We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Larnaca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alkisti City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alkisti City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alkisti City Hotel
Ayiou Lazarus Street 1 | Saint Lazarus Square, Larnaka 6020, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Larnaka B&B and Inns
Katowice, poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best in Larnaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I started to stay in this hotel in 2009, and since this time I have stayed there probably ten or more times. Usually i stay i 104 or 105 rooms what are in my opinion the best in hotel, but somebody can say that there are noisy, because of the street trafics below. Rooms are good equipped, small but nice. In the room 104 one can make paiting on the wall with stains on the wall. There is no breakfast in the hotel, but they are offered by bar opposite. Hotel has charming interiors, and it seems that the owner takes good care about it.
I have spent also few nights in another hotels around Larnaca, and this is no doubt that Alkist is one of the best in town, and fur sure the best if you compare prices to standard offered.

Room Tip: 104 and 105, try to avoid rooms without view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
2
15
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The hotel location is great, right in the city centre and still fairly quiet (at least in November). However, the rooms are tiny (!). To use the bathroom is a challenge, as it is so small that you have to squeeze past the door to make your way to the toilet or shower.

The linnen was clean, but the main cover was in serious need of a washing. We were glad we only stayed for a single night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The place is nice and simple, good value for money, excellent location right in St.Lazarus square of Larnaca, 5 min from communal beach. On the bad side: noisy air conditioning and street at night (had to keep windows closed), bed with some sort of plastic undersheet, that makes you sweat at once. The best thing is shared balcony with the view of the square. Quite ok, if you stop by for couple nights.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed in Larnaca for 3 days, traveling through Cyprus. When we arrived, the key was 'hidden'
in a little locker in the outside wall.. very trusting people! The room was nice and quiet, airconditioning available and we got clean towels everyday. It's very near the beach and it overlooks the wonderful Lazarus square with the church. One minus: the bed was a bit small for 2 people!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This a little gem. Old world charm and courtesy, adequate facilities, efficient booking arrangements, superb location. I shall return many more times.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We were there for 3 nights. We had booked 3 rooms, they gave us the option to choose front or rear and twin or double bed. The rooms were clean, the space was ok. Free internet, wireless didn't work, they gave us cable. Very friendly staff, they had morning and afternoon working hours, they gave us key for the front door to enter. Very good price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed 7 nights after the Icelandic volcano stopped all the flights. We transferred from a more expensive hotel as the 45 Euro per night at the Alkisti was attractive. They offered us the choice of a room with a view but opposite the noisy bar - or one looking on to the wall of the building next door. We chose the latter and it suited us fine - could leave the shutters open and very quiet apart from church bells on Sunday (and St George's Day). Staff could not have been more helpful and contacted airlines, sympathised and generally made the experience more pleasant than it might have been. If you want a hotel with bar, breakfast etc go elsewhere - if you want a cheap room in an area full of good bars and restaurants, we recommend the Alkisti. (fast Internet access in the room too and it was free)

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alkisti City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkisti City Hotel

Address: Ayiou Lazarus Street 1 | Saint Lazarus Square, Larnaka 6020, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Alkisti City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alkisti City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.