We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and service, and can't beat the price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Elena Fish Restaurant

Santa Elena Fish Restaurant
4 Apostolou Varnavas | Zygi, Larnaka, Cyprus
(+357) 24 332 203
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 206 Restaurants in Larnaka
Cuisines: Greek, Fish & Chips
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Larnaka, Cyprus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and service, and can't beat the price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I had a meal down at Santa Elena Fish Restaurant in Zygi last week. It was on the evening of the Zygi Festival, and there was music and dancing on the Marina. Santa Elena's is on a cobbled pedestrian street just off the Marina, in a charming old stone building across from the church. We could hear the music from the harbour, but it was atmospheric, not overwhelming.
There is a special on this summer (2013) where most meals are 10 E even, including a nice salad and chips. Given the very reasonable price of drinks as well, this makes for an excellent value in a delightful setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Acceptable prices but poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a family day out in Zygi today and we decided to eat in Santa Elena. The table clothes were full of burnt holes but I did not complain. I ordered a glass of red wine and they told me that they have red wine in small bottles so I went for it. They brought a small bottle of rose instead. I sent it back. The waiter brought an other table`s food as well. We ordered a pork chop what`s half was raw. We ordered mussels too and that was nasty. During chewing I found small shell bits then I found a 1 cm long shell as well. I stopped eating the mussels. However the calamari was too salty I liked it. The salad was delicious. After lunch I mentioned the problems to the waiter. His answer was:"The pork chop was raw because we did not want to burn it. The mussels.. well it happens." There was no apology at all. They solved the problem with letting go 2 soft drinks from our final price. Well I wish they would care more!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent fish ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay in Cyprus. The first time just two of us when we had the fish meze which seemed to go on forever and was well cooked, especially the sea bream. Our second visit was with friends when we had starters and a sea bass between us which was excellent. The only reason I have not given it a five rating is because one of our party ordered fish soup as a starter which, even after a reminder, did not arrive until the main course had appeared. Otherwise, topnotch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
479 reviews 479 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“TASTY FRESH FISH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

In the heart of Zygi, in the yard or the village's church is Santa Elena Fish Restaurant.
We had lunch several times, especially on Sundays, as is 40 minutes from Nicosia.
No view of the sea from the tavern, but the atmoshere is traditional and homely and always found the fish fresh and tasty, the service quick and the prises better than other Fish Taverns, so we keep going. I recommend it, and be sure, you will not be dissapointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling Essex man
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic little restaurant a little off the main street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We visited Zygi on the off-chance passing through on a weekend motorbiking in Cyprus. Originally we stopped just for a coffee at Santa Elena but the food looked so good that we stayed for a seafood meze for lunch at 21 euros/person. The fish dishes were simple but brilliant - fresh, tasty - and far too much for two people to eat!! We had mussels, shrimp, red mullet, whitebait, octopus, squid, cuttlefish and a steamed fish I couldn't identify along with dips and a huge salad.
The staff were extremely friendly and did everything they could to make our visit special.
It's not on the harbour but none the worse for it. Sit outside in a small courtyard/pedestrian road. It is one of our favourite memories from our visit to Cyprus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Elena Fish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Santa Elena Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Elena Fish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.