We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt the spirit of Cyprus here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandbeach Castle Hotel

Sandbeach Castle Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Larnaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandbeach Castle Hotel
Save
You added Sandbeach Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Piale Pasha Street | P.O. BOX 40813, Larnaka 6307 , Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Larnaka B&B and Inns
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Felt the spirit of Cyprus here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Originally our booking was made for at the Largo Hotel (2*), but we stayed there only one night and didn't like it at all, so when we saw an offer at the reception o move to the Sandbeach Castle for free (it's a common thing, hotels share their guests) we accepted it gladly. I liked the front of the hotel, it looks like a white Asian-styled castle standing on the waterline. The rooms were also decorated at the medieval style, very spacious and with high ceilings. We were offered to choose a room, and I asked the one overlooking the sea - it was ready an hour later. The room was nice, nicely furnished, nothing more than you'd expect from a 3* hotel. The balcony wide enough to have another bed there amazed me most of all - how many unforgettable romantic evenings with wine and stars reflecting at the sea we had!
The breakfast were poor, that was a disadvantage, but the dinners... Amazing. Even though you could not choose a dish it was very tasty every time. I don't eat fish, but I ate both portions - mine and my husband's - so great it was. The hotel is owned by a friendlyb family who like to sit at their restaurant and chatting till the late evening, but it was fine as we went to bed late. By the way, the restaurant is located at the water edge - unforgettable.
No beach or pool, unfortunately - they have the stairs into the water, which is a good replacement.
I liked this hotel in general, it has its very strong pros and weak cons.

Room Tip: Seaview!!! And the balcony!!! Don't miss them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is located close to the seafront promenade of Larnaca. On both sides of the easy access to the wide beaches to the border of the airport. The hotel serves a modest but tasty breakfast buffet. The rooms are very small and old. The bathroom was dirty and small and the shower was broken. Conditioning worked well, but the ceiling was dripping water on the floor. A window with a view of the sea was damaged. The TV was in a room - Cypriot available satellite channels. Internet was available a few hours, as the evening broke and will never work. Russian speaking staff were smiling and helpful, but the hotel is old and rather dirty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed there for one night and had booked it online, unfortunately, otherwise we would (and should) have left immediately. Terrible experience, which makes us wonder how such a hotel can still be open.

There were stains and mold all over the carpet, the walls, and even the linen. No hot water. Cigarette ends in the bathroom... Totally unfriendly and unhelpful staff...

Room Tip: Never again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed here one night before an early morning flight. The room was dirty, tiny, and windows were not sealed making a/c pointless even tho u pay extra for it. The whole place looks like it hasn't been touched in 30 years. Beach chairs were broken, not that there is any beach to speak of anyway unless u walk to mkenzy beach.
No TV, no wifi, no fridge, stay somewhere else!

On top of that you can rent a €3 adapter, but they only give you €2 back. Cheap.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

i just want to say i agree with some this hotel is fantastic we stayed there in 07 08 chris n leon are brill they make the hotel there was no entertainment but you didnt need it with them there its such a good atmosphere we joked many a time with chris n leon about our hobby plane spotting but by the end of our hols they were looking with us the location couldnt be better meals outside by the sea the sea is safe as you can go waist deep and reach the rock that sticks out the only thig that bothered us were lizzards basking on the wall

Room Tip: just go its ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The Sandbeach Castle hotel is an experience all travelers should have. Imagine staying in a building reminiscent of a 14th century medieval castle. The outside looks good, if tired. The inside is a treat - big lobby in dark wood, restaurant, bar, patio on the edge oft the beach. A large staircase winds up to the first floor. If the outside looks tired,then the inside is exhausted! We had one of the best rooms at the back overlooking the sea, and I believe there may have been one other guest. Our room was small, the beds were hard, the pillows very thin. The air conditioner was broken, which would not have mattered if there had been fly screens so the windows could be kept open all night. There are loads of mozzies so we got bitten. I jumped in the shower, but there was no hot water, and when I jumped out, I couldn't turn the tap off for ages. The restaurant was closed. My wife washed her clothes in the sink, and the water was dark brown with rust so her clothes were dirtier than when they went in to the sink. The bedroom doors don't fit very well and we were concerned by the state of the locks. However, as an experience I believe everyone should stay somewhere like this so we appreciate all the other hotels.

Room Tip: Take a mozzie net
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

In September we missed our flight and asked at airport info to suggest a cheap near hotel..twenty mins later we were at the Sandbeach Castle Hotel and being tired a bed any bed would have done. the staff were so helpful and the cost of the room which included a very good breakfast was so cheap and we were totaly satisfied...ok so it was a little worn and could have maybe done with a little repair here and there..but in a way it added to the charm of the place.
If you are looking for somewhere to crash that wont break the bank I would say go for it...I would go back if needed...we asked if we could keep the room till 6pm on our day of departure and as with everything else nothing was too much trouble...no pool but the sea is realy shallow quite some way out and ideal for paddling

Room Tip: Sea veiws have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandbeach Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbeach Castle Hotel

Address: Piale Pasha Street | P.O. BOX 40813, Larnaka 6307 , Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Larnaka
Number of rooms: 24

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandbeach Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.