We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea Food - well presented and delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ocean basket

ocean basket
Athens Ave., Larnaka, Cyprus
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 204 Restaurants in Larnaka
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: it's a chain
Larnaca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sea Food - well presented and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had an urge to try the sea food from Ocean Basket for sometime now. Although we did not book for lunch we went a little early and just about got a place. A number of tables were already reserved so a good idea to book especially if you go with friends not to be let down. We ordered a platter for two which contained a range of sea food including prawns, white fish, calamari, mussels and chips. This came with 3 types of sauces for dips. Service was good and although they claimed 25 mins to serve did this quicker. The sea food was well cooked and enough for two. For 30 euros with drinks was very reasonable. Will go back to try something different.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    122
    67
    26
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GREECE&CYPRUS
Top Contributor
450 reviews 450 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
1,525 helpful votes 1,525 helpful votes
“Something like Mc Donalds for Sea food - Cheap is Cheap anyway!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place out here gets extremely busy most of the time.
I have not had any lunch or dinner out here because I am not after fried frozen seafood. What is served here is oily and frozen mostly.

I passed with a friend who wanted to buy something from here and I had the chance to see what is going on.

The staff boggles when the tables are full and they can become rude at times. They accept reservations but on busy days forget it! Even if you have made a booking when a customer comes in they give the table and you have to wait until somebody finishes. So, whether you book or not you have to wait if the restaurant is full.

The positive for those who don’t care much about the quality is that it is cheap and affordable food and you can dine-off with not paying much.

The negatives: Noisy, Poor quality.
It is not a descent meal what you get. The attitude they have is that they want you to finish quickly and leave. This is what you get in a way. In other words you cannot eat at ease.

Personally I would prefer to spend a few more on food and have a descent meal than having anything out here. If you want to have some personal touch you better go somewhere else.

The high ranking does not always mean that it is the best!
People might prefer it because it is cheap and that is all. Those who don’t care much are the youngsters who seem to enjoy it.
It is something like Mc Donalds for sea food in other words!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
1,098 helpful votes 1,098 helpful votes
“Feesh and chips on the menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We particularly wanted a seafood restaurant for our last main meal on Cyprus before departing for a very snowy UK. There is a huge choice of cafes and restaurants on Athens Avenue, all open on a Sunday in January. Ocean Basket was already almost full when we arrived and we were asked if we had a reservation (which we did not, as we had travelled from Nicosia on the Intercity bus that morning). The staff were extremely helpful and found us space, but said our table was already reserved and would it be possible for us to complete our meal in one hour, which we did. We are both elderly so I had the "Feesh and chips" and my wife had scampi. Both were beautifully cooked and my fish was fresh and suuculent and at 5.5 euros superb value for money. The staff are lovely, lively, and welcoming. The restaurant had to turn away many customers as we had our meal, so we would recommend reservation if possible.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
famagousta
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fast sea food rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice rest chain from sa. Serving prawns squid mussels fish mixing with sushi salads rice and chips. Fast service fast cooking food. In very reasonable prices .

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I'm not a seafood fun but this restaurant made me to became tp love this kind of fish; food is very, very tasty, good portions, good service. very nice location. seafood fresh and well cooked;

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ocean basket also viewed

 
Larnaka, Larnaka District
Larnaka, Larnaka District
 

Been to ocean basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ocean basket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.