We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Princess Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40858, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“the perfect place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Before to be registered here, I made many family trips in Greece, both continental & islands. So, when we decided to go in Cyprus, I was expecting to be the same, maybe little bit expensive more.
What I have to say now is that the resort & conditions fulfilled more than my expectations.
Is not a big resort ( a plus after my opinion) and has a lot of advantages: the position (6 Km to Larnaka), the very quick access even to the beach or to the pool, easy to eat.
The food quality is good and I appreciated the each day dinner special dishes, so in 7 days not ot get bored of same food.
The beverages are the same as in any all inclusive resort, but I appreciated the local beer and the dry white wine, in my opinion better than in other places.
Regarding beverages: the policy of the hotel is to serve them in glasses only, excepting the water that is at 1/2 liter bottles and you can take as much as you want, to have and in the rooms, too. The hotel is not providing drinking water in the rooms, but all day the bottles are available to take.
The resort, the rooms are very clean and any used linen or towel is changed immediately. Also the cleaning services hours are flexible and we never had any problems to be disturbed during the afternoon relax in the room.
Regarding the rooms; we stayed in so called bungalows, not in the main hotel body and I understand that they are bigger than the ones located in the hotel. So, if you are more than 2, better to choose a bungalow type. But take at the 1st floor and avoid the ground one if you don't support the air conditioned and I will tell you later why.
Internet is at cost, but as the speed is good I considered 35 EUR/7 days acceptable.
The hotel staff, all, is very polite and ready to help. What I noticed is that as they don't have a bell-boy to carry the baggage, you may ask at reception to borrow a trolley for this, that would be helpful in case you have big or heavy baggage.
The resort has entertainment programs, starting from morning at the pool (aerobics, etc) and in the evening, outdoor. Maybe is not at the level of other resorts in Turkey or Egypt, but is OK taking into consideration that Larnaka is very near and a lot of people prefers to spend the evenings there.
The smoking in the rooms is prohibited and are smoke detectors (during our stay someone tried to smoke and alarm started), but as each room has balcony, you will find there ashtrays, chairs and table to make you fell comfortable. Also, if you like to join the cigarette on balcony with a cafe or tea, the hotel provides daily supplies of tea, instant cafe, sugar, milk and you can make it by yourself in the room (using the existing electric kettle).
Take into account that the plugs are British system so if you come from Europe will need adapters (hotel provided one in the room).

Regarding the beach: I appreciated very much, with some sand where are located the hotel's sun-beds & umbrellas and the water is hot and not deep, so if you have small kids you can let them go more than 50 m away. Also, some dams system avoid big waves on this area.
Regarding the pool, was fine, but I consider that shall be proper cleaned for next year, as despite the daily maintenance to water was not so clear and was with some kind of algae or fungus.

And now let's tell you why is better to avoid ground-floor bungalow rooms if you don't support the air conditioned: we had a ground-floor room, with access from the terrace, too, to the room. In the conditions that the terrace doors are not locked from inside anyone can enter from outside. As everywhere, if the doors are not proper closed, the a/c is stopped. In the night time was too hot but we don't support to sleep with a/c open. So, time to time, we were slightly opening the terrace doors. One night we forgot to lock them and from outside s bugler entered in our room while we were sleeping (is free access from the beach or anyone can escalate the fence and is not CTV in the area). The good-luck was that he grabbed some stuff near the terrace doors and was afraid to get or stay more in the room with us, so we lost like this only the camera and the iphone. Next day morning, after we noticed the incident, reported to the hotel that offered to call police, but as from others experience was supposed to loose one day of journey by waiting police, giving declarations, taking fingerprints from everywhere and then cleaning all, we refused.
So, for the future if you go there, ask better for 1st floor room if you think you cannot keep the doors looked.

Finally, we enjoyed the stay, I recommend this resort and if in future will have again opportunity to go same place, will do it without hesitation.

Room Tip: take bungalow room, at 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Let us express our gratitude by thanking you for having decided to stay at the Louis Princess Beach and for taking your time to share your kind words online.

