We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly atmosphere, with genuinely helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lordos Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lordos Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lordos Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 40541, Larnaka 6305, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 hotels in Larnaka
Derbyshire UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A friendly atmosphere, with genuinely helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I spent two weeks at the Lordos Beach from 7th - 21st April 2013. One 'twist' to our requirements was that the first week was a non-diving holiday with my wife, the second a week's diving with my Club, after my wife had returned home. The hotel was completely unfazed by this, arranging for me to keep the same room throughout and just swap 'buddies'. They also allowed me to 'settle up' after one week, so that my dive buddy wasn't contributing to my first week's expenses.
The food in the hotel was excellent and, unusually for us, we chose to eat in on three occasions, as their themed buffets (especially the Italian night) were such good value.
We had help from reception staff with arranging car hire, contacting the transfer company and finding local bus times.
There were two aspects of the stay which might bother some people; only two of the four outdoor pools were in operation, indeed the other two were empty and being worked on throughout the two weeks. The beach/poolside kiosks weren't open for drinks and snacks either. This was simply because the hotel was clearly 'working up to speed' for the season, which to all intents and purposes seems to start from 1st May. That having been said the area was kept clean and tidy and the workmen were quiet and considerate. The grassed area, the two working pools and beach were perfectly good for sun-lounging and swimming.
The other downside during our stay was the boorish behaviour of a large (30-ish) group of Norwegian oil-men who were there for a fortnight's course on drilling. They were loud, ill-mannered and returned to the hotel on more than one occasion drunk, in the early hours of the morning. One morning this began at 5am when they got in and when we went down to breakfast, there was one drunk sleeping it off in the corridor. The hotel managed these incidents as best it could, and I know for a fact that the reception staff were briefed to call the police if the behaviour should deteriorate further. I sympathise totally with the staff in these circumstances, but I hope that the hotel will think twice about accepting a booking from this company again, lucrative though it may be.
Despite the above, we all had an excellent holiday and would return to the Lordos Beach again without hesitation. (and hopefully without Norwegian oil-men!).

Room Tip: The side-sea-view rooms are perfectly good - no need to pay for a full sea-view room. The odd-number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    118
    53
    20
    10
See reviews for
90
97
16
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed there for a few dayes in March including my birthday. On the day of my birthday a decorated birthday cake was waiting for me at my room. Even with a candle. This nice surprise made me feel very welcome. The hotel is right on the beach and should be very suitable for families with children.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed at Lordos twice in Aug 2009 and 2011 and both times we had great time!

The hotel is located outside Larnaca in a little suburb of other hotels and right on the beach. As some reviews point out, the sand is of a darker shade that you would expect, however it is very clean and soft. There are little pebbles near the shore, but none in the water which is very good and you don't feel conscious about stepping on rough surface.

During our stay we occupied two rooms (reception guys gave us connected rooms without even asking us, which was a very nice touch). Both rooms were very spacious, with big comfortable beds and amazing AC! I can be a bit picky and say that the TV was a little dated and some plumbing in the bathroom could be replaced, but I was there to enjoys sunny weather and sea!! You can use mini bar for your own drinks, just ask reception to empty the fridge and we didn't pay extra for it.

Food - we've booked half board basis and did not regret it. The food is versatile and tasty. Some evening there was a themed dinner, such as BBQ and roast, both were very good! We particularly enjoyed a la carte evening, a bit more attention from the waiters and food was of a bit higher standard... in general it was nice to feel pampered:) We had a little problem with finding something to suit the taste of the child, but hotel offered us a kid's menu which was full of chicken nuggets, burgers and chips, so even the most picky eater was very satisfied!
Breakfast was good, english breakfast, continental, fruits.. and fresh pancakes every morning which are cooked right in front of you!

The Staff is very friendly and attentive! Our maid did amazing job, the room was spotless and tidy by the time we returned from breakfast! Towels were changed daily, regardless where we left them. I'm not fussy and can use my towel few times, but it was very nice touch and nothing can replace fresh towel.

The grounds of the hotel are kept clean and tidy, lots of sun loungers and parasols. Beach attendants will help you with them with no fuss at all! The hotel provide you with the beach towels everyday, so no need to pack your own one!

All in all, Lordos is an amazing hotel, with great service and facilities, we would definitely come back!

Room Tip: We stayed on both sides, if you prefer early nigh or have small kids ask for left side. But both sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Visited several times most recent 08'03'13 poor standard this time around room dirty on arrival no tea making facility but we expected that we didn't have that last time .Pool being renovated with little concern of staying guess .Quick to clear breakfast away and this time staff very unfriendly in the bar area .Talking to other guess half eaten kebab found in the mini bar others requested change of rooms .Golden Bay much better have stayed @ both alternating as we have family who live close by will look @ Lordos in June when next out to Cyprus with a view if we will stay again.

Room Tip: Room on left side on arrival are overlooked by Sandy Bay hotel right hand side not overlooked and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

A very good hotel , food of a good standard , I booked a upgrade room got standard room , air con not working , every time room cleaned tea cups removed from room and not replaced until I asked three times , it took my wife 3 times and on the 3rd day got a fan brought to the room all in all a good hotel reception staff need to act more quickly , other than that will stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I visited this hotel in December with my children and although we had a good time, it would have been amazing at a warmer time of year, because the outdoor swimming pool / play area is brilliant for kids and there is also a heated indoor pool / jacuzzi for cold rainy days. The gym is a bit rubbish though.
Service is generally good. Restaurants are fine, nothing special. Nearby the hotel are a couple of nice local restaurants. Hotel will also arrange hire car which can be returned to the airport, saving a taxi ride.
I had to pay for internet which always annoys me.
Larnaca is a 20 min bus ride.
There is a ten-pin-bowling place a short walk from the hotel.
I'm not sure I would rate it as highly if I didn't have kids. Its not really sophisticated, but its clean, great rooms.

Room Tip: Suite rooms also have exclusive access to a hot tub jacuzzi all year round foc. - a real nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Lordos Beach Hotel with our 6 years old daughter. First room was quite small and unfortunately with a "surprise"- we found dead cockroach in the bathroom. After this accident hotel management provided nice room on 3rd floor. Big thank you to the reception staff who was dealing with that problem. Next room was clean and big enough for us.
Indoor pool was small and not suitable for small children. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
Overall not a bad hotel. Great location right on the beach. Lots of fun for kids during the summer period I believe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larnaka
Romantic, Beach...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Larnaka
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Princess Beach Hotel
Princess Beach Hotel
#13 of 41 in Larnaka
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Lucky Hotel Apartments
Lucky Hotel Apartments
#4 of 41 in Larnaka
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Pool, Restauran...
Show More
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Sandy Beach Hotel
Free Parking, B...
Show More
5.3 mi away
Achilleos City Hotel
Achilleos City Hotel
#3 of 41 in Larnaka
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lordos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lordos Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 40541, Larnaka 6305, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Larnaka
#3 Business Hotel in Larnaka
#8 Romantic Hotel in Larnaka
#8 Family Hotel in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lordos Beach Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Lordos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordos Beach Larnaca
Hotel Lordos Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lordos Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.