We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the place to relax and stress out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Bay Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Larnaka 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just the place to relax and stress out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After a three-year break we decided to return to Cyprus for a late summer stress-free holiday. Not for the first time we chose the Golden Bay Hotel in Larnaca as our preferred place of stay. You have the best of both worlds – quality standard/amenities and service but with almost feeling of a family run, customer focused small hotel. From the moment of arrival you are greeted with a very traditional friendly Cypriot smile and helpfulness. Front desk eases you painlessly into your holiday and the relaxation begins. And the staff you meet from then on just cant do enough for you. It has a wide range of activities and facilities one would normally expect from a hotel of this standard, each of which will not fail to satisfy. The layout and variability of the pools will cater for all, even very safe shallow pools for little ones.

There is outside entertainment most nights in a splendid courtyard setting. In my opinion this needs supplementing with more choice (you might tire of the ‘sameness’ if you were staying 14 days or more); in our case, our 7day break was fine and the brandy sours were the added enjoyment!

There seems to be a wide choice of organised trips from the hotel for those wishing to explore the island; if you haven’t done so I strongly recommend you do. We go to crash (well you do if you’ve been to Cyprus over 30 times as we have, both for business and pleasure).

The weather can be especially hot July and August, we’ve been and it can become unbearable if you do wish to look around; both young and old will find it especially tiring. September, like April/May are, in my opinion superb. You walk out of the breakfast restaurant, through well-tended gardens straight onto the beach; that’s hard to beat!

What about prices? We’ve noticed in recent years, especially since the adoption of the Euro, prices have crept up, but it would seem competition from other destinations has added some market realism at last. We found the Golden Bay more than reasonable and very competitive with the local bars and restaurants in the area.

From honeymooners, to the stressed out looking for the ideal break, to the family with young children I cannot see you being disappointed with the Golden Bay.

Room Tip: We like the left side view but all room have a sea view. Only 5 floors so no real high rise and 3 li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    119
    52
    25
    24
See reviews for
94
132
21
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fazana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very close to Airport, but dont expect anything more than you get in the hotel. The restaurants outside the hotel(s) (3 very close to each other) have bad quality food, so we stayed in the hotel. There is anyway nothing outside the hotels except a ghost town with supermarket (buy your water there). Staff is friendly, and tries it best. Rooms are clean, but need repair. Housekeeping constantly forgot to refill the coffee and fruits in the room and only did when reminded. Buffet dinner OK, but not much variety over the week except the carvery in L'Etoile, that was excellent. Entertainment done by own staff, funny to see the Sirtaki dancer next day as poolboy, he did great, but the keyboard player was out of tune and when he started to sing, brrr.. It looked already outside season, beauty saloon was closed. Piano player in the bar was missing. But son and pool makes up a lot. Beds, Umbrella and Towels are for free (some hotels in Cyprus charge for it). What is missing for a 5 stars: Vanity mirror in the room; a good powerfull hairdryer (only this inbuild on); a shoehorn and clothesbrush; a watercooler in the fitnessroom instead of a vending machine selling water over marketprice. What needs to be repaired: enamel chips at the bath; equipment in fitness room old and rusty; weights are missing; lights in the dressing rooms. I would give it not more than 4 stars, and maybe a bit more for trying.

Room Tip: Wfi was good, this was on the first floor. Switch between indoor and outdoor Wifi when problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Service - excellent staff, very helpful and smiling, although not as friendly and committed as in a true 5 star hotel. On the first day, we went down the pool. When we came back upstairs, the room had freshly been cleaned. Yet, some of the change I had left on the desk, had disappeared... I called reception to alert them. The maid came back to the room and gave me back the money... Mmmm...
On the 3rd day, some guys entered into a strong argument at the pool bar and nearly went into a fight. It was shameless how they got the attention of all people there, including small kids :( The hotel management didn't even really intervene...

Location - very remote from Lanarca. A bus runs every 30 minutes and takes 30 minutes to Larnaca (1.50 euro). There are quite a few cafes and restaurants in Larnaca. The place around the hotel looks like a ghost town...

Quality - definitely not a 5 star hotel. 3 stars maximum.
Wifi access in all hotel (if you can catch it - very very poor connection).

