We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good safe bet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Onar Holiday Village

Save Saved
You added Onar Holiday Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Onar Holiday Village
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 736 | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in Kyrenia
Kent
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good safe bet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel was part of a site seeing deal with a well known travel company. It is a good choice although I would not enthuse as much as some reviewers.
When we arrived after a late departure from Heathrow the welcome was muted and no cold plate/sandwich was available despite dinner being included that night-a really good hotel would have held something for us. The service on an evening was good and attentive.
The rooms were adequate, simple and comfortable and as well as a splendid view of the motorway we could also glimpse the sea from our room. The bathroom was very good, spacious and well equipped.
The maid kept the room spotless and clean towels and shower gel were provided each day.
Breakfast was ok-all we need is a bit of toast and some yoghurt. Fruit was very limited yet grapes, figs etc are all in season-chopped apple gets monotonous-they should visit the market where fruit and veg are abundant.
The set evening meals were good, freshly prepared and choice of 2 dishes, although for the money we paid for this tour I did think a la carte could have been an optiion on at least one occasion perhaps when we were taken down to the sister restaurant in Kyrenia where guess what? another set meal and no choice of mains this time-an unknown fish, greyish white with lemon sauce and rice-ok but a missed opportunity to treat us to something a bit special.
The real drawback of staying in this hotel is that it is surrounded by roads, the noise was not a problem but it is impossible to walk into Kyrenia.
Overall a good comfortable hotel worth a visit but not sure I would rush back.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor in the "newer block" where we were told the rooms have been refur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    56
    25
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
60
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I arrived in cyprus on chilly windy night and was welcomed by slight rain showers right after a Bus dropped me by the road side ,I was afraid cos this was my first international tour and that toon an island ! althought my tour was spritual but it was made even more beautiful by my stay at onarvillage...it was a dream placeto stay...excellent staff! helpful and cheerful ....
Oh! dont forget to grab that cute beautiful cat with the color of a cappicino......I willkeep coming back 2 this place....loved it ! it holds a specialplacein my heart...gr8 interiors and the pool side is just awesome. I had a room with the view of sea, gardens and in a distance i could the flag of TRNC flattering on a cliff...wow! its scenic and the best hotel i have ever stayed....! thumps up for onar village

Room Tip: if u r a nature lovers...this is just the right place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Agnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

just arrived home after 10days at the village,well impressed helpful staff, great position a view to die for!!!!,stayed in a villa very comfortable,only reason for not top rate breakfast a bit repeatative but will return,thanks to all at the village....

Room Tip: go for a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nothing much to add to the other reviews. Pleasantly surprised by this hotel as I had not looked it up before hand and it was part of a walking holiday package. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly. Breakfast was poor and never changed. The location is a short taxi ride to Kyrenia. Pity about the dual carriage way at the bottom of the hotel that stops you going anywhere without a car but we managed ok. If I was going back to North Cyprus would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from this beautiful hotel once again. We cannot recommend it highly enough. It must be 19/20 years now since it opened and we have returned every year since. Onar Village just keeps on getting better each year. It is charming, relaxing and immaculately clean in all departments. The bedrooms are very clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast which is served on the terrace is a typical Cypriot breakfast which is fresh with plenty of choice.

Onar Village is family owned and managed personally on a daily basis. The staff are friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. This is the perfect place to enjoy a peaceful, quiet and relaxing holiday to recharge the batteries before returning to the stress of work and lifestyle.

The swimming pool is cleaned every morning before use and the gardens and grounds are regularly treated so there are no nasty bugs or mosquitos to bother you. The only insects are the beautiful white butterflies and pretty pink dragonflies.

There is nothing better than sitting on the hotel terrace in the evening watching the gorgeous sunset before setting off for dinner at the hotel's sister restaurant Cafe Chimera in Kyrenia harbour. Cafe Chimera serves delicious a la carte meals, all freshly prepared. Kyrenia Harbour is only minutes away by car or taxi.

Our fellow guests are always lovely people to share your holiday with and I'm always reduced to tears when it is time to leave!!

We will definately be returning next June, but this time for 3 weeks!

Don't miss out on this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: We always stay in the old building because the viewto the sea is fantastic. Although the new build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent a week here in June and were very impressed. The staff are friendly and very helpful, they also enjoy a laugh when they get to know you. The place was clean and well presented but not too formal. Breakfast was adequate although there could have been more choice. We ate evening meal here on one night and I just happened to mention to one of the waiters at breakfast that I liked halloumi cheese, and there it was, especially prepared for me for my evening meal. The view is spectacular, looking over the town below. The one slight downside is that you cannot walk into town in the evenings although the taxis were reliable and approx £4. Try the tandem paragliding, available to book in town, for excellent views and a great experience. Would go back to the Onar Village in a flash.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at The Onar Village hotel and were just so impressed with the place we intend going back. The staff were a little hard to talk to at first but once they got used to having us around they opened up a little more and the banter was great. We chose a room instead of a villa and was impressed with the decor which wasn't too over powering as some hotels are. The beds were hard which wasnt a problem, with plenty of pillows available if need. The Air Con gave a bit of a worry as it was more of a breeze coming out but after a few hours the room was ice cold compared to heat of outside. the pool although on the small side was ample enough for the few that were staying. the surrounding pool side sunbeds were plush and very comfortable with massive umbrellas to shade you from the sun. Then the view! wow! the best part of the whole stay. from our room or at the edge of the pool you can look down and view the whole of Kyrenia and up and down the coast. The food was continental style and to a fixed menu. Nothing outstanding, pretty straight forward but the service was good and quick. It was a pleasant change to have a the hotel recommend places to eat in Kyrenia and not keep you at the hotel. All in all we loved the stay.

Room Tip: We choose a room which faced the pool. Amazing views from the window/balcony. There are also Villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Onar Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onar Holiday Village

Address: PO Box 736 | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Onar Holiday Village 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onar Village...more than just a place to stay...Hotel Rooms and Villas available in this wonderful hillside resort.Indoor Pool,Sauna,Turkish Bath, Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Onar Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onar Holiday Village Kyrenia
Onar Holiday Village Cyprus/Kyrenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onar Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.