We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a four star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Princess Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40858, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka
Newport Beach CA.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a four star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

Checked into the Princess very early in the morning. Since my allocated room was clean and ready the night clerk was kind enough to check me in. Room was shabby and needs some work. Dispensed soap near sink and bath tub for a 4 star not appropriate. Then we should look at this property as it in my opinion no where near a 4 star. Beds are hard and uncomfortable, I complained and they sent up a more comfortable one. I'm not going to nit pick the property and service apart, since I am in the hotel business and I'm sure management is aware of the chalenges. Staff were quite friendly although many hardly spoke English or Greek. Hotel was full with guests on packages. Daily breakfast just OK.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Louis Princess Beach we thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday accommodation.

We are happy to see that you liked our friendly and helpful staff, although we are sorry to read your disappointment regarding the room. Though our hotel was renovated just a few years ago, it may need some more touches here and there but this does not only depend on us, as we are renting the property. The owner shall be informed of your comments and we hope that he will take them seriously as well. Regarding the beds, we are glad to see that our courteous staff dealt with this issue immediately and we would like to inform you that additional soft mattresses are made available to all guests who prefer softer beds. As for your breakfast comment, we are left slightly disappointed because we have a very rich variety of items (almost 100 in number), which has now been enhanced further with the addition of our Local Breakfast corner.

Thank you and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in one of our Louis Hotels in the nearest future!

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    141
    68
    22
    23
See reviews for
139
151
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel in larnaca cyprus on a all inclusive package. It is ideally situated on the main road - for easy access to larnaca town on the east and nicosia/limassol on the west. Alyhough the hotel does have swimming pools the wondrful beach is literally just yards from the hotel. The rooms were very good and kept clean daily.
Catering was great with a variety to satisfy all tastes.
Entertainment was probably the best we have ever found and in particular the evening shows were excellent.
Staff were friendly and helpful and we would definitely consider holidaying at this resort and this hotel again.

Room Tip: south facing rooms are sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Louis Princess Beach and for leaving a comment on Tripadvisor.

It is a delight to read that you much enjoyed your overall stay with us, in particular the location of the hotel, the cleanliness, the varied food on offer, our lovely staff and of course our committed and fantastic entertainment team, who is working extremely hard for you, our guests!

Thank you once again for you recommendation and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the nearest future in one of our Louis Hotels!

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed for one week there, from 17 to 24 March and I will try to point out the main aspects:

The weather was really nice and we could sun bath everyday ver nicely and even take some dives in the sea and some swimming sessions.

The hotel is not directly in Larnaca, but the bus station is just in front of the hotel, there are buses every hour to Larnaca, 1€/trip. Taxi from the airport costs 25 euros. There are some shops across the road, with food, beverage, and some clothes, as well as a couple of bars. Else there is not much to do around, but if you are sunbathing a lot, or are with friends or you are doings some trips by bus and taxi, this won t bother you really.

The hotel is right on the beach, there is a wonderful pool landscape with palm trees, the beach bar and then the beach itself
-the hotel has only a few floors and it is U shaped around the pool and garden so it looks more intimate than the usual 8th floor hotels.
-the rooms were ok and I strongly recommend the ones with sea view, as it really gives you a holiday feeling, while the other ones are facing the road, which is not so nice. I do not know about the garden view rooms. They were also kept clean everyday

There is a comfortable bar and lobby, with cosy couches, as well as a sunny terrace facing the sea, where you can also have breakfast.

We had the half board option and the dinner buffet was really good, with themes evening, like Italian Evening, Cyprus Evening, etc. There were a lot of healthy options every evening, salads, fresh fruit, etc The drinks were really expensive though, 4 euro/wine glass or fanta glass and you sign for each order and pay it at the end on the room. I strongly recommend to check your balance at the check out day as they charged us 2 extra glasses of wine in one evening, for which they did not have our signature, as we did not have it in the first place, and it was quite a fuss to get the 8 euro back, so when checking out, make sure you pay for what you have signed and not for the overall sum presented.

Most nights there was some sort of live entertaining, like disco music, Cyprus music,etc which contributed to the good atmosphere.

You could meet there the typical crowds for these resorts, a lot of middle aged and older British and Germans, a few Polish and Romanian young couples and friends group and the likes.

On the downside I would note the artificially increased bill for drinks at the end and the way they dealt with it (even if we did not consume the extra drinks, even if there was no signature for them, they insisted it must have been somehow our fault and kept pushing us into paying it, until at one point they gave up, but not in a very elegant manner), the fact that the receptionist at the check in did not have our names on the list, even if we had booked the 2 rooms in advance and payed the deposit ( we got rooms because they happened to be free, but in case of overbooking, I wonder what would have happened) and that one of the elevators broke 3 times during our staying. Still, it was quickly fixed.

