We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Cypriot food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Militzis

Militzis
Piale pasha 42, Larnaka 6029, Cyprus
00357 24 655867
Update restaurant details
Ranked #13 of 180 restaurants in Larnaka
Price range: $13 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Solid Cypriot food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Service was good. Food also good and portion large. Staff peak some English. Mostly meats. For seafood I prefer Stefanos further south down the road.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    156
    89
    39
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“When mood strikes for traditional Cyprus food...this is the place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Trying not to be biased, since on of the owners happens to be a very good friend of mine, I would really recommend Militzis as far as cypriot traditional food is concerned. I really enjoy lamb souvla ("arnisia") which is the best that I tasted anywhere. Really recommended when having foreigner friends over!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great place, reasonable price, good house wine, daily menu with fresh local dishes.Ended up here 3 times, lovely food, great service and always seemed to get free dessert weather we asked it or no!We went in June and it was really busy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We discovered this restaurant on a daytime walk and asked to look at the menu after being intrigued by the outside oven. The owner came up and smiled and shook our hands and explained they use the oven to bake kleftiko and tavas, special Cypriot dishes that are slow cooked for 8 hours. He then insisted on giving us a sample of their couscous made with bulghar and spaghetti. It was tasty so we had to come back. Cypriot dessert was free and consited of honey soaked fruit, quince, fig and another fruit similar to grapefruit.

We ordered lamb kleftico, mixed tavas (pork and beef with potatoes, onion and carrot), village salad and couscous. The lamb shank was moist and flavorful. The accompanying potatoes were a bit bland. The tavas was a well seasoned stew and very tasty. The salad was typical but the side order of tadziki was wonderful and added a great deal of zest to everything. The complimentary bread was unusual and yummy.

Service was prompt and efficient without seeming rushed. Very warm and friendly place. Even though it is the busiest place we have eaten in Cyprus, it was intimate, almost like being invited into someone's home.

    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food but a lot...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Well, traditional tavern, well located you can walk there from the city centre a looooooot of food, be prepared to eat a lot, nothing else there to do (not much of a fun)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Militzis also viewed

Larnaka, Larnaka District
Larnaka, Larnaka District
 
Aradippou, Larnaka
Larnaka, Larnaka District
 

Been to Militzis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Militzis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.