We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View and Service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portokali Restaurant

Portokali Restaurant
98 Piale Pasha, Larnaka 6026, Cyprus (Formerly Taratsa)
+(357)24665660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 226 Restaurants in Larnaka
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Portokalí restaurant is located on the sea front offering a panoramic view of Larnaca bay and the quaint fishing harbor. A family run restuarant that specializes in quality Mediterranean and Cypriot cuisine including meat meze and fish meze.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great View and Service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This centrally located eatery has the best view of the central plaza of Old Town Larnaca. They have a wood burning fireplace in the dining room if it's too chilly to sit out on the beautiful second floor tearrace. The service was super friendly and the food tasty. We ordered a number of appis (grilled stuffed peppers were tasty) and a main and it was all good. The grilled octopus was overcooked and chewy but the rest was decent. Go for the view and the meze and perhaps the fire, if you're a fan, which I am. Nice place to visit if you're in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    7
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kerry,ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great view, special place..!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We ate here in September.Be sure to try and get a table upstairs when the weather is warmer because the view of St.Lazarus church lit up is beautiful! We enjoyed our food, service was good.This is away from the tourist centre, only a few minutes walk to the right just before the fort on the promenade but worth finding as its a little different to the rest along the promenade!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A favourite of mine for the view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I should say straightaway that this restaurant is unsuitable for anyone who is disabled or has trouble with climbing stairs as there are quite a few to climb to get to it.

Cosy inside and one of the best views imaginable from outside (where I always sit) looking down over old Lazarus Church.

Food is very good - I've tried meat, fish, pastas - and the owners are very friendly. Sometimes live guitar music weekend nights in season.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An excellent food, great service, nice view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We wandered around the city of Larnaca when we stumbled upon this place. A sign saying "climb up, it will be worth it" made us do it. And what a magnificent view it was! The place looks terrific. The food was delicious, we ordered Meze and were very satisfied with it. The owner of the place was very nice and helped us in every way that he could.

The only drawback I can think of is that it is not suitable for people in wheelchair. Other than that, it is a great restaurant, and I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had lunch here on 31.12.12 & was greeted warmly by Andreas who was attentive at all times but not overbearing.
We had Sword fish steaks, & a carafe of local red wine. The food was cooked to perfection & the wine was superb.
The location takes a lot of beating as it over looks St Lazarus's Church & Square & far excels some of the more canteen type places that Larnaca seems to offer...
A unique experience for an intimate meal with good service & wonderful food.........
highly recommened............

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portokali Restaurant also viewed

Larnaka, Larnaka District
Larnaka, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka, Larnaka District
 

Been to Portokali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portokali Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.