We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in Atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Bay Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Larnaka 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 41 hotels in Larnaka
PINNER, MIDDLESEX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Lacking in Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just spent four nights at this hotel and in general had a good time. However, the hotel in my opinion is in need of redecoration and is a bit tired in places especially the bathrooms and some of the bedrooms. We had a large room with a huge balcony and private Jacuzzi which was a bit tacky, but my family still enjoyed it. The walk in shower in the bathroom leaked badly whenever it was used, so a great deal of mopping up needed to be done after useing it. The sink in the bathroom was also blocked and took ages to run away. The staff in the main though were very helpful and honoured our requests when necessary.
I was a bit disappointed by the fact that the hotel claims to have several restaurants but they don’t say that there’s only one open at a time and as it was late in the season and lacking in customers the restaurant was dead! with no atmosphere at all and a bit canteen like. The food wasn’t bad but not you’re normal five star quality. It was my son’s birthday during our stay and the hotel did provide a cake and a free bottle of champagne which was quite generous of them. The half board is also not what it seems as we were not told that it didn’t apply to the pool bar dining, so we wasted our money not going to the restaurant in the evenings.
They also claim to have entertainment and show different acts on the notice board, but the only thing we saw was a pianist in the bar, who was playing to an empty space.
The other room occupied by the rest of our family had a shared Jacuzzi with a smaller patio area. The bathroom was in the same condition as ours and I noticed what looked like dry or wet rot on the door surround, which you don’t expect to see in a five star hotel. They also had ants in their room and had to have it sprayed which left it smelling very toxic, so we had to have the baby in our room until it cleared. The hotel itself looked and appeared clean although we found a pair of socks under the couch in our room.
The maid also threw away some microwave bags for sterilising baby’s bottles, which was a bit annoying as we had to go out and buy a sterilising until that cost 25 euros. The hotel did give us the money for it in the end but as it was too big for us to take back, we had to leave it there anyway. They were not forthcoming with the cost of the taxi which we had to get to buy it though.
Having said all that the staff, especially room service were excellent and delivered our requests quickly and efficiently. The bar staff were also very attentive too.

Room Tip: go for the private jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    105
    49
    24
    21
See reviews for
87
117
19
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here for a business conference for two nights. The conference was very well organised by the hotel. The public areas of the hotel are good, with pleasant patio areas and a nice pool. However, the beach was very disappointing. It looks as though the natural sand is black, but they've put yellow sand on top which has now mixed together to make cigarette-ash grey. It looked dirty and unappealing. The room was a reasonable size and comfortable, but the bathroom lighting was so dim that it made shaving difficult. The biggest disappointment was the food. I ate both nights in the Thalassa restaurant, which served a variety of salads and hot food from a buffet. I really like Greek style food normally, but this was all pretty bland. All in all this is a comfortable hotel, but not 5 stars and I thought it was expensive for the quality on offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It has been my second time to visit Cyprus and stay in Golden bay beach hotel. The hotel is clean with good service though not luxurious as would be expected in a 5 star hotel. Still you can spend a very nice time as the staff are really working hard to make your stay comfortable. Has a very nice beach too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and i stayed for two nights prior to flying home and found the hotel very quiet. There seemed to be few guests. The restaurants and bars were empty. We waited in one bar for staff to appear and eventually left for a bar over the road,, The location is not great with abandoned buildings close by. The room was large and very clean and the bed very comfortable. All things considered we would not stay here again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

There are many positives to this hotel, the friendly staff*, the nice pool area, the style of the rooms, all of which are certainly 4star, but maybe not 5 star...

(*When I say friendly staff, I am referring to the waiting staff in the restaurant, the reception staff were not really friendly at all)

However, what they don't tell you on their website is where the disappointment lies.
We had booked full board in a "mini suite" as a treat and for a totally relaxing holiday. A suite, to me anyhow, constitutes more than just a larger room, there should be a separate part. What we got was a large room, with a sofabed, desk and small table with a couple of chairs.

