We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROCKS HOTEL KYRENIA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocks Hotel Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rocks Hotel Casino to your Saves list
Rocks Hotel Casino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Kordon Boyu Cad | Girne, Mersin 10, Kyrenia 93000, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Kyrenia
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ROCKS HOTEL KYRENIA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just had a lovely holiday at Rocks Hotel in Kyrenia.Super hotel,best locatin in Kyrenia.Very clean spacious Good choice of food and of good quality.Beautiful swimming pool and plenty of sun lounges.All in all a great hotel,can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    78
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
61
156
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

There are lots of goods things to say about this hotel: location is perfect, the rooms are rather nice, with huge comfy beds, the pool area is amazing, with soft double sunbeds and big, fancy swimming pool. However, even if it's very tempting, don't waste your money on cocktails, they're incredibly bad. Breakfast is really Huge, probably the biggest I've ever seen, and with rather good quality (stay away from the pastries though, they're awful).

Service is not surprisingly below average, cold and impersonal, and staff has very poor english skills.

However, even if the hotel looks very nice overall, scratching the surface reveals a badly maintained hotel (very approximate paint job on the walls, dust in the bathroom, to name a few details), with rather cheap materials and furniture. At 150€/night i still find this is a rather good value for Kyrenia, but it's nowhere near a 5* hotel as stated on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend on sea
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just stayed 1 night at the Rocks, it was lovely. Rooms not as good as expected, nice and clean but more like a 4*.
The thing that really let this hotel down was the pool staff, very rude and ignored English, was actually told to 'wait' when asking for a drink which we had already been waiting 30mins. This is a shame as the pool area is exceptional and made the whole stay outstanding.
The la Carte restaurant was superb with very a friendly helpful waiter. The prices are reasonable, very good value. I was expecting this to be overpriced but it certainly wasn’t.
A lovely hotel just needs some staff training in the pool area! Will go back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a disappointment. Northern Cyprus has the potential to be a fabulous destination but is let down ( like so many other places) by the abundance of rubbish everywhere, the dirty streets, the abundance of derelict or unfinished buildings. Anyhow some good bits.
The Rocks Hotel is a very well presented place to stay with big comfortable bedrooms, large public rooms; very attentive & helpful staff in all departments. The hotel also has a smallish pool area with loungers & umbrellas & a decked area by the deep & clean sea. There are three restaurants ( two @ extra cost with no allowance for your half board booking ) The main buffet had reasonable choice but was very repetitive, the cost of drinks very expensive in the hotel & by the pool ( £8 for a gin & tonic ) The Taxis were cheap & comfortable Mercs, the drivers chirpy & helpful, but all the destinations we visited were run down just like Girne itself. Apart from the abundance of smokey casinos there was nothing else to see or do unless you like looking at shop after shop of fake handbags & watches.
So not the hotels fault perhaps, but not for us.

Room Tip: don't open the windows / curtains, then you won't see the rubbish in the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located on the waterfront 5 min walk from the harbour and is well presented. The rooms are pretty average, not quite 5 star but the wifi in rooms and other facilities are as expected. Where this hotel really excels is the pool area and food. The pool area also leads to the sea for swimmin, towels provided and a large enough area to fulfil Oct guest levels, might struggle in peak. Towels are providd which is an added bonus! The service is what I would call 'island service' by that I mean so payed back its horizontal, if you're in a rush this is not the place to come (I found all the restaurants like this tho- it's an island thing!) the food menu is not too extensive but very well priced (i was expecting high prices due to the 5*) actually cheaper than some but better quality. I had the crab claws (13tl) and burrito (20tl) both exceptional. The casino is small and the lower end tables are predictably busy. Slots are Vegas style (bit boring for me!) oh and everything is in US dollars which I wasn't expecting. Overall I think this hotel just about scrapes into the 5* based on the food but rooms could be more special and service a little quicker!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have just returned from a wek at the Rocks and certainly enjoyed our stay. The Rocks is ideally situated on level walk to the Harbour. The welcome was excellent and the room spacious and well appointed. The buffett was the best we've ever experienced. Staff helpful. Pool area excellent.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor at the side of the hotel. Very quiet even though over the main entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is overlooking the sea and is made up by three buildings adjoining each other. This hotel was booked for us by The Colony Hotel as they were full and was to be for my family. The suite overlooked the sea and pool area and was real luxury. The large lounge bathroom and bedroom were just excellent. Service was faultless and the breakfast was extensive with everything that you could wish for. So far just wonderful. Now for the niggly bits. The pool area could only be accessed by crossing the busy one way street. The noise we found obtrusive especially from the lads with their big bore exhausts and thumping music which seemed to be going round the one way system once too often. We were then charged to enter the pool area only to be offered sun buds of a standard only to be found in a one star hotel. Not good. The supply of towels were plentiful. The waiter service was non existent round the pool although they did bring the drinks to us once we had gone to the pool bar to order. The pool area was not particularly clean with debris floating round the edge of the filter grills. The stench of cigarettes came from the numerous ashtrays which were all in need of emptying and a particular point had to be made to the staff to have them removed and emptied.
The fresh water pool area leading down to the sea water area was lovely.
Finally, we have no problem with a charge being made for this facility but the management should ensure that if 5 star charges are made the quality of 5 star should be maintained through out the hotel which includes the pool area.

Room Tip: All rooms will be good. We did not use the Spa and therefor not rated. If the pool area is sorted o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyrenia
3.4 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 25 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
5.8 mi away
Merit Royal
Merit Royal
#3 of 25 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arkin Colony Hotel
The Arkin Colony Hotel
#6 of 25 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#15 of 25 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocks Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocks Hotel Casino

Address: 102 Kordon Boyu Cad | Girne, Mersin 10, Kyrenia 93000, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#1 Casino Hotel in Kyrenia
#1 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rocks Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocks Hotel and Casino is an elegant and beautiful 5 Star Hotel right in the heart of Coastal Kyrenia. With its elegantly appointed rooms, warm and attentive staff,Exclusive Casino, spacious grounds and delicious International cusine, this will be a stay to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and cyprus paradise so you can book your Rocks Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocks Hotel Kyrenia
Rocks Hotel Casino Cyprus/Kyrenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocks Hotel Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.