We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelling couple” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cactus Hotel to your Saves list
Cactus Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Tyrimou Str | PO Box 42318, Larnaka 6533, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka
Finland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Travelling couple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here a week with my husband. We didn`t expect much, because of the two stars. It was a bit schocking to see the bathroom (very small tub and aged interiors) but we decided to go along and have a good, open-minded attitude.

Staff was very helpful and nice and we liked very much the location; short walk to beach, by scooter we went to centre and by car we went for example to the camel park.. Suitable for people, who want to enjoy mixing up with the locals and who want to see life through locals eyes :) . Hotel is Very cheap so we were actually positively suprised of the breakfast :D Value for money? - We had :)

Our holiday was out of season so thats why hotel was quiet. A thing which made us very happy, just few people here and there.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony to the pool. Sunny and nice :) We had a couple- room and it was good fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    26
    19
    31
See reviews for
14
33
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powys
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I booked my holiday through Holiday Gems.com.The flight and transfers for my holiday went very well, timely and efficient but there were some quite serious issues with the accomodation provided.

The hotel was being used by locals as effectively a brothel. I was unable to sit at the bar without being harrassed by 'punters'.
The noise level at the hotel at night was uncomfortable.
As a woman travelling alone i didn't fell safe in my room at night, to the point where i was barracading my door.
Having chosen half-board to avoid moving around at night, the hotel didnt provide an evening meal. I had to walk 15 minutes to another hotel, which was lovely and had excellent food, but part of the walk to it was remote with few people around, and pitch black. On one night, during this walk, i was mugged for my handbag. This put me off making that walk again, hence missing 3 of my evening meals, which i had paid for.

All in all, this hotel was totally unsuitable for a female travelling alone. There were also 2 other female guests who also were having the same issues and will also be complaining to their representative.

I feel that some degree of compensation for the accomodation that in was given would be appropriate, especially as i was unable to get the evening meals,but after complaining to Holiday Gems i am yet to recieve even a reply.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a disgusting filthy hotel...if you can call it a hotel. Ants nest in tiny bathroom, dead cockroaches on communal stairs. Air conditioning unit half falling of wall. Damp smell in room. Breakfast left outside in heat, where flies were free to feast upon. I demanded to be moved and lucky enough got moved to a lovely hotel on the sea front. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This hotel is nice outside but not inside, as it lacks basic facilities even for it's category.It needs also a generous renovation.The breakfast is basic but good...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This hotel even if it is in a nice region of Larnaca lacks facilities thought to be necessary even for this category.Also a bad smell in the rooms is an issue for this hotel.The breakfast is basic but good...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

i have been to cyprus 4 times over past ten years and 4th time i ended up in this pit. i must have been drunk when i booked it. i would not even let my dogs stay there. the staff are as much help as a chocolate teapot. english is terrible the breakfasts were the same old crap every morning i lived on toast all week. my partner fell over and bashed his head due to a dirty wet mopped floor and they didnt give a dam, thats the stage where they pretended to not understand english. the rooms were filthy and the bathrooms were minging and the bath was half the size as a nornal one. infact the toilet was bigger. to anyone going to this hotel god help ya oh and beaware of the 2 thieving [--] opposite hiring out cars.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Were not happy with this hotel the staff were unfriendly and anhelpful.We pay bed and breakfast but when we go for breakfast the morning noone came to ask us for breakfast because we late five minutes and when we ask the reception about breakfast they tell us that they can't serv us and the breakfast finish.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cactus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Hotel

Address: 6-8 Tyrimou Str | PO Box 42318, Larnaka 6533, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cactus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cactus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Hotel Larnaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.