We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A greater experience once again, cant wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oscar Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Oscar Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   16 Hasan Esat Isik Street, Kyrenia 00195, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Kyrenia
Dorset
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A greater experience once again, cant wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

From start to finish we were looked after with a feeling of warmth from all staff members. We got taken to our room straight away.Our rooms were imacculate and cleaned every day, we enjoyed having 2 flat screen tvs, while also loving the amazing views from the balcony. We stayed in the 5* apartments and was phenominal as only a quick walk to the clean pool and beautiful beach. At the pool it is was very chilled, it was great how the children had lots of games and activities to do, while the relaxing music was playing in the background for the adults. The pool bar staff were very helpful and friendly, and the food served couldnt have been better. During the day there is plenty of places around the complex to have quiet time if you want. The kids club was great day and night as the entertainment staff were always very caring and a pleasure to be around. There was a mini disco which was a very popular choice with the children and great to wacth from the outdoor ampi theatre overlooking the sea. They have a wide range of watersports to participate in and they were a good choice to make and definately recommened. Aqua slides were fantastic and will for sure bring family and friends for next time. Thankyou all staff you made our holiday unforgettable :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    158
    89
    42
    31
See reviews for
191
163
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is the best Holiday Hotel I have stayed in, we had a 5* family Apartment which gave us easy access to the pool & beach. The food in the Restaurant was excellent, we had planned to eat out a couple of times but changed our minds as the food choice was so good. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we look forward to returning next year.

Flack Family

Room Tip: If unhappy with your room speak to Guest Relations who are happy to help ensure you are completely h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Having read the many reviews on this property before leaving I was a bit apprehensive and upon arrival wondered how I was going to stick it for 14 days, especially as there were other guests complaining when checking in. However, we ended up having a good time. We stayed in the five star family rooms around the main pool which on the whole are very nice, except for the shower which leaked all over the floor every night. Thankfully Simon sent someone to seal it again and this helped greatly. I would wholeheartedly agree that the Staff are this Hotels greatest asset. They are so friendly from the main restaurant staff to those in the pool bar and of course Simon is brilliant sorting out all the problems. He must have the patience of a saint!! The main pool area is spoilt due to the excessive noise of the music every day, and there were complaints most days. This is not the place to read and snooze!! The entertainers are poor and some days they organised games but left to have coffee when the games started, The food isn't that bad but a childrens section would be good just for those of us who have fussy eaters. The one big problem with the hotel is that the communal areas like the lobby, restaurant etc have serious lack of air-conditioning which makes it impossible to sit there at night, which is a shame because there are lovely sofas and tables which could be used. Do not hire a car through Oscar Car Rental. This firm is nothing to do with the hotel and as others have said they will give you really old cars which would most definately fail the MOT here. Our car broke down on the beginning of the third day in 45 degree heat and we were only given the petrol money back. Thanks to Simon for helping us with this albeit outside his remit. This hotel could be a lot better if they refurbished some of the rooms and sorted out the air conditioning problem, and perhaps another pancake station and toaster.

Room Tip: Book the 5 star rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Just back on the 28th August from Oscars Resort & we had a fantastic time Staff could not do enough for us The reception even help book a round of golf & transport for us to get there. We stayed B&B which was enough for us as there are a few resturants around a fantastic Indian AL Sheem ( Just up the road ) great food & staff.
we will be back at the Oscars next year the lobby bar has a special mention from us the staff went out of there way theywere sofriendly & great company thanks to Sait, Adil & Vera we had a great time with you all. Joe & Karen Scotland August 2011

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I'm not sure this is a 4* hotel. From the minute we walked in, we were disappointed, from the unhelpful and rude reception, to the tacky, unclean rooms. We had some friends staying at the 5 star Cratos, and loved it there, that we ended up changing. Obviously there is a price difference, but was truly a completely different experience.
So below is a short breakdown:

Negatives:
1. Have to pay for Wi-Fi, which keeps disconnecting.
2. We asked for a double bed, but were given 2 singles. They claimed not to have any rooms left till the next day, so my wife and I had to sleep with the beds pushed together - UNCOMFORTABLE!
3. The A/C is a small unit, which does not work properly...we were sweating all night.
4. You have to pay to use the safe - never had to do this.
5. If we ask reception for anything, no one turns up! When they finally had a room with a double bed, they said someone would come up to help move our bags...NO ONE turned up. We had to do it ourself - one hour later!!
6. Breakfast is reasonable, but the dining area looks unappealing.
7. NEVER hire a car through OSCAR RESORT. we paid £25 for a suzuki soft-top. We got an old banger, with broken radio, car starts shaking after a certain speed and it had dents and scratches all over. When we complained to the car comapany the owner had a mental fit and started arguing. We argued back and got him to change the car, but again, its not what you expect. Unclean, scratches and old. Our friends hired one from outside the hotels and they got brand new cars for a better rate!
8. Pool restaurant food tasted stale..

