We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood platters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ocean basket

ocean basket
Athens Ave., Larnaka, Cyprus
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 225 Restaurants in Larnaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: it's a chain
ni
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great seafood platters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great selection of seafood , platters are good value for money , prawns are simply fab.
Could do with more outside seating but that is the only negative .

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    94
    36
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Fish at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Excellent food and excellent service. The basic fish and chips are good value and tasty. Love they way they are served in a frying pan! I can highly recommend the grilled cod served which I had with a village salad. Have eaten in Ocean Basket in Larnaca, Ayia Napa and Paphos and they are all delicious.

Visited October 2012

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood restaurant in Larnaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The restaurant was very busy when we went in so it was clear that this was going to be something special. It exceeded all expectations. My wife, whose first choice of food is not seafood, thought she was in food heaven! I loved it too.The staff were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them - not something we are particularly used to in this area of Cyprus! The food was of good value, beautifully presented and just as tasty. Can't wait to go back again!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Seafood on a Platter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I believe that Ocean Basket is a South African franchise. Certainly the humourous descriptions on the menu indicate a tongue in the cheek approach to food. However, there is nothing funny about the quality of the food.

My wife and I introduced two English friends to Ocean Basket in Larnaca. It proved to be a great way to spend a sunny lunch time.

We opted for the Full Deck Platter; a mixture of Prawns, Line Fish, Muscles and Calamari accompanied by a Boschendal Blanc de Noir.

Our friends were amazed at the speed with which the platter appeared. The quality and quantity of the seafood (A steal at Euro 42).

The Larnaca restaurant is an excellent representative of the brand and if I find myself in Larnaca again I will certainly visit. If you are in Paphos (As I am at the moment) then there is also a branch here which is equally as good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The only seafood option in Larnaca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was very surprised when visiting Cyprus not to have a plentiful choice of fresh seafood restaurants like in other Mediterranean countries. After a short search we were recommended Ocean Basket. Even though it didn't have a vast choice, it was a very good experience. Service was very attentive and friendly and there was lots of food for very reasonable price. Location was amazing as its right on the promenade in the middle of all the buzz. Doesn't compare to Spanish or Portuguese options but as far as Cyprus goes, its pretty decent!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ocean basket also viewed

Larnaka, Larnaka District
Larnaka, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka, Larnaka District
Larnaka, Larnaka District
 

Been to ocean basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ocean basket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.