We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awful.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sandbeach Castle Hotel

Sandbeach Castle Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Larnaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandbeach Castle Hotel
Piale Pasha Street | P.O. BOX 40813, Larnaka 6307 , Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Larnaka B&B and Inns
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just awful.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed here one night before an early morning flight. The room was dirty, tiny, and windows were not sealed making a/c pointless even tho u pay extra for it. The whole place looks like it hasn't been touched in 30 years. Beach chairs were broken, not that there is any beach to speak of anyway unless u walk to mkenzy beach.
No TV, no wifi, no fridge, stay somewhere else!

On top of that you can rent a €3 adapter, but they only give you €2 back. Cheap.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

i just want to say i agree with some this hotel is fantastic we stayed there in 07 08 chris n leon are brill they make the hotel there was no entertainment but you didnt need it with them there its such a good atmosphere we joked many a time with chris n leon about our hobby plane spotting but by the end of our hols they were looking with us the location couldnt be better meals outside by the sea the sea is safe as you can go waist deep and reach the rock that sticks out the only thig that bothered us were lizzards basking on the wall

Room Tip: just go its ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The Sandbeach Castle hotel is an experience all travelers should have. Imagine staying in a building reminiscent of a 14th century medieval castle. The outside looks good, if tired. The inside is a treat - big lobby in dark wood, restaurant, bar, patio on the edge oft the beach. A large staircase winds up to the first floor. If the outside looks tired,then the inside is exhausted! We had one of the best rooms at the back overlooking the sea, and I believe there may have been one other guest. Our room was small, the beds were hard, the pillows very thin. The air conditioner was broken, which would not have mattered if there had been fly screens so the windows could be kept open all night. There are loads of mozzies so we got bitten. I jumped in the shower, but there was no hot water, and when I jumped out, I couldn't turn the tap off for ages. The restaurant was closed. My wife washed her clothes in the sink, and the water was dark brown with rust so her clothes were dirtier than when they went in to the sink. The bedroom doors don't fit very well and we were concerned by the state of the locks. However, as an experience I believe everyone should stay somewhere like this so we appreciate all the other hotels.

Room Tip: Take a mozzie net
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

In September we missed our flight and asked at airport info to suggest a cheap near hotel..twenty mins later we were at the Sandbeach Castle Hotel and being tired a bed any bed would have done. the staff were so helpful and the cost of the room which included a very good breakfast was so cheap and we were totaly satisfied...ok so it was a little worn and could have maybe done with a little repair here and there..but in a way it added to the charm of the place.
If you are looking for somewhere to crash that wont break the bank I would say go for it...I would go back if needed...we asked if we could keep the room till 6pm on our day of departure and as with everything else nothing was too much trouble...no pool but the sea is realy shallow quite some way out and ideal for paddling

Room Tip: Sea veiws have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I do not agree with the comments made on here about the Sandbeach. We got married in Cyprus in 2007 and have stayed at the hotel year after year due to the friendly staff, views, food atmosphere etc. Yes the bathrooms are small but that would never spoil any holiday for us. We adore the owners and the rest of the family who could not do more for you and i certainly am never ready to leave by the end of the holiday. Leon and Chris make the place and welcomed us from the very first time we stayed. When we got married they made our day very special and will always be classed to us as very good friends. We have never had any issues with mosquitos!!. There are many pubs and restaraunts nearby and the centre is a 20 minute walk away which is a lovely stroll in the evening. My son is 13 and has been many times. He loves the fact that there is no pool and why would it be needed when you can just walk straight in to the sea?? Ideal location for any family or couple and i will always recommend this hotel to anybody due to the family that run it and make your stay memorable. You will always get the odd one moaning but is there not one of them in every hotel all over the world?? Dont let the negative things said deter you. The fact it is so close to the airport is a bonus for us as our son loves planes and the noise is not as bad as made out to be!! If i could go every year i would. Go and enjoy :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view. Its fabulous. The rooms with a sea view also have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were only going to be staying one night but then had to book another due to a change of circumstances. The location is perfect, you get what you pay for. It doesn't have a pool but you basically walk into the see when going out the back. There is only a few more places to stay in this area which we checked out and found that we had chosen the best place. (We drove over from the North looking to stay in the McKenky Beach area).
The breakfast in standard european style. We bought lunch on one occasion which was nice, we enjoyed it. But if there's nothing to you taste on there menu then that's no problem as your surrounded by bars/restaurants. We would happily go back for another nights stay or for the weekend. The AC could have been a bit colder during the day times. Basically you get what you pay for, standard prices considering the location and the cost of other accommodation in that area. The view from our big balcony was lovely and also when eating in the restaurant. Great area/location, good no frills hotel - for the price you shouldn't expect the Ritz anyway!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

This hotel was recommended to me based on the proximity to the airport. I was told the view was great, and the bathrooms are small. That was kind of an understatement. The bathrooms are literally converted closets that I (at only 5'10" and 115lbs) had trouble even fitting into. The air conditioning units barely cooled the room down, and are not usable until 7pm. The hotel interior looks like it hasn't been touched since the 1950s. On a positive note, the views are fantastic, the price is reasonable, the room was pretty clean (stained sheets) and the staff was friendly. No elevator, so be prepared to lug your bags up the stairs. There's WiFi, but only in the lobby. Overall, I absolutely could not wait to get out of there and back to the airport. This hotel is pretty much on par with an average hostel, and I would only recommend it for short overnight stays if you need a place near the airport. It has potential based on the location, but would need some major updating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandbeach Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbeach Castle Hotel

Address: Piale Pasha Street | P.O. BOX 40813, Larnaka 6307 , Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Larnaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandbeach Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sandbeach Castle Hotel to your Saves list