We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night in Larnaca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amorgos Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amorgos Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Amorgos Boutique Hotel
2.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   11 D.Mitsi Street, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
176 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“OK for one night in Larnaca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

I was on the way for a very short one night trip to Cyprus. Larnaca was my arrival airport,
so I´ve searched for a not to far away from the airport location.
Larnaca and the area surrounding is well known for its party atmosphere during the summer season, it´s not a cheap place.
All together, price, location, surroundings, my choice was the Amorgos Boutique Hotel. Arriving late in the afternoon with Emirates from Malta, a taxi was the only acceptable way to go. Reading here about different fare examples, the driver cashed 15.-- Euros.
A rip off?. Anyway I was at the hotel.
A middle aged female at the desk. Slightly stressed, but no other client around.
I´ve asked, as usual, for a top floor room, no problem level five was prepared and accepted. The room was really well designed, nice furniture, warm colours, spacious enough with a working desk, chair and a flat screen TV.
Perfectly clean. The bathroom was small, no bathtub, but with a large shower cabin.
OK, so far.
Amorgos is located in the second road from the beach, behind the McD, all sights in walking distance.
While it was calm from the neighbouring rooms, it was noisy outdoor at night, some roadwork on the street nearby and the disco club two houses beneath has special
deals every Tuesday night. Good for some nightly car racing, shouting and else.
I´ve done better sleeping around the world than at Larnaca!.
Breakfast was served from 7 am, greek style, not that much on offer, but acceptable for my needs. Staff was ok.
Also during checkout, no time to wait. 69.-- Euros B & B, ok so far.
Again 12.-- Euros taxi fare back to the airport. So it seems that is usual at Larnaca.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
28
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

The night we arrived, we exited the elevator to a pitch black corridor as no lights were on (to save money), not even emergency or exit lights!!! I had to ask staff to turn on the lights so I could find our room.
The bathroom was too cramped to move around in. I could barely turn around in the shower.
The emergency exit door leading to the street from the corridors was locked; a huge life safety concern.
The swimming pool was closed for "repairs" but we never saw evindence of construction being carried out.
When my wife cut her finger, the night we arrived, I ran down to the front desk for first aid supplies but there were none, not even a band aid so I had to find and run to a pharmacy for supplies.
It's obvious the place is getting by ill informed travel agents and inflated reviews.
I will never return!

  • Liked — balcony
  • Disliked — unsafe place to stay.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

I say good value 4 money, just to get u in prospective we paid 90quid for 2 people for4 6nights, B&B .Got a 4th floor room with a balcony. As the hotel is not on the main promenade,but the parallel road right behind it, most of the view was obstructed by the apartment buildings, but we did see a bit of the palms and the sea.There is a small rooftop pool, with a couple of sun loungers.

The room :
the roomwas reasonably big and clean, with a sink, fridge, hairdryer, tv and a few cupboards.

Someone in previous review mentioned that the place is very noisy, that is true as there are a lot of ac units humming at the same time, but once we closed the balcony door we couldn't hear anything .

Breakfast: everyday the same - cornflakes ,salami , olives, cheese.

Location: excellent , 3min from ‘Phinikoudes’ (palm trees) promenade , 5min 2 the marina , loads of places to eat and drink nearby.

A few tips:
at the end of the palm tree promenade ,at the side where the fortress is , there is a place called PANOS steak house.HIGHLY recommend this place!! Dont get fooled by the name , they offer excellent range of local cuisine, in very nice cosy little restaurant , with stunning polish waitresses.Big portions 4 around fiver!!!!

CAR hire:

there are a lot of car hire places around but we asked the hotel 2 arrange it for us, they delivered tha car and picked it up too, no hassle at all, exactly same price as everywhere else.I recomend u hire a small offroad car, small because the roads at cyprus are very narrow, offroader cos the roads are more or less dirt tracks with loads pot holes....

I hope u find this review usefully, visit my personall webpage vbkxdotcom for our pics from cyprys

vbkx

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

It's close to the beach. Price resonable but the hotel is very basic. For a few £;s more, I wish I had stayed elsewhere. Rooms at the front are better but beware, the bin men empty shops refuse carts opposite around 0700. So an alarm clock not needed!!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights and the hotel seems ok for the price we paid it for (about 20€ per night).

Very close to the beach, the studio we staid had a.c. for free and a nice refrigerator. The matresses are terrible!! they must have about 20 years!!

The breakfast seems ok for the price.

o.k to stay 2 or 3 nights. more than that and your back will colaps!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

A very good value of many hotel, central location, near the beach, clean roomsand friendly enviroment. You get the maximum out of what you pay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

We were leaving Cyprus after residing there for 8 months and decided to stay close to the airport for an early flight. The hotel is in a back alley with views of the rear of McDonalds. We had to pay for breakfast even though we did not want it and were leaving too early. The room was terrible, the bed uncomfortable, musty smelling and the whole atmosphere depressing. Thank fully we were only sleeping there for one night. I am an average size man (6ft and 85 kgs) and I had to step into the shower to close the door of the bathroom to use the tiolet!!! That is how small the bathroom is! Overall the place stinks, overpriced, depressing and the staff don't know the meaning of hospitality which is not unusual in Cyprus. Wouldn't put my ex girlfriends dog in there. Don't do it.

Wisey and Sue
Victoria Australia

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amorgos Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amorgos Boutique Hotel

Address: 11 D.Mitsi Street, Larnaka 6307, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amorgos Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amorgos Boutique Hotel is conveniently located in Larnaca City Centre, only 100 metres away from the famous Palm Tree Sea Front Promenade and a mere 50 metres away from the shopping centre of the city. The hotel is surrounded by a wide variety of shops, restaurants, cafes, bars and nightclubs.This newly refurbished, modern style hotel, offers an excellent standard of accommodation in a quiet and fashionable environment. In addition to the trendy look of the space, great importance has been given to the quality of sleep and comfort, by investing in the highest standard of mattress, finest bed linen and pillows.To start the day, the hotel offers a wide selection of hot & cold breakfast buffet, presented under the strictest hygiene standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amorgos Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amorgos Hotel Larnaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amorgos Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.