We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable budget hotel/resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club Z

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Club Z to your Saves list
Hotel Club Z
Mustafa Cagatay Avenue, Kyrenia, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Kyrenia
Israel
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Reasonable budget hotel/resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Club Z is quite a good budget choice in Kyrenia. Not fancy, it definitely has potential to improve but for the price (30 Eur a night in high season) you would be hard pushed to find better nearby.

On the plus side: all staff were friendly (even the night receptionist who spoke very little English). The hotel manager (very affable chap) made a point of meeting me and gave me a rundown on what to see and where to go. In terms of amenities, nothing was lacking - decent room, buffet breakfast, LCD TV, Nice swimming pool, parking on-site.

On the minus side, the rooms (well, my room at least) are not so well maintained. Although fairly spacious, there was a musty smell in the room, carpets looked old and in need of replacement. The wardrobe was nice and large, but looked flimsy and in danger of falling over. Also in the room was an armchair, a desk (with a stool that was completely unsuitable for the desk) and a large LCD TV (HDMI input - BBC world and CNBC on offer but rather grainy picture). No room safe. A/c worked fine (vital during the summer). There was also a kettle with cups (but no tea/coffee etc) and a minibar fridge.

There is also a small porch, but this faces into a rather dismal courtyard - not very inviting. Couple of broken plastic chairs on the porch.

The bathroom was fairly dark and a little cramped.

Wifi was available in the lobby and pool areas (~ 1mbps clocked), but not in the rooms, which was a pain. The pool is quite nice and seems well maintained - apparently in the winter there is another area (sauna/fitness) open.

Breakfast was served in the non-air conditioned dining room, which became quite hot. The buffet was not impressive - but did provide a basic start to the day.

There is also a small shop (groceries etc) on the premises.

Overall, Club Z is a good budget choice for Kyrenia - you probably get more bang for the buck here than at any of its competitors.

Room Tip: The balcony on a second floor room might be quite nice (ie not on the ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    19
    11
    13
See reviews for
24
49
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Location is great - half way (all walking distance) from the Kyrenia harbor and the center of town. I took a bungalow room, just off the pool. The place is simple, but with that said, it's very clean, great pool, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. I would definitely return and recommend. If you are looking for a "glitsy" casino type of hotel - this is not the place. But, if you are looking for cleanliness, good location and value for money - don't hesitate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

First thing you should decide when choosing a hotel in Kyrenia , is if you want to be in a walking distance from the city center or not. If the answer is yes, you don't have much choices ,in one hand you have more pricey hotels (Rock and The Colony) and in the other more reasonable prices like this hotel. Pia Bella will stand in the middle for the price ,but this hotel is 5 min. closer to the city center comparing to Pia Bella (it will take 10-15 min walk from this hotel to city center).
There is a cozy Casino adjacent to this hotel .Also a very good supermarket, two good restaurants(Mersin Tantuni and Molly's Place) and a money exchange in 5 min distance.

The hotel is in the middle of a garden with a nice pool within it . It has three kind of rooms : Self Catering Mini Villa which has 2 room upstairs (one with a double bed ,the other with two single) and two Sofa downstairs, suitable for up to five person . Unfortunately it has only one toilette and bath.It has basic catering facilities.Best for a family on a budget. They all view the pool and near it.Down stair were a good place for gathering with a dinner table and chairs.
There are also hotel rooms available, an old part with two and three single bedrooms and a newly refurbished part consisting of double or two single beds.The size of the rooms were fair but the bathrooms were small.
We had one double bedroom for my wife and I and one mini villa for our three adult sons.
The prices were 110 TL for double (BB) , 150 for triple(BB) and 170 (S/C) for Mini Villa (1 Sterling Pound = 2.8 TL- 1 US Dollars = 1.8 TL).

All of us had a very pleasant stay in this hotel, we rest in our rooms and our sons enjoyed being with each other in their mini Villa. All the staff were very friendly , helpful and kind . I had a very good experience booking on-line ( email address : contact@hotelclubz.com and website : www.hotelclubz.com) , changed our rooms three or four times without a hassle and always with smiles . The A/C worked well in all rooms . Kettle in all rooms but Internet only in lobby.

There were some downfalls , I can not say it is spotlessly clean , you can expect some house fly in rooms or even see a cockroach as it is actually within a garden , some water pouring out of the shower and difficulties with some water tabs ,etc. It is not suitable for wheelchairs.Very basic breakfast and not very good foods in the restaurant.

Conclusion : It is very good for the price but fine tune your expectations.

Do not forget to see the pictures I have taken .

Room Tip: "Book a room in the newer part of the hotel if need a double room, change it if you don't l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Episkopi, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

If this was a €100 per night hotel I'd be a bit disappointed but we paid €17 each and were very happy. Service good, location good (10 minute walk into the main drag), clean, tidy and just a nice hotel - amazing for the price actually. A friend booked it on-line so we didn't know what to expect and were really chuffed with it all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

This is a smallish hotel and was not too busy during my stay. Bedroom was perfectly fine for me. Size was great, air con worked perfectly. Both bathroom and bedroom cleaned everyday by very friendly cleaners. Pool looked lovely but was a little too cold for me to go in. Had a small problem with the toilet flushing but was sorted straight away. Excellent value for money. I am back in kyrenia in July and will definitely be using this hotel again. Miss Orton

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Booked whilst in South Cyprus for a last minute 2 night break; got a good deal direct with hotel web site. Had a 2 storey open plan apartment with patio, bathroom, kitchen/lounge & upstairs open plan bedroom with balcony. Space good, shower/hot water good but decor/kitchen fittings very basic (but then we didn't pay much!).

Was pleased to find that price included breakfast. Apart from weak orange juice drink breakfast good (within limitations of Turkish breakfast). Reception & breakfast staff efficient & pleasant.
Free wifi in vicinity of reception/lounge covered terrace.
Very quiet in terms of not very busy & away from the road so quiet for sleeping.
Good position - could easily walk to old centre & close to good back street restaurants (recommend No. 14).

Room Tip: We had room 102 & it was fine. Not suitable for babies/toddlers because of open plan nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We love to have the feeling of local food, local people, local flora; local culture. On the other hand when we travel with the kids, I have to be in a safe, easy to travel hotels. Club Z is the perfect place to put together these values. We tasted local home made jams, cheese and pastries. We definitely will go back !

Room Tip: Room at the end of the corridor over restaurant facing the pool was excellent (newly renovated).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Club Z? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Z

Address: Mustafa Cagatay Avenue, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Club Z reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
z Hotel Kyrenia
Hotel Club Z Cyprus/Kyrenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club Z, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.