We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic food - very filling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Militzis

Militzis
Piale pasha 42, Larnaka City 6029, Cyprus
00357 24 655867
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 229 Restaurants in Larnaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Authentic food - very filling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went on the recommendation of the receptionist at our hotel. The location is right on the seafront - I imagine it would be a great view in the summer, though it was dark in November. It is clearly a traditional Cypriot restaurant with a fairly small number of dishes cooked in clay ovens. The food was of high quality and very filling - the portions are large and mostly traditional 'meat, potatoes and vegetables' style. The decor is also traditional and waiters highly professional. It is a restaurant where, when we were there at least, the locals easily outnumbered the tourists which indicates the type of establishment it is - good value and welcoming.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    152
    59
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant Serving Fresh Traditional Cypriot Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is one of my favorite restaurants on the island. The food is always very fresh and of the same high standards every visit. Great place for traditional local food. I live in limassol and arrange to meet my friends for lunch here at least 3 to 4 times a year. The staff are very friendly and always willing to accommodate. I would definitely recommend this restaurant, well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Solid Cypriot food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Service was good. Food also good and portion large. Staff peak some English. Mostly meats. For seafood I prefer Stefanos further south down the road.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“When mood strikes for traditional Cyprus food...this is the place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Trying not to be biased, since on of the owners happens to be a very good friend of mine, I would really recommend Militzis as far as cypriot traditional food is concerned. I really enjoy lamb souvla ("arnisia") which is the best that I tasted anywhere. Really recommended when having foreigner friends over!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We discovered this restaurant on a daytime walk and asked to look at the menu after being intrigued by the outside oven. The owner came up and smiled and shook our hands and explained they use the oven to bake kleftiko and tavas, special Cypriot dishes that are slow cooked for 8 hours. He then insisted on giving us a sample of their couscous made with bulghar and spaghetti. It was tasty so we had to come back. Cypriot dessert was free and consited of honey soaked fruit, quince, fig and another fruit similar to grapefruit.

We ordered lamb kleftico, mixed tavas (pork and beef with potatoes, onion and carrot), village salad and couscous. The lamb shank was moist and flavorful. The accompanying potatoes were a bit bland. The tavas was a well seasoned stew and very tasty. The salad was typical but the side order of tadziki was wonderful and added a great deal of zest to everything. The complimentary bread was unusual and yummy.

Service was prompt and efficient without seeming rushed. Very warm and friendly place. Even though it is the busiest place we have eaten in Cyprus, it was intimate, almost like being invited into someone's home.

    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Militzis also viewed

Larnaka City, Larnaka District
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 
Larnaka City, Larnaka District
 

Been to Militzis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Militzis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.