We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in awkward location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Princess Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40858, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good hotel in awkward location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I have just spent 3 weeks in this hotel on a two weeks half board + 1 week free b&b deal, and found it quite adequate for what I paid. Having a third floor room with balcony, overlooking the sea was a big plus point. This room was kept very clean but the A/C was noisy. I thought the area between the hotel and the beach was very well laid out, with terrace, large and small pools, beach bar and absolutely loads of tables, chairs and sun loungers. As other reviewers have noted, the beaches in this part of Cyprus cannot be described as "golden", but that didn't bother me because I wasn't there for a beach holiday but to explore Cyprus.

Breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice of food and plenty of it. By contrast, I became bored with the dinners after the first few days, because the meat always seemed to taste the same whatever it was, and the sauces were bland. I appreciate that I wasn't paying for fine dining, but I would have appreciated something that lingered on the palate more. The restaurant staff were very efficient and attentive, and the reception staff always helpful in arranging things such as car hire and coach trips.

The main thing against this hotel is its location. I would agree with reviewers who describe the area as run down and lacking in evening entertainment. The plus points were a bank with ATM and cheap convenience stores just across the road, and an excellent beach bar/restaurant nearby called the Mer Bleu. The big minus was that at this time of year buses into Larnaca run only once an hour. There are no timetables or route information on the bus stops, and the timetables provided by the bus company to local hotels were all wrong. The result: throughout my stay I kept meeting other tourists who like me had waited 40-60 minutes for a bus before eventually working out that they run just after the hour into Larnaca and on the half-hour back out. I realise this may not be a major consideration for everyone, but since I was using the hotel as a base to explore Cyprus local transport was an important factor for me.

Overall an enjoyable stay, except for the slight disappointment of the dinners.

Room Tip: Noisy pub opposite hotel on land side, so go for the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for visiting the Louis Princess Beach and for writing such a detailed review of our hotel. We are especially happy to see that you appreciated the courteous staff, the rooms, and most importantly, the value for money.

We are also happy that you enjoyed the breakfast but are disappointed that your opinion of dinner was not the same. We serve a different theme dinner every night, with a wide variety of products and recipes, and as a company pride ourselves on the excellent food scores we receive. We will however be looking into improving the dinner experience following your comment by emphasizing even more the type of themed dinner we are serving.

Regarding the vicinity of the hotel, we do understand your disappointment but please be informed that Larnaca will soon host its own marina, something which will reinvigorate the city and restore its glory days.

Thank you once again and we hope that your next exploration trip of Cyprus or some Greek islands will also be with Louis Hotels.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    141
    68
    22
    23
See reviews for
139
151
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holmestrand, Norway
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed a week with all-inclusive in november, and had a very good time.

Rooms: Clean and large. With sat TV, coffeemaker and minibar. Would prefer softer beds, but that is not important.

Pool/poolarea: Very nice with wooden sunbeds and soft madrasses. Pool cleaned daily, very nice. But tempereature a bit cold in november....

Beach: Small non-sharp stones close to shore, but nice sand from a few meters out. Shallow water and walls for wave-breaking. So very suitable for small kids also.

Acitivites: Tennis, ping-pong, Fitness-room, kids-club, boardgames etc (all free of charge), billiards, videogames, Jacuzzi, massage etc (for a fee).

Restaurant: In one word; fantastic! Buffet for breakfast with a wide variety of hot and cold. Lunchbuffet with hot and cold food, and a theme for dinner buffets changing every day. (Italian, american, far east, barbeque, gourmet etc) with several hot and cold dishes of meat and fish. Everything fresh and delicious. We were VERY satisfied with the restaurant.

Staff: Polite, professional and friendly (most of the time)

Wireless: Available for 3 euro pr hour. Good speed. Coverage good in the reception area, but not so good in all the rooms. Also internetcomputers available for a fee in the receptionarea.

Surroundings: Rather large motorway close, but no noise problems. Small community with some restaurants, shops, supermarkets etc just across the road.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Louis Princess Beach for your holiday and for taking the time to write a detailed review about your experience.