But the most disappointing aspect was the food... Although there are four restaurants, due to low season, only one was open at any time, which meant that there was no choice for us. Another real disappointment was that each night was a themed buffet and we were not allowed to choose off the ala carte menu (because we were full board). The food that we could see being served from the ala carte, looked far superior to what was available on the buffet. Also despite being full board, no drinks were included. Not even water. Alcoholic drinks were perfectly understandable, but not even water - which it was stated by the hotel that the tap water was unsafe, so we had to purchase bottled water.
There is no explanation on the hotel website of what is included in full or half board.
A final disappointment was the setting, the hotel grounds themselves were very nice, everything well maintained and it was enjoyable to be there when it was not crowded. However, the beach is little more than a mud strip, the view for half of the hotel rooms (including ours) was of an identical 6+ storey hotel not more than 20 metres away. There were 3 identical buildings together which seem to be all owned by the same group, but with I guess different standards. Our terrace which was meant to be a bonus of choosing a mini suite, was overlooked by at least 100 balconies from the hotel next door.

The beds are very hard (uncomfortably so), the wifi is not free, the room cleaning was ok but not much attention to detail.

All in all we had a nice holiday, we wanted a quiet time in the sun, just relaxing, but I couldnt imagine returning or recommending it.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the neighbouring hotel would be much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

i had my wedding at 20 / 10 at golden bay hotel. Everything was perfect ,the food, the atmosphere, the staff ,good organized ,i really enjoy my wedding and the cooperation with the staff. The f&b manager of the hotel was very helpful and professional .He made me feel comfortable for our special day. I recommend it 100% .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We ran a 2-day conference at the Golden Bay at the beginning of October during the Cyprus presidency of the EU, involving 100 people from 28 different countries, all arriving at different times, speaking different languages, etc. The hotel staff managed admirably, every last-minute request was met with a smile, nothing was too much trouble. Our team didn't have much time to make the most of the lovely pool and beach, but the service during the conference - water, coffee breaks, lunches - was faultless. For our last evening group dinner they threw in live music and dancers free of charge, and it turned into quite a party. The waiting staff were pleasant and efficient, the reception staff were attentive and responsive, and the front office manager was never far away if we needed him. The interior decor and rooms were a bit spartan and could benefit from some artworks and flowers but generally one of the best hotels I have worked with for international conferences.

Room Tip: Mini suites overlooking the sea have large patios with jacuzzi but could do with some more plants to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Mrs. Barbara,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments, all our guests’ feedback are appreciated and valued by everyone here at the Golden Bay Beach Hotel. It was a pleasure hosting a conference like yours and we are delighted to hear you found our services satisfactory. It is with contentment we hear that you enjoyed the special Cyprus Night Gala the Management arranged for your, offering everyone a chance to taste Cyprus hospitality;
Please do keep in touch by following us on our Facebook page, searching “goldenbaycyprus” and keep up to date with our daily activities.
We hope to welcome you back again, on a lighter and more relaxing schedule.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Beach Hotel

Address: Dhekelia Road | PO Box 40741, Larnaka 6306, Cyprus (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Larnaka
#3 Luxury Hotel in Larnaka
#4 Business Hotel in Larnaka
#4 Family Hotel in Larnaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Larnaka
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Bay Beach Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively renovated and refurbished every year since 1996, this beach hotel has 193 elegantly furnished rooms. The hotel is fully air-conditioned and has a lobby with 24-hour reception, currency exchange facility, cloakroom and lift access. Additionally it has bar and dining facilities, a gift and souvenir shop, hairdressing salon, 24-hour room service, baby-sitting service, doctor-on-call (fees apply), taxi service on the premises and a car hire service. Assistance is also provided to guests in organising excursions. Laundry and dry-cleaning services are also available (all subject to fees). There are also parking and conference facilities, as well as a business centre. Internet and WLAN access are also provided (subject to fees). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Golden Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larnaca Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Larnaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bay Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;