We are pleased to hear that the Louis Princess Beach and its conditions fulfilled more than your expectations and that you admired the hotel's location. Further, we are happy to see that our food on offer was to your likings and that you particularly appreciated the daily special dishes at dinnertime, ensuring that you would not get bored of our cuisine. Also, thank you for appreciating our local beer and the white wine, and for your special mention to our fabulous staff members, as well as our cleaners, who ensured that your room as well as the entire hotel is kept spotless at all times. Rest assured that your remark regarding the water in the swimming pool will be followed up. Finally, we highly regret hearing the incident you encountered.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are grateful to you for recommending our hotel. It is nice seeing that you would revisit the Louis Princess Beach without hesitation!

Kindly yours

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    141
    68
    22
    23
See reviews for
139
151
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Good size rooms, good quality food at restaurant.
All inclusive drinks, Coke / Sprite tended to be hit and miss with lack of syrup on occasions making it taste like Carbonated water. Otherwise good selection and Sangria at Hotel Bar was very nice. Bar staff good, Sylvia very friendly and efficient.
Usual issue with towels on loungers at beach and poolside and not used all day - that could do with being addressed.
A limited amount of restaurants and bars close to hotel but easy enough to get a bus for 1 euro into main area of Larnaca if you want a wider variety. Journey time approx 15 mins.
One issue encountered at restaurant, as I was in a large party we needed a large table of which there was only one (approx 10 seats) prepared. On one evening we were asked to move as the table had been reserved by another large party - (not as large as ours either, as we were there for a wedding). We were not particularly happy as we had been sitting there every day without an issue and were not aware of the facility to reserve a table and felt that the way the situation was handled was poor by the Restaurant Manager.
Hotel entertainment in evenings pretty low key.
Tennis Court not as good as some other Hotels (Crown Hotel for example), straight tarmac and various cracks to assist ball direction! Staff also continually walking through with trolleys etc as it must be a shortcut

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Louis Princess Beach and for writing a review on Tripadvisor.

It pleases us to see that you fully enjoyed the food that Louis Princess Beach offered and the fact that you were pleased with the hotel's spacious rooms, as well as the good selection of drinks at the bar. Further, we are glad you found our pool staff good, friendly and efficient and that overall you had a nice break. Nevertheless, we would like to apologize for the fact that some of the drinks served were lacking of syrup on some occasions and guarantee you that this issue will be addressed to our Bar staff. Also, we regret hearing that you encountered an issue in the restaurant and would like to assure you that we will handle similar situations better in the future. Moreover, we feel saddened hearing that the entertainment in the evenings did not fully satisfy you and that you did not find our Tennis Courts as good as some others you have played on; be informed that your remarks will be considered for improvement.

It was our pleasure accommodating you at the Louis Princess Beach and we hope that you will gratify us or any other beautiful Louis Hotel with a return visit.

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here 2 years ago and there have been a few changes to the hotel since our last visit. The Princess is still a lovely hotel with good food, excellent staff and is spotlessly clean. However, the biggest disappointment for us was that the buffet lunch which used to be served in the beach bar has now stopped. The BBQ evening, which was fabulous, also used to be cooked and served in the Beach restaurant but is now served in the main restaurant - it just wasn't the same and was such a shame. The food served at lunch is still good but we mussed the array of salads and choice of food that used to be available two years ago. We commented last time on the bedrooms and bathrooms being tired, especially in the main building - they still are and are in need of a refurb, as are a lot of the areas within the hotel, The beds were a little uncomfortable and the air conditioning could be noisy. However, bedrooms and public areas are serviceable but are just looking tired.
The building site next door has not been touched since out last visit - probably due to the economic climate in Europe at the moment. The beach is small, child-friendly and the sea is warm.
Again we would recommend Viking Dive Centre who are very professional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear loyal guest,

We would like to say 'thank you' to you for having chosen to stay at the Louis Princess Beach for the second time and for taking the time to share your opinion.

It gives us joy hearing that you once again enjoyed the good food, the service provided by our excellent staff and the superb cleanliness in all areas. Nevertheless, we are sorry to hear about your disappointment in the fact that the buffet lunch and BBQ evenings have been moved to the main restaurant. The reason for this is because since your last visit, the number of guests staying at our hotel has increased and the capacity of our beach kitchen is too small to be able to serve such an amount of people. We hope for your understanding and would also like to assure you that your further comments regarding updating and the choice of food will be discussed as soon as possible for our improvement. We hope that the happenings will not prevent you from visiting us again in the future.

