We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gabriel House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gabriel House to your Saves list
Gabriel House
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Kato Drys Village, Larnaka 7714, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Larnaka
Kabul
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

With only 3 nights in Cyprus, we chose to go 5* one night in Limossal, see what we could find on arrival on the North Shore, and book this small town authentic B&B in Kato Drys based on great reviews on Trip Advisor. The location lived up to the expectations and my boyfriend and I had an excellent night and morning at this location. Kato Drys is a quick and easy drive from Larnaca on newly sealed roads (we were in a small compact rental car). The village is nestled in the hills with great views and old stone houses with small alleyways that you can explore. The owner is lovely and ensured the apartment was pre-heated before our arrival and that we got a full tour of the local museum and area before we left the next day. Breakfast was "do it yourself" but had all the necessary items provided - halloumi and olive oil, fresh oranges to make juice with, bread and jam, cucumber and tomato, etc. The bed and shower were great and the whole experience was really lovely! I wish we'd spent 2 nights here and more time in the Southern Cyprus countryside in general. The coastal cities are very touristy and the North wasn't too atmospheric. As there are only 2 apartments be sure to book ahead, though in the winter isn't as busy (but is just as lovely)!

Room Tip: There are only 2 apartments available - one has a bedroom with a double bed and a small couch in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Larnaca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Located in a traditional quiet part of Cyprus I enjoyed a great weekend escape in February. Enjoyed a warm welcoming by the owners!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

From the heart felt welcome to the personally guided tour of the entire home and village you will be taken by the long, long history of Cyprus and the warmth and friendliness of your host and the local people. The apartment is part of a house that has belonged to the family for ages and is steeped in history. It is not a place for the beach goers and night life crowd. Instead, it is a place of discovery and reflection. There is a gorgeous, small Orthodox chapel just seconds away, and a museum of the area donated by the Gabriel House owner's family. A few kilometers away is a brand new winery that is state of the art, and the owner has been producing excellent wines at his old winery for years. A few more kilometers down the same winding road is a centuries old nunnery. In the other direction from Kato Drys, about 14 kilometers is the world famous village of Lefkara which produces incredible handmade lace. In fact, Leonardo da Vinci made a geometric lace design for Lefkara when he traveled there. They also have silversmiths as you can find in the entire Larnaca area. If you do like the faster life Larnaca is only about 30 minutes away. Every path, lane and road are beautiful trips into history when you venture out into Kato Drys from your apartment and beyond. It is wonderful to come home to a courtyard that boasts vintage implements. You will enjoy fresh lemons, oranges and grapefruit from the owner's own trees. It is truly a life memory and comfortably affordable.

Room Tip: There are two apartments. One suitable for a couple and the other for a large family. Both exit in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Beautiful restored stone house in a tiny, idyllic mountain town. Gabriel and his wife welcomed us with homemade pastries and fruit from their orchard, as well as wine from a local vineyard. They were attentive but respectful of our privacy, and the house was comfortable, beautiful, and accessible. Kato Drys is a short drive to many of the larger cities in the islands east (Nicosia, Limmosol, Larnaca) but secluded enough to feel private. Just down the road is a charming meze restaurant with delicious food and outdoor seating. Really one of the best places my wife and I have ever stayed, and we wished we could take Gabriel home with us! I would recommend this place without reservation.

Room Tip: There are two apartments; ours (in the back) did not have internet access, though I'm told the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREECE&CYPRUS
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
231 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
1,778 helpful votes 1,778 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I have only the best to write concerning “Gabriel House” at Kato Drys.
Starting from the unforgettable hospitality of the couple, Mr. Gabriel and Eleni treated me as if I were a member of their family.

Although it is a 200 year old building, it is fully restored, and has both floor heating and air conditioning. The house is centrally located between the two historical churches and the agricultural Museum. The stone-built village itself is very old and full of history.

Mr. Gabriel being a licensed producer of organic nuts and fruit welcomed me to his orchard. Guests can try his products for free.

My apartment had a fantastic atmosphere taking me to another era.
This is the reason I always include such houses on my trips. You have to step in the house itself to feel this, and I believe photos cannot give the whole picture of what you will experience out here.

Of course in the house there was both a Plasma TV, and a DVD player but I could not care less. Who wants to switch on a TV when here. Who wants to listen to music when you can hear the birds singing outside in the beautiful garden of the premises and the rain falling outside depending on the weather conditions! I had a big variety of coffee to make to myself, tea, and all sorts of jams and marmalades from the house.
Everything was so perfect. I strongly recommend it, and I wish I could stay longer!

PS....I DON'T WISH TO WRITE IN GREEK AND I POST HERE AS MY ENGLISH THREAD COULD NOT OPEN TO POST THIS.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gabriel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gabriel House

Address: Kato Drys Village, Larnaka 7714, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gabriel House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling close to historic churches and the Agricultural Museum, the Gabriel House, Kato Drys, Cyprus occupies a prime position for travellers who enjoy heritage and nature. These great value serviced apartments in the heart of this picturesque village offer a unique hotel alternative, with lots of character and mountain views from a pretty roof garden. Your dedicated hosts are proud to be involved in bio-agriculture and invite guests to experience the wonderful organic fruit trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gabriel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gabriel House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.