We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club Z

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Club Z to your Saves list
Hotel Club Z
Mustafa Cagatay Avenue, Kyrenia, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Kyrenia
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Lovely hotel, tranquil and great location

Great pool area, friendly staff.
8
Having just spent two weeks at Club Z I honestly can't see why people are complaining? The staff were always friendly and helpful. I had no problems communicating with them and only wish my Turkish was as good as their English. My room was clean and very adequate for my needs. If I had to find a fault I would say that some of the decor was getting a bit dated but that is taking a very critical approach. I'm surprised that Club Z isn't used by some of the bigger holiday companies in North Cyprus but that's their loss. Altogether I had an excellent time and look forward to returning there in the future.
Restaurant Tip: Turn left out of the back entrance walking away from town. At the Bektas supermarket turn right and you will find Iddaa 2 a little local restaurant. The owner always has a smile on his face and a welcome for everyone. He serves a selection of kebabs and fish, with each meal comes a complimentary mezze usually consisting of 5 dishes and flat bread. On one occasion I was treated to 10 dishes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    19
    13
    13
See reviews for
25
49
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Most hotels in North Cyprus are unfortunately on the pricey side.
This on the other hand is VERY REASONABLE. It is within easy walking distance to Girne harbour which has lots of cafes, bars, restaurants and history. If you want Beaches don't go to Girne because the nicest are in Magusa and Karpaz.
Anyway I stayed 8 nights in this Hotel with my fiance from the 18th October and although it rained (which we were told was very rare) the temperature was reaching 30 odd degrees everyday! The pool was big and clean and I was swimming with the whole pool to myself at 1pm!!! brilliant ...very quiet base with a good place to swim and the breakfast was very good...fruit grown on the premises made into jams!
Just remember this hotel is very very cheap 8 nights for about £350 b&b so don't expect luxury, but if you want a safe, clean, unintrusive base to explore the beautiful north cyprus and Girne (kyrenia) on a budget...LOOK NO FURTHER!

Room Tip: get out and explore!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel Club Z is located in the city center, but away from the sea. In the vicinity there is also restaurants and bars - you have to go for a 5 minute walk. Room was spacious, had a lovely terrace with a table. The bathroom was old but clean. The room had a fridge, a TV and a cabinet. The air conditioning worked very well, wireless internet was available and was free. The door of the room is very difficult to open up and be damaged. The hotel has a great pool with a springboard for jumping into the water. Next to the pool there is a restaurant, which in addition to breakfast was not open. The breakfast buffet was very varied and tasty and you could eat. There were the typical dishes of the local cuisine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It's a clean, basic hotel in a good location. Nothing special, but ok for the money you're paying. Decent breakfast, and very friendly and helpful reception staff. We got a room with two single beds, not a double bed, but for one night it was ok. I cannot say much about the pool as we didn't use it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in 4 hotels in Cyprus over a 10 day period, and this one probably had the best decor and pool, but was one of the most expensive.

Friendly reception staff at check in and manager spent time to talk about sightseeing, shopping etc in the vicinity which was very helpful. Room a decent size and clean. Breakfast good with a variety of interesting jams and eggs cooked to order. Location is ok, about 15 mins or so from old harbour, and 10 mins to roundabout with buses etc.

There are quite a few things to see in the area around Kyrenia, but we had only two nights, so another night would have been useful here. We did go to Heraclion castle which cost 60 TL by taxi return. We arrived from Nicosia which took about 30 mins on 4.5 TL bus.

We have recently returned from a trip to Bodrum, Selcuk and Istanbul and the prices in Kyrenia were far greater which was a bit offputting but still competetive compared to the UK.

Wifi is free in this hotel as you would expect.

Breakfast finishes at 10.30 am which was good for us, as we hate hotels with an early breakfast finish time.

Despite the large size of the pool they only had 32 sunbeds which was not enough to go round half the pool! They have far more than 16 rooms so this was very frustrating and must be a real problem in peak season. I made do on the floor, and my girlfriend pulled up a chair from the bar. Not ideal..

Bathroom looked good, but the shower screen wasnt really up to the job, a simple shower curtain would be better.

No shampoo provided which is unusual for this class of hotel, and lower class hotels in Cyprus did provide it.

The nearby mosque can be heard quite easily so ear plugs recommended.

Kyrenia is a lovely place in Cyprus, and I would recommend for 3 or 4 nights, but I would not want to stay at this hotel for a whole weeks holiday as not enough things to do in close proximity. (Pafos overwhelmingly gets the holiday vote…)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Me and my fiance stayed here for 2 nights. Very clean friendly hotel. Nothing special, just a standard simple hotel. Room was comfortable, clean and you get exactly what you paid for. Hotel in excellent location close to the town centre. Would be back for short stay as it was very cheap. All rooms have TV, AC, balcony

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the town centre and 10 minutes from the harbour. Friendly staff, clean room with kettle, TV and hair dryer. The swimming pool is lovely and very deep. Reasonable rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Club Z? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Z

Address: Mustafa Cagatay Avenue, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Club Z reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Kyrenia
Hotel Club Z Cyprus/Kyrenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club Z, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.