It was nice seeing you again and hopefully you will please us with a return visit in the near future, the sooner the better!

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel has the best location by far. Right to the beach, the hotel is one of the best for its category. Personally, I have been to the hotel more than five times and I'm planning to return there soon with my family. I read the comment of the so-called 'Jane968' and I'm still wondering if there is actually such a person. 'Who's on earth is Jane968 and why she have been waiting for two months to REPORT such a complaint????' I bet that nothing like that happened and people who really know the staff can add on that! They are always helpful, friendly and joyfull. By the way, I'm very dubious whether the lady made a report on the hotel about that or she just waited to write something 'amusing for someone' on trip advisor two months later .... Best Regards to the whole staff, keep up the good work

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear loyal guest,

We would like to say thank you from the bottom of our hearts for repeatedly staying at the Louis Princess Beach and for posting a kind note online. It gives us joy hearing that you truly admire our hotel's perfect location - right on the beach - and that you consider our hotel one of the best for its category. Further, we will gladly forward your positive words and compliments regarding our helpful, friendly and joyful staff straightaway. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you at the Louis Princess Beach soon again!

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Relly really supriced and pissed off with the review from Jane968 from Birmingham!!!! i've decided to wright the following review. Every time we are deciding to visit Cyprus we are visiting Princess and that is mostly about the staff. They are all so friendly - especially Sotia -, that is why every time she deals with all our requests and i can say that we are good friends until now. She is always polite and friendly. I cannot accept any bad comment and i can even send all my details and certain dates to make sure that we've actually visited Princess and we know exactly what we are saying. When you see comments like Jane's you are keep thinking if that was in purpose and TripAdvisor should do something about it! I've already send an email to TripAdvisor that this review is suspicious and i will immediately send an email also to Princess and inform them about it! Believe me, if you want to be in Larnaca you should be in Princess....! Can't wait to return back again, it's by far the best place....!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear loyal guest,

Many thanks to you for regularly visiting the Louis Princess Beach and for sharing your opinion with the online community. We are pleased to hear that you consider our hotel by far the best place and that every time you decide to visit Cyprus, you choose to come to us. Thank you for your compliments regarding our friendly and helpful staff; rest assured that your positive feedback will gladly be shared with the ones concerned. We cannot wait to see you again at the Louis Princess Beach!

Kindly yours

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Princess Beach the last week in June. I had stayed here twice before but that was 20 years ago and things have certainly changed.

The Room - we booked a Superior room and it was, great sea views a shared terrace with sun beds table and chairs. The room itself was adequate with a sofa and a double bed reasonable sized bathroom but the shower needed a curtain because you flooded the bathroom if you used it (having a bath not pleasant as the water appeared dirty). Cleanliness was OK but not detailed, towels need replacing as they were old and thin and we witnessed at least three altercations between the Eastern European Room Maid and the Cypriot housekeeper – not a thing that should be conducted in public. The empty ex mini bar was a welcome addition, as drinks could be kept cold.

The Bar - The bar was very nice and comfortable with outdoor space although no non-smokers area. The all-inclusive menu was very good and included cocktails and coffee and was open from 4pm to midnight.

Pool Bar - Open from 9.30am until midnight is placed between the pool and the beach and serves excellent hot snacks. If you miss breakfast they serve bacon and eggs or sausages etc. Again the drinks menu includes cocktails and bottled water (freely available chilled from each bar) and the standards are genuinely high.

The Beach - Imported sand but next to the sea with clear blue water you can safely wade out at least 100 metres and the sea is warm but as a previous report I would caution that there is no Life Guard on duty.

The Pool – Average cleanliness with a lifeguard in attendance who dispenses free towels once a deposit has been paid at reception. Main problem is that there are insufficient loungers and those that are available have towels on them from early morning until evening often never used. This despite hotel rules that forbid this practice. There are in addition regular sessions of aqua aerobics which are noisy and take over half of the pool.

