We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the price paid” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Flamingo Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   152 Piale Pasha Avenue, Larnaka City 6028, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka City
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Decent for the price paid”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights. I had a room in the 'apartments part' of this hotel, which means that in my room I had a 'kitchen' part. In fact I had only a fridge and a toaster, no utensils, cups or plates, so cooking was not possible. It seems that my room was in the newer part of the premisses, because all seemed to be quite new (except for door frames). Bed was quite comfortable.Bathroom had very basic look with quite small mirror and very uncomfortable sink setting. Room was cleaned every day, however my room wasn't properly cleaned the day I checked in (it was done the next day).
Breakfasts were pretty decent for a 3 star hotel. You could have a full English breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausages, beans). But there were no fruits available and juice was an orange colour sweet water. Coffee was no better (tasteless), even if it came from a coffee machine.
Outside there are road works so access to the beach in front of this hotel is quite a challenge. Unfortunately, those works are pretty extensive and it may take a lot more time than 2 more months - I was told that they started in June of last year and they still have lots to do.
Reception staff is pretty friendly and try to solve problems of their guests. There are many guests on packaged holidays - many from Russia or Poland.
Overall a pretty decent 3 star hotel (at least the part of the building I stayed in) for the price I paid.

Side note: Beware of taxi drivers who want to rip you off on the short distance between this hotel and the airport. My driver asked EUR15 for a short 7 min. drive (in fact you shouldn't pay more than EUR10 if you take a taxi late at night and half of this during day hours).

Room Tip: If you have a room overlooking the street/beach you will hear planes landing on the nearby airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    38
    45
    24
    31
See reviews for
36
57
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We got there and immediately I thought it was dirty and run down. We checked in and got the key so went up to the room. Walked in the door and saw that one of the sliding cupboard doors for hanging clothes was completely broken off. We saw the beds and the rest of the room and the decor was very very old fashioned! We had a twin room with two single beds. My friend got into her bed and there was a bug crawling over her pillow! We looked on the balcony and it was filthy and the view was of another building. As for the bathroom, there were still hairs in the plug of the bath from the previous people who stayed in the room and it just didn't feel very clean at all. When we went downstairs for something to eat, the food looked delicious but tasted disgusting; the chips tasted like they'd been cooked in oil that had been sitting there for weeks and were hardly edible! There are a few bars and shops next to the hotel so we had to eat there instead. Definitely not what was expected and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone at all!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is truly awful. I don't even know where to begin. The elevator rarely works. We were trapped in it and told by the manager to get used to it!
There is loud, awful music played two to three nights a week for hours on end and it is impossible to rest, relax or sleep. This even though often it is only the manager and a few female friends actually at the restaraunt where the music is being played. The staff is OK but the manager has true contempt for his guests. Please also be aware that the road in front of the hotel is currently being enlargened and access to the beach is uncomfortable at best.
We experienced flooding during our stay at nighttime and were advised to wait until morning for them to look at the problem.
If all of this doesn't convince you to stay anywhere but here, I hope you enjoy your stay..but you won't!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel shares some facilities with the adjacent flamengo hotel. The apts are newer than the flamengo hotel rooms however there is no self catering equipment at all (even if your reservation clearly states "studio", just like mine did), so don't book if you actually consider cooking or storing food during your stay. Breakfast and dinner offer is very basic but again, its a cheap hotel so you get what you pay for. Just be aware that there are some massive roadworks just outside of the hotel as they are rebuilding the whole walking strip, and it doesn't look like they ate going to finish anytime soon...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It is difficult to find somewhere in Larnaca where Sunday lunch is not overcooked and overpriced. Not the case here. Although a carvery which I would normally avoid for the reasons already stated,Flamingo Beach has got it right. Excellent choice of meats and vegetables with gorgeous gravy and all well cooked, friendly and efficient service and reasonably priced at 12 euros a head excluding wine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_27968, Manager at Flamingo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thanking you for your great comments. Looking forward to meet you on your next visit for carvery, in order to reward you with a voucher.

Kind regards,
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ger, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I can only say Wao! Lately on numerous occasions been visiting Larnaca on my business trips, I used Flamingo Beach hotel at Makenzy Larnaca. What can i say clean, friendly on a Beach, 15 minutes walk to town and reasonable rate, good value for what I have paid. I will not hesitate to recomend to my friends this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_27968, Manager at Flamingo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear friend,

Thank you for your positive comments and your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in our hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Tanzania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have recently had to use Flamingo Beach hotel in Larnaca while on Transit for a night I have founded to be very near the Larnaca International Airport, on arrival speedy check inn by a very friendly receptionist, room clean, breakfast, good range it was all what i needed for the night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_27968, Manager at Flamingo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest, thanking you for your great comments. Looking forward to see you for next visit.

Best regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Flamingo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Hotel

Address: 152 Piale Pasha Avenue, Larnaka City 6028, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Facilities and amenities at Flamingo Beach Hotel include but are not limited to: Free WiFi, a roof-top swimming pool, two restaurants, a croissanterie, two lounge bars, three bars, an on-site Fitness center, a beauty Spa, Shuttle service and Car/Bike rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Flamingo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.