We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great restaurant on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of mediterranean

mediterranean
larnaca-mcenzy beach, Larnaka, Cyprus
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 214 Restaurants in Larnaka
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: also has a branch in nicosia - cyprus. address: 43 klimentos street
cyprus
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“great restaurant on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We ended up at this restaurant after spending a weekday afternoon at the sea with the kids. We wanted to get something to eat before heading home but wondered if we would spend a fortune for eating some horribly fried fish in our wet swimsuits and sand-dipped feet-- so we sat at this beautiful seafront restaurant (glad they accepted us looking like we did!) without many expectations. But, as another traveller said, we were pleasantly surprised. First, the fish menu had everything from calamari for the kids (pretty cheap for a good seized kids portion) to octapus to salmon. And everything we tried was very good; in fact my husband said the octapus he had was one of the best he had on the island. The staff was very polite and helpful. The prices were very decent and the atmosphere inomparable. A beautiful night on the beach, sitting at a great restaurant, relaxing in a casual but comfortable atmosphere, eating good food and not paying too much! Wow! Only reason I am giving this place 4 stars is because it was really understaffed and although the waiters/waitresses were doing everything they could (and apologized for delays), service was too slow. The place needs maybe double the staff they had last night. Also, with the airport so close by, sometimes it can get a bit noisy-- although this was not our experience last night but it is just something to keep in mind.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish Food on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We found this restraunt last year as it had just opened and it was superb.You can dine outside on the beach or inside the very contemporary bar.The Mussels in a dill sauce are very tasty and if you have them as a starter you can not go wrong.The mains are all delicious with very pleasant staff.We returned again this year and it was just as good but a bit more expensive as you did not have the opening offer prices.I would strongly advise you give it a try.Drive as though you are going to the airport along the coast road through Larnaca and take the last left hand turn befor the airport turn there is ample parking.There is also another one in Nicosia but we have not tried that one.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I can recommend the fish platter, 4' platter landed with an excellent selection and very nicely cooked and seasoned.
One of the waitresses was a klutz and spilt cream sauce on my wife, ruining her silk top, but the manager was wonderful about it, replaced the top.
We are going there again this evening again with friends.
Worked out about 11 Euro per person for food which for the quality is fantastic.
Excellent view over the beach.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
“Unexpected suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Me and my fiance went for a walk to Mckenzie beach (Where Mediterranenan is located), saw it and thought we would give it a go. We were pleasantly suprised, menu has a good selection of fish platter and individual meals, food tastes great!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Getting better and better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This was my fourth visit to the place and I was pleasantly surprised that they are getting better every time. The food quality is very good and the portions are very generous. Service is exceptionally good and the restaurant's appearance is very pleasant. And last but not least, this is a beachfront restaurant and the view it commands is superb.
This is by far the flagship of the chain.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mediterranean also viewed

 
Larnaka, Larnaka District
Larnaka, Larnaka District
 

Been to mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage mediterranean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.