We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooooo Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club Z

Save Saved
You added Hotel Club Z to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Club Z
Mustafa Cagatay Avenue, Kyrenia, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Kyrenia
Burntwood
1 review
“Sooooo Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Mr Huseyin, thank you to you and your family for another wonderful 10 day holiday.

We have recently retuned from 10 night stay in Studio 102. Over 10 years we have stayed 4 times at Club Z and always found it to be the most relaxing place on earth. How many pools do you get to yourself 70% of the time and are surounded by Banana, Lime & Avocado trees.

Club Z is very much a family run hotel and all the family are happy to chat, if you spare the time, as well as the reception staff. Huseyin (The Manager) and his Mother are always around the grounds and happy to chat and made us especially welcome with local gifts when they found we had got engaged there in 2003.

Talking to Huseyin we were told the Studios were due a refurb over Winter this year which can only make the experience better.

We stayed self catering and there are plenty of local shops (5 min walk) to fetch bread and sandwich filling for breakfast and lunch.

Kyrenia town is 10 min walk through winding side streets (Don't be affraid to explore!) where you find the town & Harbour restaurants. We chose to eat in the smaller side street local places for best value.

Club Z does not offer 5* luxury but it does offer total relaxation in bundles.

Room Tip: If you stay in a studio we recomend 102 or 105 as these have open balconies (No trees infront) and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    17
    9
    10
See reviews for
21
46
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

It is a nice hotel, in good location, with friendly staff with good knowledge about area. Good breakfast with lots to choose from. Breakfast area is next to the swimming pool with banana trees around. The room was big enough with balcony overlooking garden. It was very quite except the morning prayers of the hoca from mosque near by. The only letting down point is bathroom, the bath was blocked, water was splashing around, the towels were discasting. And there were small ants in the room, bathroom and breakfast room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A hotel with so much potential but let down by shoddy workmanship and uninterested staff.

Initial impressions were good. The main foyer seemed clean and well maintained with a nice airy feel, a good looking bar and intersting wall/ceiling frescos. I moved to the (seemingly) disorganised reception and as per previous comments, the staff looked bored, were not welcoming and generally unfriendly.

After check in i was led to my room. Think something out of the 70's...cheap and tacky and very badly finished. The shower pretty much leaked all it's water onto the floor, the towels smelled damp and unwashed, the carpet was filthy and stained. The outdoor patio area was overgrown and blocked out all light making it appear dark and gloomy all the time. I was not impressed.

Exploring around...the hotel swimming pool look dirty. The water had a green/milky look and did not look at all inviting (I did not swim). On the plus side, the on-site casino looked nice but i didn't go in as it looked full of scum bags! Oh....the tv in the room worked so that was nice!!

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

On a mini trip from Larnaca, booked through Late Rooms, costing 110 euros for 2 people for 2 nights, in the new part. Bathroom was first rate, beds comfortable, didn't bother with the tv.

Very nice pool and garden, hotel itself seemed quiet (but casino was booming), easy walk to the harbor.

Must mention the breakfast which would put a lot of more expensive hotels to shame - the usual continental cheeses, meat, tomatoes and cucumber, with the addition of cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit, cake, about eight kinds of jam, nice bread, scrambled eggs and omlettes to order; the coffee wasn't bad either, so not sure what a previous reviewer was expecting! Buffet lunch was also available in the casino (very tasty soup).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mersea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Clean, tidy, good value although breakfast a bit hit and miss. Not enough information on hotel as to where things can be found .Reception staff not very friendly and disinterested. It was easy to find. Lot's of nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: Not on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

For the price this hotel was okay. It's desperately in need of some renovation. Bath was cracked, room was generally tatty. Cleaning was a bit hit and miss, one day not cleaned, the next day it had been cleaned but no towels left in the room, all a bit annoying. Service was non existent, no pool bar, nobody serving in the hotel bar. The breakfast was the usual Turkish style, nothing to shout about, they would make you an omelette if there was anyone about to take your order. Tables weren't cleared or still covered in crumbs. The pool area was nice but umbrellas all in various states of disrepair, some completely broken so why keep them there? Overall it was just okay. Good location with just a 10 minute walk to town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my family for only a few hours as we needed somewhere to relax before an overnight ferry back across to turkey. Perhaps it should be converted to an apartment, even then there is still a lot of work to be done to make it average. It does not have the feel, cleanliness or standards of a hotel. My first thought on seeing the room was "I hope there are no bed bugs in here". The room was old, shower room wasn't entirely clean, the door needs oiling as its very noisy when you open it, the TV was about 2 inch in size and room was dark. The only positive was dinner, it was free. Although it was a basic buffet by a casino with lots of smokers.

I only booked this hotel because of its feedback but here again I learnt you have to read through every feedback to get a true feel for the place. My worst ever accommodation without exaggerating by a single stretch. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Club Z, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

In order to provide a balanced opinion on your experience I feel the need to respond.

You booked a triple room and wrote 2 adults and 2 children under the special request section. Our reservation team responded by clarifying the meaning fo a triple room (double and single bed) and recommending either a 2 bedroom self-catering mini-villa or two interconnected rooms. We did not receive any response from you and therefore we ensured that both types of accommodation was made available to you. On your arrival, you examined the self-catering mini-villa and decided to opt for this. That evening, your family had an evening meal without informing the reception and had breakfast the following morning. According to our observations, via our cameras, you and your family appeared content and enjoying your stay. The management made a decision not to charge you for the dinner and breakfast in order not to inconvenience you and your family.

I wished you had complaint to us at the time about the condition of the room and restaurant as our management is always very responsive and receptive to customer's satisfaction.

As a frequent worldwide traveller from Israel, I am bewildered to find that you did not appreciate the meaning of triple rooms, self-catering accommodation and the fact that dinner is not served for FREE in any type of accommodation (unless specifically booked and paid for).

I hope that your future holidays will leave you with more pleasant experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Club Z? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Z

Address: Mustafa Cagatay Avenue, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Club Z reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Kyrenia
Hotel Club Z Cyprus/Kyrenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club Z, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.