Overall - If you like hanging by the pool or the beach all day long, this place is for you. If not, avoid Cyprus all together.
We had booked a week there and ended up going to Greece for a few days to kill time and be in a little more lively place... Cyprus has unfortunately been very hardly hit by the crisis and is not appealing at all... :( One of the worst countries we have visited :-(

Room Tip: No need to pick a Suite. There is a only one Jacuzzi which is shared with other rooms on a large ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yehud, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed there for conference, the breakfast was very nice, the rooms were clean and good, the pool and close beach were the main attractions. However, there were major difficulties with the Wifi in the room (floor 2), when I approached the reception they didn't help me in any way. In the conference room the air conditioning didn't work well. There was loud entertainment outside sometimes as late as 23:30 and closing the balcony door didn't help. Also if you are a vegetarian - come with a sandwich from home (applies to all of cyprus)

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Mr. Ilya,

Greetings from Cyprus!

Thank you for your review and comments. We are pleased to see you had the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful Mediterranean Sea and sunshine during your business trip to Larnaka!

In reference to your remark regarding the Wi-Fi, it is important to note that due to very high occupancy and use of devices from all guests during the days you were staying with us, the signal may have failed to exceed your expectations; we do apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. Alternatively, the Hotel does offer the free use of our Internet room and Business Centre, throughout the day!

It is important to note that the Hotel Management respects all dietary and nutrition habits; our four Restaurants display a variety of Vegetarian dishes during the Theme Buffets in addition to a selection of dishes on our A La Carte menu. However, please, do forward us a direct email with any further suggestions you may have, as our aim is to improve, ensuring all guests are satisfied and feel comfortable during their stay with us.

We do appreciate your honest comments and hope to welcome you again on a lighter schedule, so you may enjoy a worry-free stay and the Hotel's facilities to its fullest!

Sincerely,

Margarita Manoli
Guest Relations Officer
guestrelations@goldenbay.com.cy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just spent 3 nights at Golden Bay Beach Hotel. The hotel tries very hard to be 5 star but does not really stand up to it. There are many positive things, the pool is great, the breakfast is rich and the personnel is friendly but there is something tired in the whole atmosphere. It is symptomatic that at the entrance where the name of the hotel is on the wall, on one side one of the five stars have fallen off, and on the other side two of the stars are missing. I would give it four stars.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side are quieter, high music played on the West side until late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your honest review and constructive comments. We appreciate your positive remarks regarding our services and personnel. Our team aims for guest satisfaction above all, thus your encouraging notes are greatly valued.

We feel uneasy that despite your nice stay with us, we have not met your expectations to its fullest; please, do forward me a direct email noting what it is you did not find satisfactory so we may work towards solving all matters. We are always open to suggestions and new ideas highlighted by our guests.

It is our hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Golden Bay Hotel and allow us to offer you a pleasant and worry-free stay!

Wishing you all the best,

Margarita Manoli
Guest Relations Officer
guestrelations@goldenbay.com.cy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got married at the Golden Bay on the 29th of July with 250 guests and then stayed there with a few of them for a couple of days. I cannot begin to say how welcoming, friendly, helpful, positive, generous we found everyone at the hotel to be. It felt like being home all the time, from the pool, to the beach front, to the rooms, the reception, and all other stops in between. We will always remember the smiles, the warmth and the kindness. Not to forget the delicious halloumi and lounza at all times of day and night :) The human dimension of the relationship with every single team member we dealt with made it all a very special, magic moment. One we will never forget. Thank you all at The Golden Bay, especially Stavros Rossos and Anthos Asmenis.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel. Stayed here for 4 nights to attend a family wedding in Nicosia. It claims to be 5 star, but I would only rate it as 3. It does not have the luxury ambience you would expect. Arrived at 9pm no one available to help with luggage or even show us to our room. The rooms were very clean but tired and the whole hotel needs a revamp. Invited to managers cocktail, there were drinks but no sign of any management. In fact during our stay the management team seemed to be absent. Care with location too it is a good 15 minutes drive to the centre of Larnaca.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Address: Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Larnaka 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Larnaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Larnaka
#5 Family Hotel in Larnaka
#5 Business Hotel in Larnaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Larnaka
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Bay Beach Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively renovated and refurbished every year since 1996, this beach hotel has 193 elegantly furnished rooms. The hotel is fully air-conditioned and has a lobby with 24-hour reception, currency exchange facility, cloakroom and lift access. Additionally it has bar and dining facilities, a gift and souvenir shop, hairdressing salon, 24-hour room service, baby-sitting service, doctor-on-call (fees apply), taxi service on the premises and a car hire service. Assistance is also provided to guests in organising excursions. Laundry and dry-cleaning services are also available (all subject to fees). There are also parking and conference facilities, as well as a business centre. Internet and WLAN access are also provided (subject to fees). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Golden Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larnaca Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Larnaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bay Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.