some nice renovations which will update as well as upgrade our rooms.
I look forward to seeing you back to the Palm Beach soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A lovely hotel with great sea view which serves well for a great weekend to relax. Very friendly and helpful personnel. Clean rooms with facilities and toiletries. Great location, easy to find. It can serve as a business hotel but it is also family friendly.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm B, General Manager at Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Maria,

I thank you very much for your preference towards our hotel and your feedback. Your review, although very short, is very much to the point and describes a lot of who we are. We do cater to the families (especially with the garden bungalows and the children’s pools & playground) but also to the couples and the business market.
I look forward to meeting you when you come back next time, which I hope will be soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows

Address: Larnaka Dekelia Road | P.O. Box 40394, Larnaka CY 6303, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Larnaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Larnaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Larnaka
#3 Family Hotel in Larnaka
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hotel And Bungalows
Palm Beach Hotel Larnaca
Palm Beach Larnaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.