We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price doesn't compensate for shortcomings” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus to your Saves list
Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Onsillos Street, Larnaka, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Price doesn't compensate for shortcomings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Onisillos is a budget hotel so you shouldn't expect anything particularly flashy. However compared to hotels that we stayed in fortune same price range with the same two star rating this hotel fell short of expectations.

The good stuff first. The hotel has a great location. It is only a five minute walk to St Lazarus's church and an additional five minute walk to the main tourist strip and beach of Finikoudes. It is on a quiet street so you will get a good rest however the rooms near the very noisy elevator may suffer.

The room itself is a decent size. The bed is nothing to write home about, however, it is a budget hotel so no complaints. In terms of cleanliness the room left something to be desired. The carpet was stained and if vacuumed prior to our arrival was not done well. The bathroom was very small and probably had been cleaned with an equivalent amount of care as the carpet.

A couple of specifically annoying things include:
1) the shower curtain did not extend down to the floor. As such the floor got extremely wet when showering.
2) shower head did not stay pointed upward requiring you to shower with one hand holding the shower head
3) the bed sheets did not fit the bed. More specifically there was not fitted sheet on the bottom so part way through the night you were sleeping on the mattress directly

The service was fine, the staff at the check in desk were courteous. The wifi was fast, although only accessible in the lobby, not in the rooms. This hotel could easily have a higher rating with small changes I,e, ordering sheets the fit the bed and fixing the shower heads.

If you are looking for a good location and am not fussed by the room then this may be a decent option, however, I would stay elsewhere on my next visit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
11
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Odzak, Bosnia and Herzegovina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent hotel...I spend 15 days in Onisillos hotel in july 2014...I must share my impessions..Hotel is located on the best place in Larnaca,just 2 minute walking to the main street and beach...The most important thing for me was clean room...People who works there was very kind,specialy the owner, Mr Christos....I send greetings to all of them...Nice, comortable rooms, very kind stuff ,the best location...And also very reasonable price..I recomande this hotel to everybody and for sure, this hotel will be my choice on the next visiting Larnaca

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komotini, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Very beutiful hotel in Larnaca!!!We had great time in this hotel!Its location is perfect!!!The hotel is very clean with excellent hospitallity!!!The stuff is very kind and very helpfull!!!We love Cyprus!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very good location, city center. 5 min walking from the Finikoudes beach, only 3 min from Ermou street (shopping) and 3 min from historical city center. The most important is the friendly staff that help us with all our request. Ideal for young couples who want to explore Larnaca city!

В 5 мин, Набережная Ларнаки, усаженная финиковыми пальмами, рядом марина,кафе и перпендикулярно идут улочки с разнообразными магазинами и даже мастерскими, где работают интересные люди и делают интересные вещи.Персонал дружелюбный. Киприоты очень хорошо относятся к русским, всегда помогают и рады нам. Много ресторанчиков, в которых мы обедали и ужинали, кормят там на убой!

Room Tip: Rooms very quiet and clean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel look like an old one from the '50, and it has a magic groove. It seems to stau in the old Cyprus, and I defintiely felt good to stay in a hotel with a history, instead of this fake neon lights hotels of today.

Cyprus has no hostels, so I found the cheapest private room in the city, and Onisillos was a magicly empty hotel, in a nice position, since is 300 meters from the main church, Saint Lazar and 600 meters to the beach and so to all the main things u need in larnaka, bus stop to other cities included.

I hope for Onisillos to become soon open to the youg people and travellers, cause it has a great potential!

Anyway i was good and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piaseczno
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel isn't modern but for not fastidious travelers it is perfect option to stay. Hotel is located about 400-500m from fort, neighbourhood is friendly. Rooms are neat, equipped with aircondition. Good option is terrace situated in the roof of hotel building

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

I only stayed there for 3 hours, But it was long enough for me to be thoroughly disgusted. Asides from the rock hard beds that had stained covers there was no hot water, the shower did come complete with random insects including a cockroach. There were more roaches as time went on. The air conditioning and fridge were loud enough to wake the dead. The siding patio door and windows had no locks, and the area surrounding the hotel was very noisy. I could go on about this place but I'll just throw in a heads up about my suspicion towards prostitution in the area. In short don't stay here...ever, spend a little more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus

Address: 17 Onsillos Street, Larnaka, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Larnaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onisillos Hotel Larnaca Cyprus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.