Overall, the hotel itself was really good in terms of relaxing and getting a holiday feeling, due to the position on the beach, the nice pool and garden and the buffet.We also feel it was pretty good value for money and I would return there again eventually, even if for the next visit in Cyprus I would probably want to check out another hotel as well.

Room Tip: Sea View all the way, the 3rd floor for perspective
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Louis Princess each and for sharing your impressions with the online community.

We are delighted to read that you liked the location of the hotel, the facilities, and the food on offer; we are trying our best to make sure all our guests have an enjoyable stay! Regarding the issue with your bill, we are sorry and we will mention it to our staff, so that they deal with such issues more efficiently in the future. Do rest assured, however, that it was merely an honest mistake on their part.

Thank you once again and we look forward to see you again in one of our Louis Hotels!

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Nice clean hotel, I stayed in March 2012, the food was ok, a bit bland but varied with themed nights, which was good. Staff quite friendly. I had a lovely sea view room, the walls are a bit thin as i could hear everything from the neighbouring rooms!!
I did try and change my half board booking to allow for lunch and dinner ( didn't really want to get up for breakfast everyday) instead of breakfast and lunch or dinner, but they wouldn't have it :-(

Most of the facilities were not open (out of season !!) The gym, jacuzzi, beach bar, etc I also tried booking a few excursions directly with the hotel, as i wasn't on a holiday package trip, and was only able to go on one in 9 days, as the others weren't running (Troodos Mountains, Jeep Safari's) (not all strictly the hotels fault here) This was a pain as the weather wasn't great, so there wasn't much to do in the hotel during this time. Most of the bars and restaurants around the hotel were either closed or had very little business, obviously due to the time of year, I am told by the locals it does get very busy in the peak season. There was a supermarket opposite so for soft drinks, snacks, papers etc i would definitely recommend popping over there when you arrive.
I found the hotel entertainment very cliche and middle of the road and family orientated, which is fine if that is what you want, it wasn't my cup of tea, so I spend most of the week in the pub opposite.
€1 gets you a bus ride into downtown Larnaca (approx 5km), bus stop is right outside hotel, and many more options for restaurants and bars, although the buses stop at 8pm which is a bit bizarre, but I found the taxi's to be fine. The Sunday market (Oroklini) is also worth a visit, 20 minute walk from hotel. I definitely regret not arranging a hire car and looking around the island more, maybe next time !! But I would stay at this hotel again, no problem!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Louis Princess Beach we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday accommodation and for taking the time to write a detailed review online.

We are happy to read that you liked the variety of the food, the view, and our helpful and caring staff; they are working very hard to make sure that every guest is provided by their needs!

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back in the nearest future or perhaps in one of our Louis Hotels!

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

very nice hotel on beach unfortunately weather very poor also not a great beach
very nice selection of food for breakfast & dinner (hot & cold buffet with carvery varied nightly) comfy but not elaborate rooms for 4* hotel room cleaning left a lot to be desired i.e cleaning of bathroom & changing glasses etc.
good facilities but look out for extra charges not usually associated with my 4* hotel stays
e.g. 4 euros per day for room safe key 4 euros for 1hr PC use
The restaurant staff very efficient, smart & attractive
We were B&B 7 they charged 20 PP for dinner I asked about upgrading to HB and it was only 9 PP per day or AI for 25 PP per day great value
live sing along music some nights
bus stops outside
If you want to cross to the north take your passports with you it is ok to take car but they charge 35 euros for TP insurance
there are lots of crossing points so you can go off the main roads & find a border crossing
If in Nicosia you can leave car & walk across (with passport)

Room Tip: garden rooms are nicely positioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for staying at the Louis Princess Beach and for sharing your impressions with us.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the variety of the food on offer, as well as our caring and courteous staff, the facilities, we are also happy that you found the upgrades of the food services of great value!
Regarding the cleanliness of the rooms, we will mention this directly to the housekeeping department, in order for it not to happen in the nearest future. In addition, we inform you of a cluster training program taking place at all our Larnaca and Protaras hotels this week, in which we remind our cleaners of their responsibilities. In addition, they will be retrained on the job, therefore we expect improved housekeeping results immediately.

Thank you once again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in one of our Louis Hotels!

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at the Louis Princess Larnaca from 15 to 20 March. We travelled from Bucharest Romania where we live at present. We are both from England. We have both worked in 5 star hotels as managers for many years.

We booked an upgraded garden delux room (as advertised) and paid the extra money as from the pictures on the website it looked nice and large. However on checking in we were disappointed at the size of the room it was very small and not at all like the picture shown. The position of the room was good overlooking the swimming pool and close to the beachfront.

My husband also emailed the hotel before we travelled to mention that we were celebrating our 30 wedding anniversary and could the room be a nice room and could they acknowledge the email but they never got back to him.

