We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Cypriot taverna - plentiful food and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vlachos Tavern

Vlachos Tavern
Dhekelia Road | Kermia Dasaki Beach, Larnaka City, Cyprus
(357) 24644244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 229 Restaurants in Larnaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Local Cypriot taverna - plentiful food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were directed here by our hotel as being authentic Cypriot food. It wasn't packed but as we were out of season I think it was mainly locals - and it was the only place that appeared to have any customers at all. The service was prompt and friendly, we ordered a mixed grill each and some snails - they brought an array of additional little dishes and we had too much food in the end. I have to say they were also the best snails I have ever eaten not rubbery but soft and tasty with an olive oil and vinegar dip. The rest was all as expected grilled meats - a tad overdone for me but I think they want to be safe in the cooking and perhaps cater for the tourist tastes too? However at the price you cannot complain in fact the food was so plentiful it could have fed 3 adults or a family of 4! I would say for what it is it's as good as you can get at the price and quality. In fact we went back the following night and were equally pleased - the service was still good despite them having a large party to cater for as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    48
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Cypriot food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We went on the recommendation of our hotel manager and were more than pleased. It is a little difficult to find (15 min from Larnaca on the road to Dhekeleia), but the feel of the place, the music and the food is excellent. The serving sizes are large, and they also provide complimentary starters (pilaf, pita bread, Greek salad, olives and scrambled eggs with mushrooms) and fruits at the end. The staff is friendly and the service is quick in spite of being quite busy. Certainly worth a visit if you want to try authentic Cypriot cuisine with a local feel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such authentic and beautiful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Driving past you wouldn't necessarily notice it unless you knew what you were looking for. I came last year and had just a great experience as I did last night. Last night... We had a pork chop, a chicken kebab and a chicken souvla (big chicken pieces on bone) all were grilled in a lovely marinade and all came with chips. They also sent us some meze to try which is classic Greek cuisine with lots of little dishes and they only charged us for 2 of them even though we had about 5. There was egg and cabbage (like a cabbage omelette), warm fresh pitta, some brown pilaf rice thing, a lovely feta salad, some halloumi and a different looking fruit/vegetable. Oh and some tzatziki! Every dish was delicious and with drinks it all came to just under 40 euros!!! Amazing.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best cypriot taverna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This taverna provides me the best food experience! The food is delicious, their meze has the right amount of dishes with reasonable prices. The owners are very polite taking care of every customer. Definetely worth visiting!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaca, Cyprus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cyprus tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went many times to this tavern because we love the cyprus meze which it have. It's very nice food and a lot. For sure we will go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlachos Tavern also viewed

Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Oroklini, Larnaka City
 

Been to Vlachos Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlachos Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.