We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view from rooftop swimming pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ecevit Caddesi Girne - TRNC | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Kyrenia
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great view from rooftop swimming pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Everything was good apart from the buffet breakfast, which we were disappointed about as the warm food often were cold. 3 min eggs too running. Swimming pool area the best part of the hotel with great sea view. Food at the Misty Bar was good but bar staff needs training in making proper cocktails. All staff very pleasant and friendly. TV channels and pay-per-view is good. Would probably come back, mainly because of the pool

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay at The Colony hotel and for taking the time to write an review on Trip Advisor.

Your comments are greatly appreciated by us and we hope to see you again next year.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    68
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
32
145
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The views from this roof bar are beautiful and worth going for that reason, however the drink are expensive, service poor and the this is the only place in TRNC where I have been ripped off. We were a large party and they were trying to make as much money as they could out of us; things like, ordering 2 cans of coke in pint glass, the staff only put one and a small amount in, charged for 2 and used the remainder that we had paid for as mixers in other drinks, why not just give the can to top up?
Also walking through the lobby to the lifts to reach the bar, I don't know if it is the air con or whatever, but it smells damp and sort of musty, going on my experience here I would definitely NOT book a stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are sorry that you had some bad experiences with certain parts of your visit with us.
We pride ourselves on our quality of service and are always disappointed when a guest leaves unhappy.
We feel that the price of our food and drink are reasonably priced in comparison to other 5 star hotels in Turkey and Europe.
Most of our guests are very happy with the 5 star service and facilities which we offer, as you will see from many of the other reviews.
We hope that the points you mentioned will not deter you from visiting us again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night to celebrate our wedding anniversary on Sunday 4th August. We arrived and were greeted by a friendly and efficient receptionist. We entered our cool stylish room and found complimentary fruit for our wedding anniversary- a nice touch. The whole hotel was perfect. The rooms were immaculately clean. The pool on the roof terrace was amazing with gorgeous comfortable sun beds. We enjoyed cocktails on the roof terrace before our evening meal- it was a perfect stay. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone wanting a 5 star hotel experience. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Colony hotel.

We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a positive review of our hotel on Trip Advisor specifically our staff, guest rooms, pool and terracce.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we hope to see you soon.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We usually stay for one night in the Colony before we take over our villa for two weeks in June. We relax as soon as we step inside the airconditioned lobby, a friendly receptionist deals with our book whilst a helpful porter loads the bags ready to take them to a lovely room. The roof terrace pool and bar areas provide a welcome oasis from the June sunshine, great views and a gentle breeze. The hotel is convieniently positioned near to the harbour and the shops, our stay here sets the pace for our holiday and we look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at The Colony hotel.
We very much appreciate your positive comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Colony hotel in the future.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We transfered to here from Arkin Palm Beach Famagusta, for our second weeks holiday.
Direct Traveller arranged our holiday at both hotels, and their service is excellent, from booking it, to landing in Cyprus, to going home.
As soon as we checked in the Manager was in the vicinity, and recognised us from previous visits, and came over to greet us.
We also received a platter of fruit in our room, together with a welcome letter for our return visit.
The staff are very attentive, and helped me with my Turkish which improved greatly during my stay.
The hotel rooms are excellent, as always with plenty of room, and very cool with Air Conditioning, a must in July. The Maids are very good at keeping the rooms spotless, as is the whole of the hotel.
We had a balcony at the front of the hotel which keeps me amused for hours watching the car wash, with fantastic cars being valeted, form Fords to Bentleys!!! Also the antics of the Bus stop for travel to Lapta and Ercan Airport, Turkish people do not travel light. I also sit reading there in the comfortable chairs.
My favourite soup is Lentil, and the chefs were only too pleased to grant my request for this delicious soup. Food is excellent, and something for all tastes. I did really enjoy it more on one evening, when there was a function on the roof, we ate inside, and the food was warmer and the fare included Turkey Curry, Swordfish, and deserts to die for.
Peace and Freedom Day took place on Saturday 20th July, and the Turkish equivalent of the Red Arrows put on a brilliant display over the Harbour, and of course we had a great view from the roof top swimming pool vista.
On our last day we were very sad to leave, especially when the Manager came over to shake our hands, and stated we were always welcome to our second home.

Room Tip: The second floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Colony hotel.
We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a positive review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we hope to see you soon in your second home.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here in June for a long weekend and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.
It is well situated just away from the town centre within easy walking distance of the shops, the harbour and the many well priced restaurants. A particular asset is the rooftop terrace and pool. The swimming opportunities are limited in this part of the island and the rooftop pool here is really pleasant and has a cool breeze when the town can be pretty hot in the summer months. You can have lunch up there too which we did every day. The breakfast there is probably better than any other hotel that I have stayed in- particularly the fresh fruit.
All of the staff were charming and all went out of their way to help in every way they could.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Colony hotel.
We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a positive review of our hotel on Trip Advisor specifically our staff, terrace, food and location.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aktau, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I do not believe there is any point in just praising hotels in these reviews; if you only want to hear the good stuff then go to the hotel web site! So..:

This is a reasonable hotel and the staff are extremely helpful. The pool on the roof is lovely and the prices expensive but bearable at the bar. If you have business in the town, as I did, then there is no better hotel and you will not need a car.
Breakfast is quite good and a few changes made everyday. They did though, fail badly on day 2 when they substituted fresh orange juice for some disgusting sweet powdered concentrate of some kind. The coffee at breakfast is pretty awful.
It is beyond ridiculous that the hotel provides one free 33ml bottles of water per person only on day one of a stay and have a blanket ban on bringing drinks in from outside. Thus, if you paid attention to this ban you would then be forced to take water from the minibar from second day onwards! I have never come across this level of meaness even in cheap hotels (which this is not!). OK, it is a realtiviely small sum of money but effectively they are charging more for each night beyond the first night!!
The AC in the room is really noisy and you will need to set it low or high to make sure it does not keep waking you up each time it comes on and off!

Room Tip: You simply must try to get a second floor room with balcony! These rooms have a real feeling of gra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write an review of our hotel.
As you say the walk from the hotel to the old town is between 5-10 minutes. It is a very pleasant walk next to the sea and the harbour, alternatively just a short and affordable taxi journey away.
Your comments regarding our service,food, rooms are greatly appreciated by all members of staff and make us very proud.

We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel

Address: Ecevit Caddesi Girne - TRNC | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kyrenia
#2 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Kyrenia the The Colony Hotel lies between the mountains of North Cyprus and the timeless blue Mediterranean Sea. Architecturally blending the colonial style of the island's past with the glory of the Ottoman era, The Colony is a haven of tranquillity and opulence amidst the bustle of this busy town and harbour. With a total of 94 rooms and suites The Colony is justly proud of its reputation for stylish elegance and comfort in its surroundings, and attention to detail in its customer care. To stay at the Colony Hotel is to experience something special in the world of hospitality, and you know you deserve it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel Cyprus/Kyrenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.