Your kind words over our friendly and attentive staff members are much welcomed, as well as your appreciations toward the quality of the food on offer, our services and our hotel's facilities.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to accommodate you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skuodas,Lithuania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Despite of old premises we were satisfied with very polite and anxious to help staff.Food was excellent, a lot of sunbeds,shops and restaurants just across the street. We stayied in the beginning of November, end of the season and found no activities around for the evenings.Larnaca is about 10 kilometres from hotel and buses were running not so frequently, one evening we were waiting about one hour to get back from city.Overall if you need place to rest peacefully with good service this hotel is place for you.

Room Tip: See view room is really worth to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear guest,

We thank you for staying at the Louis Princess Beach and for writing a review.

It is a pleasure to read from you that you enjoyed a relaxing and memorable stay in our hotel and that our services were up to your expectations.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back in one of our Louis Hotels in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at the louis princess end of oct beginning of nov so come of the following niggles maybe down to the end of season. The hotel itself is very nice, the food was excellent and quite varied, the staff are great, the pool is lovely but very cold, we tried the so called beach but that is just a small strip of pebbles, its ok once you get over them and the water is very shallow, the daytime entertainment was non-existant bar a once daily water aerobics session and the evening was also pretty terrible. On walking around outside the hotel i would think that the area was once quite nice many years ago but now sadly is just a couple of bars and supermarkets, the area is very run down, almost derelict! We would go to cyprus again as the weather was outstanding but unfortunately not to Larnaca so that rules out this really nice hotel.
GBMK united kingdom

Room Tip: We had a basic room that overlooked the road so anything would be an improvement on that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear guest,

We thank you for visiting the Louis Princess Beach and for sharing your impressions.

We are happy that you had an enjoyable holiday and that you liked the quality of the food on offer, our friendly and helpful staff members and the pool area.

Choosing to travel at the end of season may have some advantages as usually you won’t find a crowded place, but this implies that the touristic area of the hotel is also quieter.

We are glad that you would like to visit the beautiful island of Cyprus in the future, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in one of our Louis Hotels, maybe in Protaras or in Paphos.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

stayed here for 3 nights one of the best Hotels i have stayed in, Great for familys and couples not many English people while i was there but staff attentive and friendly cant fault hotel food excellent.

Room Tip: All fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about the Louis Princess Beach.

We are glad that you were satisfied with the quality of our services and our caring staff members.

We look forward to seeing you soon again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

first impressions was good friendly staff, the food was very good, different choices everyday so you never got tired of the same old things. the pool area was clean a lifeguard on duty aswell. my only complaints were there was no clock in the room at all, and on my last night there i got into bed and discovered my bed was full of ants !!! and i was on the 2nd floor !!
the hotel was full. so i couldnt be moved either.
saying this, it has not put me off going back there, as everything else made the difference.
would reccomend a visit.

Room Tip: dont go for a sea facing room, try a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear guest,

First we would like to thank you for staying at the Louis Princess Beach and for leaving your comments.

We are very happy that you had a very pleasant holiday and that you were satisfied with our friendly services, the quality of the food and the pool area.

Regarding the issue with the ants, it was also a surprise for us because we regularly treat the entrances and windows against insects in order to prevent them from entering the building. Thank you for informing us of this issue, which will be dealt with immediately.

We would like to express our gratitude for recommending our hotel and we look forward to the pleasure of accommodating you soon again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I had some trepidation due to the mixed reviews but I have to say, I struggle to fault the hotel or the staff. The food actually is excellent, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and er, roomy. The pool is lovely and there's a beach if you prefer. It IS a little quiet but that is a location issue not down to the hotel or it's team - if you wnat more life, stay nearer town. The in-hotel entertainment is my only constructive crictcism, simply as, whilst it was different bands very night (we had 7 days there) they all do the holiday hits favourites so I think we heard 4 different versions of Sweet Caroline!
Overall great place - had a fab holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review about the Louis Princess Beach.

We were delighted to read that you much appreciated the kindness of our staff members, the quality of the food on offer, the pool area and the beach.

Thank you for your suggestions and for helping us improve our services.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Beach Hotel

Address: Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40858, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Larnaka
#7 Family Hotel in Larnaka
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Princess Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Louis Princess Beach is located on a long sandy beach in the heart of Larnaca's tourist area where bars, restaurants and discos are found in abundance. Enjoy uninterrupted Mediterranean views from your balcony or from the terrace. Let us pamper you and your family in the best possible way as to enjoy the most of your Cyprus holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Princess Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Princess Beach Larnaca
Hotel Louis Princess Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.