Positives:
1. Pool was nice.
2. Beach was ok, but not the best. It's a man made beach.

I have stayed in many hotels around the world, and this is the worst 4 star rating i have seen. However, if price is the deciding factor, then this will do, as there are many more expensive hotels here..this was a decent price, but not what we expected.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed for 10 days in August as a family of four.

We had booked a 5 star family room but this was not available - this appeared to be happening to several holiday makers.

However the hotel did put us in one of the Kings Siutes. This was very large but a bit tired and dark.
The hotel told us that they could move us after 3 days but we decided to stay where we were.

The hotel is a three star but fine for that. It does need refurbishment and a bit of aircon in the reception/lobby would help.

The pools are fine but the one at the Vuni Palace (sister)is better. As others have said the staff are very good and thanks to Simon for his efforts in trying to move us.

A maiin letdown though is the website which makes the place look a lot better than it is - although I appreciate that that's what they are meant to do. There is no fitness suite and the indoor pool is shut.

Finally we would have used the Spa facilities but they were far too expensive- even our 15 vear old who was offerde a massge which he really wanted said no due to the price.

Overall an ok hotel with good staff which with more spent on could be a proper 4 star.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oscarresort, Guest Relations Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Thank you for your review and your compliments regarding the staff. They all work extremely hard to make Oscars a great family resort.
Simon (guest relation)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Our 7th trip to Oscars, and first review. Oscars has changed a lot since 1994!
The last couple of years particularly. Our family Villa room was outstanding, totally refurbished, air conditioning excellent. Staff in bars and restaurant always good and friendly. Swimming pool is clean, every day done! Amazing improvements on beach and surrounding areas. Importantly, free sun loungers!

Downside was the surrounding area around hotelstill not 'tidied up' but who spends time there anyway? Bits and pieces still to do, sure. But overall value is extraordinary. Eating out is good (single exception is eating on Harbour now, service and standard of food is down over the years while prices are up) everywhere else away from harbourside is still good value, including Kyrenia itself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyrenia
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 25 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#2 of 25 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
4.7 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#17 of 25 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
4.7 mi away
Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA
7.1 mi away
Merit Royal
Merit Royal
#3 of 25 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Resort Hotel

Address: 16 Hasan Esat Isik Street, Kyrenia 00195, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kyrenia
#5 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#5 Casino Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kyrenia
#7 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oscar Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oscar Resort Hotel is a 4 star resort located only 1.5Km away from Kyrenia town centre. Situated in the seaport of Northern Cyprus is Kyrenia. The hotel offers various types of accommodation to suite everyones needs. The resort gives you a choice of either single or double rooms in the main hotel, sea view gallery or studio club rooms or our brand new poolside luxury suites. All our rooms have balconies offering different views either sea, harbour or mountain. Standard hotel rooms are decorated brightly and tastefully, they all come with ensuite bathrooms, heat/cool air condition units, satellite t.V's, telephones, minibars and safety deposit boxes. Within the main hotel building we also have 8 Junior suites and 3 King suites both of which are very spacious and elegantly furnished, offering pure luxury and sophistication. All suites incorperate jacuzzi baths, separate lounge/dining area with large LCD satellite t.V's. King suites can comfortably accommodate families with it's interconnecting bedrooms. The hotel boasts 3 outdoor fresh water pools and a small indoor cold plunge pool which is located in the Spa & Wellness centre. The aqua pool provides hours of fun for the kids with 2 water flume fun slides and it doesn't stop there, the wave pool gives added enjoyment for all. The third and largest outdoor pool on the complex is surrounded by beautiful gardens and palmtrees, the ideal place to relax and let time pass by. There are two restaurants situated next to the pools serving delicious lunches, snacks and drinks all day. Evening entertainment is provided during the summer season in our Roman style amphitheatre. The hotel also has the benefit of it's very own private beach and jetty where you can find an variety of watersports available. Sunloungers including mattresses and umbrellas are all provided free of charge to hotel guests. Pool and Beach towels are provided free of charge however a small deposit is required. Other outdoor activities include a tennis court, table tennis, waterpolo, water aerobics, beach bowls and darts. Kid's club and entertainer (summer period). Another new facility is our Wellness Spa Centre which includes an indoor pool, Turkish baths, sauna, steam room and massage treatment rooms. The hotel runs a courtesy train service to and from the town centre 3 times a day, 6 days a week (except Sunday). Wi-fi Internet available (choice of tarrifs) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Oscar Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar Hotel Karakoumi
Oscar Resort Kyrenia
Oscar Hotel Kyrenia
Oscar Resort Hotel Cyprus/Kyrenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscar Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.