We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portokali Restaurant

Portokali Restaurant
98 Piale Pasha, Larnaka 6026, Cyprus (Formerly Taratsa)
+(357)24665660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 206 Restaurants in Larnaka
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Portokalí restaurant is located on the sea front offering a panoramic view of Larnaca bay and the quaint fishing harbor. A family run restuarant that specializes in quality Mediterranean and Cypriot cuisine including meat meze and fish meze.
Larnaca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you are only able to visit one restaurant whilst on holiday in Larnaca or just passing through then choose Taratsa Restaurant. My family and I have dined here on several occasions over the last 4 years and have always enjoyed a wonderful dining experience. I have read some of the negative reviews for this restaurant on Tripadvisor and I know that everyone is entitled to their opinion but please don't be put off by the few who say they had a poor experience. Also at least one of the reviews is not correct as the reviewer says that Taratsa used to be called The Black Turtle restaurant. This is not true. Taratsa has always been Taratsa and The Black Turtle restaurant is still located next door, although I'm not sure whether it is currently open for business. Taratsa Restaurant is set in a beautiful location overlooking St Lazarus Church. During the winter months food is served in the dining room where there is a very inviting log fire that adds to the authentic ambience. The menu is varied with a good selection of starters, steak, chicken, fish, salads, pasta and traditional Cypriot dishes. All the food is freshly prepared to order. During busy times there could be a delay but the food is definitely worth waiting for. This is not a fast food eatery, it's a classy, family run restaurant where the emphasis is on exceptional quality and well presented delicious meals. The selection of Cypriot dishes are prepared from recipes handed down from the owners parents so if you want a taste of tradition then choose any of these and you'll not be disappointed. Our personal favourites are Moussaka and Stifado. We also like the Salmon, Sea Bass and Fillet Steak. If you are starving then try the Vegetarian or Meat Meze both of which are very good value for money and you'll probably not feel like eating again for a couple of days!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, shame service and food don't match.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This used to be called The Black Turtle restaurant and is in gorgeous location on a veranda overlooking st Lazarus church. Dont have the house wine, it's ghastly and the surly waiter just shrugged and said "it's the house wine". We then ordered two well known wines which were very nice but there was quite a substantial party and they only had one bottle of each, then we were back onto rubbish wine, that's all they had! Kind of knew the vibe was not good from the start as surly waiter, the type who should consider retiring, looked fed up. He glared at us for simply asking for the wine list. On bringing the food menu he announced "there is no kleftiko, no sea bass, no calimari" . Oh great, the favorites were missing. As we ordered the food he barked at us not to all talk at once. I have never experienced such a bad mannered waiter. Rather than being humble as half the wine and food menu we're not available, he was nasty. The setting deserves so much more. Two in the party who had fillet steak said it was excellent. The rest of us us who had various local dishes thought they were rather mediocre.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisvass112, Guest Relations Manager at Portokali Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Hi there thank you for your feedback we are sorry that you were not satisfied. We would just like to point out that Taratsa restaurant was never once called the black turtle. The black turtle is door and always has been. We would appreciate if this part of your review could be altered. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Could easily walk past this place...but very glad we didn't!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous terrace restaurant overlooking the beautifully lit St Lazarus Church. It has two staircases up so just look for the doorways off the street. We were lucky I looked up and spotted it during the day and we went back that evening to give it a try.
Authentic Cypriot food and good service. I had stuffed vine leaves that were every bit as good as my partner's mother used to make (and she was born and grew up in Cyprus).
Very romantic little spot away from the jingle jangle of he sea front close by.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pervolia, Cyprus
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“taratsa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

An excellent fillet steak! By the open fire too! Kept warm by the owner regularly adding logs to the fire. Hmmmm, toasty warm with great food and great service.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenaros
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A cafe in sky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Lovely food, good service, sitting above St Lazarus church, really wonderful in the evenings overlooking the square

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portokali Restaurant also viewed

 
Larnaka, Larnaka District
 

Been to Portokali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portokali Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.