Restaurant – Buffet style is of a very high standard and even though we are not buffet lovers in hotels, this was as good as you are going to get. Each night there was a different theme and the kitchen staff cooked Chinese, etc. well. Each night there was also a carvery meat or fish ‘joint’, as well as a different home made soup each night. In addition, wide range of salads and sides + desserts. Drinks with dinner were served at your table (although when they first ask for your room number, you do wonder whether they are going to try and charge – they don’t). Breakfast was also of a good quality, not exactly the same every day, there were variations, but full English as well as lots of continental options were always available. Hot drinks via a machine self service, but the usual tiny glasses for watered down juice. Outside area again no non smoking section and we were bothered by numerous cats begging around our feet.

General – the hotel offers reasonable value for money in terms of Cyprus alternatives, but has one major drawback which has been mentioned in a previous review after which the hotel accuses the writer of being racist! We are certainly not racist, but there is a problem with predominantly Russian children chasing each other around the hotel (inside and outside during the day and evening) even running through management offices on the mezzanine floor, shouting and screaming uncontrolled by either their parents of any member of staff, ruined most days. As Western Europeans we are used to parents having and exerting control over their children. Seeing 14 year old children punching other kids whist parents looked on and laughed is not something we are used to seeing, nor tolerating. We feel sorry for the majority of excellent staff who work in the hotel who are powerless to stop this problem. Unfortunately, the management appear to condone this behaviour and do nothing to stop it. Because of this, we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are well worth the extra price as you get your own sun loungers and a big balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear loyal guest,

On behalf of the Louis Princess Beach we would like to thank you for staying at our hotel for the third time and for sharing your impressions and experience with us.

We are pleased to read that you much admired your room with its great view overlooking the sea, the welcomed additions, the very nice and comfortable bar, as well as our "All inclusive"- package with its tasty foods and cocktails of very high standard. Additionally, thank you for praising the pool bar and for considering our hotel good value for money. Nevertheless, we highly regret the fact that you were not fully satisfied with the cleanliness and we completely understand your disappointment about our staff having work related discussions in public. We would like to promise to you that your remark regarding the cleanliness will definitely be followed up immediately and that our staff will do their best to avoid public discussions in the future. In addition, our pool staff will do their best to prevent guests from reserving loungers in the early mornings. As for your remark regarding noisy kids, we hope for your understanding that we are not in control of how parents raise their children and we cannot be held responsible for their behavior as such. We nevertheless comprehend your frustration and will politely ask some of our guests to have a better control over their children and their behavior. Regarding your claim that we 'condone such behavior from kids', we do not share your view because any form of violence is unacceptable. A final point regarding the racism issue, nobody is being accused of being a racist; however we feel the need for everybody (guests and staff included) to avoid generalizations when judging the behavior of some people. A bad mannered person could just as easily come from Russia or Cyprus or Germany or England etc...that is all we are trying to say. How good mannered you are does not depend on your nationality but on how you are raised, and we are not here to judge how people are raised.

Thank you for taking your time and we hope to get the chance to prove to you that staying at the Louis Princess Beach may easily turn into one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays you have every had!

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night in July. Room was clean, spacious, adequate for 1 person. Food was lovely as were the cocktails. Pool area very clean with plenty of beds, location is fine, although not central, bus stop is right outside and will take you into central larnaca in 15 mins for 1 euro. Reception very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for visiting the Louis Princess Beach and for sharing your charming review online. We are grateful to you for appreciating our hotel's nice room, the delicious and exceptional food and drinks on offer, the nice pool area as well as the professionalism and helpfulness of our lovely staff. We hope to have the chance of seeing you again soon at one of our Louis Hotels!

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Beach Hotel

Address: Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40858, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Larnaka
#7 Family Hotel in Larnaka
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Princess Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Louis Princess Beach is located on a long sandy beach in the heart of Larnaca's tourist area where bars, restaurants and discos are found in abundance. Enjoy uninterrupted Mediterranean views from your balcony or from the terrace. Let us pamper you and your family in the best possible way as to enjoy the most of your Cyprus holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Princess Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Princess Beach Larnaca
Hotel Louis Princess Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.