We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, friendly and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Hotel Apartments

Save Saved
You added Sunflower Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Sunflower Hotel Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunflower Hotel Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69, Makarios Ave | P.O. Box 40164, Larnaka 6301, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 40 hotels in Larnaka
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“clean, friendly and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

just returned from Sunflower. Read lots of reviews and really believe the sunflower is value for money with welcoming staff, free air con and wi-fi and clean everywhere. the complex needs updating in area's but the credit crunch has hit them big time, so sad to see bar and restaurant closed and hotel was half full, however this meant we were the only people using pool( extremely clean) and if we wanted anything ie-coffee at pool, extra towels and to keep room on until our flight home the receptionist didnt hesitate to assist or overcharge. Overall these apartments are in a good location, only 10min walk to beach with shops around the corner, clean and ideal if you want a clean bed in a peacefull location. I will be returning next year.

Room Tip: ask for room with pool view as some rooms face main road, our room was 308 and no noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
3
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First of all the price was allmost the cheapest in larnaca. The hotel itself is ok, but the rooms are a little dirty and bad equiped.The TV in the room didnt work, even after someone did come to repair it. On the sites it says that it is very close to the beach, it is a lie, in front of the hotel is the harbour, not the beach. The nearest beach is about 20-25 minutes walk. The restaurant at the hotel is very nice though and the watress also. Would recomend this hotel for the price, if you like something greater, find something more expensive:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sunflower for the first 6 days of our stay in Larnaca. I cannot say the place resembled an hold hospital.

Some of the rooms have been refurbished our two bed apartment was not to bad the patio doors were new as were the bathroom and kitchen tiles. yes the furniture was a little dated but not dirty.we saw no rust in the kitchen and no dust.We had three good size balconies. the location was great for the larger supermarkets and the Kitieon ruins. The building was clean and shiny all through the corridors and entrance. but we did find the beds extremely hard.

Yes it is on a busy main road which is not pedestrian friendly but we knew the location was close to somewhere we had to visit a couple of times on Makarios ave.

All the staff were friendly helpful with local info the old guy speaks little English but used to get someone that could.

Oscars restaurant downstairs my only complaint was that I ordered pasta-cheese only to find a thick layer of pork at the bottom which I hate they should have said on the menu.

There is a pick up joint of a bar across the main road the girls seem to get annoyed if they see you looking over the balcony.

But on the Sunflower I would not return because of the location it was handy at the time I hate crossing that road. but for the price they it was not that bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Budget hotel, not very close from the main city street, but well linked by bus, not only with the centre but with the airport too. We are not very fussy, however from the beginning we had the feeling to be in a building which looks like an old hospital, sensation confirmed when we got into our room. Kitchen facilities very rusty, ruined ceiling and dusty furniture, blanket not very fresh. Furthermore, the main road is really busy and noisy, with a bad smell at night. Just the bathroom was okay, clean and with hot water, though there were not window. Also, when we ask for direction to the airport, it was really funny how the receptionist suggested us to go to a travel agency, not aware that the bus stop was just opposite the hotel. Friendly but a bit inefficient. Swimming pool not very attracting and old furniture stacked up all around before its entrance. Hotel in which is advisable not to stay more than one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the fly. We didn't have anywhere to stay and came upon it by driving around the city. The front desk staff was very nice. Breakfast was basic. The 1 bedroom suite had 2 twins and 2 couches/pull outs in the living area. It was clean and nothing fancy.Good for a night or two. New sliding doors leading to large balcony looking over the neighborhood and had working a/c and hot water.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at Sunflower Hotel in Larnaca for one week with a team of 27 architecture students from Paris. We came to study Larnaca and the hotel was very nice and the people extremely warm and kind.
We had a good time and they helped us with everything we needed: information about the city, how to find addresses, where to eat and what to do. The hotel has an amazing pool and is also quite close to the beach. In the area you can easily find shops and restaurants.
They even offered their kitchen and we did some amazing dinners together.
Their wireless internet at the reception works like charm.

Room Tip: Corner suits are large and sunny and they have 2 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntisland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have just arrived back from a two week stay at the sunflower apartments. It was absolutely terrific! The reviews do not do it enough justice. Everything was great and all working. The staff are very helpful and the rooms cleaned thoroughly every day. We cannot fault this lovely place. The location on Makarios Avenue is well placed and very close to all shops, cafes, bars and so on. The best bit is the cost. It is excellent value for money Compare it's prices to any of the big hotels and you will be shocked at the difference. We paid only £400 for a superb apartment with cooker, fridge,toaster, air con. and twin balcony for two weeks in early september.Weather was hot hot and the pool was very pleasant and quiet with ample sunbeds. I know the hotel is a bit old, but it is very clean and the rooms are very spacious. We priced lots of hotels in Larnaca and Dekalia Road areas and nothing comes close to this for value for money. Similar places with the facilities of the Sunflower start at around £1000 for the fortnight! Believe me, we checked. Do not be afraid at the low cost of this place in case you think it is scruffy, because it most certainly is not, it is just a bit dated but clean. We know people that have used this hotel apartments for many years and come back again and again and so will we (god willing) Special thanks go to Kiki on reception for her very helpful and caring attitude. We highly recommend the Sunflower hotel apartments for anyone looking for value for money. There are lots of hotels that are newer and more modern, but twice or three times the cost. Hope this review is helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunflower Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel Apartments

Address: 69, Makarios Ave | P.O. Box 40164, Larnaka 6301, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 hotels in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel Apartments 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sunflower Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.