We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not near the rest of the island, everything has a price - not 5 star.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Bay Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Larnaka 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka
UK
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not near the rest of the island, everything has a price - not 5 star.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed 3 nights on business, in Nov so the hotel was partly closed - no restaurant choice etc.
Rooms large, clean and a good bed - basic TV, nice balcony space shame everyone smokes so much making it a necessity to shut the balcony doors. No decent chairs to sit and type on a pc in the rooms and its dark in there.
Irritating 6 Euro a day charge for wifi but decent connection.
Food very average - breakfast uninspired but nice ot eat outside in the autumn sun.
The hotel is 16km from the airport - and taxi fares are extreme - this time of year there are very few local restaurants so its eat at the hotel or hire a car.Would reccommend staying in Larnaca for this alone.
Car hire in Cyprus a rip off from start to finish look out for the full petrol tank scam even with the multinationals, and can you find a fuel station which is manned - NOPE - so you have to guess the fill level.
Someone told me this is 5 star - but I cannot think how, other than the price - its UK equivalent good 3 star.

Room Tip: Aim high, ask to look away from the bar / restaurant to minimise the smoke and noise form below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    118
    52
    25
    24
See reviews for
94
134
22
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PINNER, MIDDLESEX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just spent four nights at this hotel and in general had a good time. However, the hotel in my opinion is in need of redecoration and is a bit tired in places especially the bathrooms and some of the bedrooms. We had a large room with a huge balcony and private Jacuzzi which was a bit tacky, but my family still enjoyed it. The walk in shower in the bathroom leaked badly whenever it was used, so a great deal of mopping up needed to be done after useing it. The sink in the bathroom was also blocked and took ages to run away. The staff in the main though were very helpful and honoured our requests when necessary.
I was a bit disappointed by the fact that the hotel claims to have several restaurants but they don’t say that there’s only one open at a time and as it was late in the season and lacking in customers the restaurant was dead! with no atmosphere at all and a bit canteen like. The food wasn’t bad but not you’re normal five star quality. It was my son’s birthday during our stay and the hotel did provide a cake and a free bottle of champagne which was quite generous of them. The half board is also not what it seems as we were not told that it didn’t apply to the pool bar dining, so we wasted our money not going to the restaurant in the evenings.
They also claim to have entertainment and show different acts on the notice board, but the only thing we saw was a pianist in the bar, who was playing to an empty space.
The other room occupied by the rest of our family had a shared Jacuzzi with a smaller patio area. The bathroom was in the same condition as ours and I noticed what looked like dry or wet rot on the door surround, which you don’t expect to see in a five star hotel. They also had ants in their room and had to have it sprayed which left it smelling very toxic, so we had to have the baby in our room until it cleared. The hotel itself looked and appeared clean although we found a pair of socks under the couch in our room.
The maid also threw away some microwave bags for sterilising baby’s bottles, which was a bit annoying as we had to go out and buy a sterilising until that cost 25 euros. The hotel did give us the money for it in the end but as it was too big for us to take back, we had to leave it there anyway. They were not forthcoming with the cost of the taxi which we had to get to buy it though.
Having said all that the staff, especially room service were excellent and delivered our requests quickly and efficiently. The bar staff were also very attentive too.

Room Tip: go for the private jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here for a business conference for two nights. The conference was very well organised by the hotel. The public areas of the hotel are good, with pleasant patio areas and a nice pool. However, the beach was very disappointing. It looks as though the natural sand is black, but they've put yellow sand on top which has now mixed together to make cigarette-ash grey. It looked dirty and unappealing. The room was a reasonable size and comfortable, but the bathroom lighting was so dim that it made shaving difficult. The biggest disappointment was the food. I ate both nights in the Thalassa restaurant, which served a variety of salads and hot food from a buffet. I really like Greek style food normally, but this was all pretty bland. All in all this is a comfortable hotel, but not 5 stars and I thought it was expensive for the quality on offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It has been my second time to visit Cyprus and stay in Golden bay beach hotel. The hotel is clean with good service though not luxurious as would be expected in a 5 star hotel. Still you can spend a very nice time as the staff are really working hard to make your stay comfortable. Has a very nice beach too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and i stayed for two nights prior to flying home and found the hotel very quiet. There seemed to be few guests. The restaurants and bars were empty. We waited in one bar for staff to appear and eventually left for a bar over the road,, The location is not great with abandoned buildings close by. The room was large and very clean and the bed very comfortable. All things considered we would not stay here again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

There are many positives to this hotel, the friendly staff*, the nice pool area, the style of the rooms, all of which are certainly 4star, but maybe not 5 star...

(*When I say friendly staff, I am referring to the waiting staff in the restaurant, the reception staff were not really friendly at all)

However, what they don't tell you on their website is where the disappointment lies.
We had booked full board in a "mini suite" as a treat and for a totally relaxing holiday. A suite, to me anyhow, constitutes more than just a larger room, there should be a separate part. What we got was a large room, with a sofabed, desk and small table with a couple of chairs.

But the most disappointing aspect was the food... Although there are four restaurants, due to low season, only one was open at any time, which meant that there was no choice for us. Another real disappointment was that each night was a themed buffet and we were not allowed to choose off the ala carte menu (because we were full board). The food that we could see being served from the ala carte, looked far superior to what was available on the buffet. Also despite being full board, no drinks were included. Not even water. Alcoholic drinks were perfectly understandable, but not even water - which it was stated by the hotel that the tap water was unsafe, so we had to purchase bottled water.
There is no explanation on the hotel website of what is included in full or half board.
A final disappointment was the setting, the hotel grounds themselves were very nice, everything well maintained and it was enjoyable to be there when it was not crowded. However, the beach is little more than a mud strip, the view for half of the hotel rooms (including ours) was of an identical 6+ storey hotel not more than 20 metres away. There were 3 identical buildings together which seem to be all owned by the same group, but with I guess different standards. Our terrace which was meant to be a bonus of choosing a mini suite, was overlooked by at least 100 balconies from the hotel next door.

The beds are very hard (uncomfortably so), the wifi is not free, the room cleaning was ok but not much attention to detail.

All in all we had a nice holiday, we wanted a quiet time in the sun, just relaxing, but I couldnt imagine returning or recommending it.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the neighbouring hotel would be much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

i had my wedding at 20 / 10 at golden bay hotel. Everything was perfect ,the food, the atmosphere, the staff ,good organized ,i really enjoy my wedding and the cooperation with the staff. The f&b manager of the hotel was very helpful and professional .He made me feel comfortable for our special day. I recommend it 100% .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Address: Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Larnaka 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Larnaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Larnaka
#5 Family Hotel in Larnaka
#5 Business Hotel in Larnaka
#6 Romantic Hotel in Larnaka
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Bay Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively renovated and refurbished every year since 1996, this beach hotel has 193 elegantly furnished rooms. The hotel is fully air-conditioned and has a lobby with 24-hour reception, currency exchange facility, cloakroom and lift access. Additionally it has bar and dining facilities, a gift and souvenir shop, hairdressing salon, 24-hour room service, baby-sitting service, doctor-on-call (fees apply), taxi service on the premises and a car hire service. Assistance is also provided to guests in organising excursions. Laundry and dry-cleaning services are also available (all subject to fees). There are also parking and conference facilities, as well as a business centre. Internet and WLAN access are also provided (subject to fees). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Golden Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larnaca Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Larnaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bay Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.