We arrived on Thursday there was no sign of any entertainment that night, nor Friday or Saturday. On Sunday there was a lady singing and a man playing the organ and they were good and i think all the guests were desperate for entertainment as the dance floor was full all night. I know it is out of season but we still like to see some entertainment especially during out first couple of days. We checked out other hotels nearby and they were all advertising some form of entertainment each evening. Maybe it is the hotel policy to only have entertainment on a few nights of the week but well i was really bored for the first 3 nights.

The food was ok but could of been hotter. The fresh cakes/sweets were nice. There was enough choice for us to choose from for an all inclusive. The wine in the restaurant and in the bar was poured from a carton and as i love red wine i was disappointed that i could not drink it!

The position of the hotel and the beach area we really liked.

The staff were all friendly and very helpful we could not fault them.

Room Tip: Garden pool view rooms to the left side of the pool get the sun almost all day and the rooms to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Louis Princess Beach and for sharing you experience online.

It is nice to read that you liked the varied choice of food, and the location of the hotel. However, we are very sorry to see that you didn´t fully enjoy your stay...
Regarding your e-mail, our sincerest apologies, but the reason for not responding to you is that we haven't received anything. Nevertheless, we wish you (even belatedly) a Happy Anniversary. As for the animation, we do offer daily entertainment in the all-inclusive package but only as of May.

Thank you once again and we hope to have the possibility to welcome you back in one of our Louis Hotels!

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I am not normally drawn to provide a review unless the experience was either exceptional or terrible, and would certainly never write a review while still staying at the hotel. But a combination of frustration and disappointment has led me write this. Residing in Dubai and being well travelled (India, china, Jordan, France, America etc) I have stayed in hotels from 2 star up to 5 star and have never experienced one pretending to be something it's not until now. There have also been other issues unrelated to the self proclaimed 4 star rating and will detail them all here.
1-My flight landed early and was told I couldn't get the wrist band until I checked in, i couldnt check in until 2....a catch 22? A 3 hour sit in reception with no food or drink. Nice start. The receptionist did see the error of her ways but was too late.
2-The wifi is NOT free
3-The mini bar is actually an empty fridge, strangely there is a mini bar price list in the room. I asked for the fridge to be stocked with the items on the list and was told 'we don't do that, but I could put what I wanted in it'. How nice of them...4 star?
4-Don't try and get breakfast in your room, you are supposed to put your order on the outside door handle the night before. I have now tried this twice, waiting for the food, opened the door after it should have arrived to find the card still there. I complained after the first time so for it to happen twice is just poor...4 star?
5-Laundry service, where do I start. I came here for 5 days, tried to put my creased clothes through on day 1 using express service and was told I would have to wait until the next day. The clothes were taken the next day but I am now on day 3 of my 5 day stay and am still wearing the clothes I arrived in!!! ....4 star? Where are my clothes? I have been promised them the last 2 mornings now.
6-Found a rather large mosquito in my pasta at lunch, these things happen I suppose, however what did surprise was the fact that they didn't change the tray at the buffet after informing them where it came from. These things have human and animal blood in them, you would think they would change the batch of pasta.
7-Bought killer spray to tackle the ant and roach problem in my room myself. You would think the cleaners would find it in their hearts to clear up all the dad bodies. 3 days now and all still lay there.

The manager bless him tried to make me happy yesterday with a free bottle of wine and some fruit. I like the guy and he is doing his best. But I'm on an all inclusive package lol I can go and get this stuff anytime.

The entertainment appears to cater for other nationalities more than anyone else, I had no idea how terrible some 'traditional' music is. Sorry not my cup of tea. Ironically though; the Russian bar across the street is very very good, they play music that is more main stream for all nationalities and are friendly, warm and welcoming.

If the hotel said it was 2/3 star and the cost was level with that standard, then you may put up with some of these items, but really, it's just not worth the money. Louis hotels need a reality check, I think at one time this was a great hotel and need to realise work is needed to get it back to its former glory. I wouldn't blame the staff, i do believe they try their best, Louis hotels you need to sort your hotel out. A lick of paint on the main hotel building wouldn't go amiss either.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Louis Princess Beach we would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are very sorry to read your disappointment and that you didn't enjoy all of our facilities during your stay. We assure you that your complaints have been taken into serious consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve on all aspects.

Thank you again and we hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back in one of our Louis Hotels!

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Beach Hotel

Address: Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40858, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Larnaka
#7 Family Hotel in Larnaka
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Princess Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Louis Princess Beach is located on a long sandy beach in the heart of Larnaca's tourist area where bars, restaurants and discos are found in abundance. Enjoy uninterrupted Mediterranean views from your balcony or from the terrace. Let us pamper you and your family in the best possible way as to enjoy the most of your Cyprus holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Princess Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Princess Beach Larnaca
Hotel Louis Princess Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.