We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the meze” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dionyssos Fish Tavern

Dionyssos Fish Tavern
7 Agkyras Larnaka, Larnaka City 6026, Cyprus
+357 24 653 658
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 225 Restaurants in Larnaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Greek, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Try the meze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

One of the problems of eating abroad is that you end up eating a version of what the locals think you eat at home. We specifically went for something local and the meze (a series of local fish dishes) was brilliant - in the end we started to get embarrassed because we couldn't eat all the food placed before us. The price was about Euro48 for two inc a local bottle of wine - reasonable by UK standards but perhaps a bit pricey by local standards but at the end of the day it was clearly worth it. We went back for lunch on our last day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    63
    24
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
avigdor, israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great location, goog food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Third time around, we're back every year. Fresh fish on the grill, excellent salads, great moussaka and special homemade desserts you dont see in other places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best every time !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have been eating at the Dionysus Restaurant for years !!! Have come back, every holiday and never, ever been let down. Always recommend it to all our friends that come to Larnaca. Always made very welcome, and all I can say to those who have written a bad review is , I don't believe you !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It was a terrible experience because the fish was not fresh, but frozen and badly cooked. We did not expect to find a fish tavern like that in a sea village. The tripadvisor quality certification surprised us a lot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I don't believe the good reviews are real”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I honestly cannot understand why this restaurant had a trip advisor certificate - the food is base standard. The fish is not fresh, it's from frozen. The wine is by no means the best Cyprus has to offer and the prices are far too expensive for what's served.

If you see this place, I would strongly advise you to carry on walking.

I'm annoyed at myself for stopping at this place - the TA cert persuaded me otherwise, we've now been caught out once more with a supposed TA cert of excellence so I'm fairly convinced that many of the reviews for Cypriot restaurants are not real.

If you're after a good meal, the best places are the ones that look like ramshackle cafes. Admittedly, many if these are meat so if its fresh fish you're after, don't settle for anywhere that doesn't have a tank where you actually get to select your food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dionyssos Fish Tavern also viewed

Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 

Been to Dionyssos Fish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dionyssos Fish Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.