We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hotel worth staying at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ecevit Caddesi Girne - TRNC | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Kyrenia
Enfield England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a hotel worth staying at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Today returned from a stay at the Colony Hotel Kyrenia. Saw the trip advisor award proudly displayed there. I can only say I would agree its staff are very helpful whether it be with suggestions for places to visit or just answering queries. We felt we had a problem with the noise level of this hotel on the Saturday night of our stay. A private party was being hosted in the 4th floor restaurant/bar. The noise was to us unbearable. HOWEVER when we complained the Manager handled our complaint in an exemplary manner.
We would have no hesitation in staying there again and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: check if party being hosted on a satuday night and request a quite room, if this is confirmed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Colony hotel.
Your kind words regarding our staff and service is much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    85
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
40
163
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We e-mailed the hotel directly and got a rate of €100 per night, B&B in one of their standard club rooms (it would have been €130 with dinner added) We booked in for 2 nights.
We were allocated room 105, which is at the front of the hotel, with a small balcony, overlooking the petrol station - none of which was a problem, when the patio doors are shut and the thick curtains are drawn, there isn`t very much noise even though it`s a main road. The sun streaming into the bedroom was lovely on a chilly February morning.
The public areas of the hotel are lovely, airy and fresh and what we would expect of a 5 star hotel. The staff are helpful and friendly and there are plenty of them around when you need them. The spa area is lovely, with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi included in the room rate. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of fresh fruit, bread, meats or scrambled egg, bacon and sausage. I`m sure everyone could find something there. The blackcurrant yoghurt was particularly delicious. We were delighted when on my husband`s Birthday, two members of staff turned up at the room with a birthday cake for him ! Those are the kinds of touches that make us want to return.
If I wanted to be overly picky - there was a hole in the door that had been bodged over and painted and one of the bedside lights only worked when the hallway light was on, and there was only a shower mixer tap over the bath, which both myself and hubby had trouble getting to the right temperature and we ordered a sandwich at the roof top bar and goodness knows what was in it, but it wasn`t what we ordered and finally, we had to have our room entry cards re-swiped twice by reception as they wouldn`t work.
I also wish they would supply tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, I know there is room service, but it`s nice to make your own cuppa when you wake up, or a nice cup of tea before bed. They could charge me extra for it - but I like to make it myself !
We would definitely return, hopefully in the summer to make the most of the rooftop bar and pool.

Room Tip: Room 105 was at the front, (beside the flagpoles) with a small balcony, and was sunny in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Colony Hotel.
We appreciate your time and the positive remarks you have written on Trip Advisor regarding our hotel and staff. Comments like these always make us proud of the work we do and our guest’s feedback is always so important to us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We all know that a good massage given by experienced hands is the full stop of a stressful day. I can't afford a weekly massage but I try my best to have one once a month. I try different spas just to see where I can get the best massage in Cyprus.
I tried Colony Hotel Spa a couple days ago. The lady who gave me the massage was really good. But the atmosphere was not appealing at all. Normally I go an hour before the appointment time to use the facilities like the sauna and steam room. Or drinking herbal tea, relaxing on the beds. In short to enjoy the atmosphere in the candle lights to help me relax.
Unfortunately Colony Hotel Spa has no atmosphere at all. The massage room was just ordinary. It had no special effects at all. It was also cold in every sense. They didnt even turn on the airconditioner. At that moment I thanked myself for not feeling like using the sauna and the steam room and taking a shower before the massage. Otherwise I would freeze in the massage room. The music they chose during the massage was not suitable either. They put the cd of Pavarrotti which made my heart beats change all the time according to the rythm of the songs. You need a smooth music during the massage. Your heart beats shouldnt change.
When the massage finished, I left the spa without taking a shower. I didnt feel like it. I just wanted to leave.
Colony Hotel Spa needs an experienced spa manager. Other wise it will never appeal to any one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony h, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind interest in our hotel. We appreciate your positive comment regarding our personnel.

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy some aspects of your visit here at The Colony Spa. Most of our guests are very happy with the 5 star service and facilities which we offer, as you will see from many of the other reviews.

We hope that the points you mentioned will not deter you from visiting us again. We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISRAEL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Tried Moussaka twice but eggplant was raw then mixed grill was an old reheated overcooked disaster.The Casino staff was accommodating and relaxing.Lobby bar was exceptional.
...........................................................................................................................................

Room Tip: 2nd floor near casino very convenient. far from elevator and lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony H, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest;

Firstly, thank you for having chosen The Colony hotel and taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you had some bad experiences with the food which made in our Casino kitchen. We pride ourselves on our quality of service and are always disappointed when a guest leaves unhappy. We appreciate your comments and they have all been taken on board and will be discussed with casino management.

Sincerely ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hotel pool was a great relaxing place to be. situated on the roof with a bar service and cooloing breeze. The spar and gym area also boasted massage, sauna and jacuzzi facilities.
The breakfast was a self service affair but the selection was second to none with very attentive staff.
The rooms were very clean and well appointed, all maids very friendly and helpfull.
On room selection they are not the best for views unless on the upper floors, however selecting an upper floor could lead to noise from the occasional weding party on the roof terrace, the front of the hotel face a petrol station our room was to the rear facing the hills in land.
Lots of little shops to browse arround and plenty of places to eat. The place we would recomend was across the road from the Colony called The House.
The harbour side was vey picturesque but a more expensive place to sit and eat.
The village its self is not a beach holiday but we were more than satisfied with the pool at the hotel.
All in all we had a lovely holiday, we do not go back to places as a rule but this may well get a second visit.

Room Tip: On room selection they are not the best for views unless on the upper floors, however selecting an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony h, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Colony Hotel and taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Your kind words regarding our staff and service is much appreciated.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lovely hotel. It's the things you don't need to do that make it so good. IE: The light bulbs and door locks and remote controls and safes and batteries and curtains always do what they're supposed to. You don't spend time at reception explaining that they don't work. There are plenty of coathangers, pillows, blankets, slippers, dressing gowns etc; The maids don't wake you up before dawn to clean the room. The toiletries are replaced as you use them. Breakfast is always there and good. Staff everywhere lovely. Helpful and informative. No stress. That's what I want.
We were booked in in record time. Bags in the room straight away. Room lovely with good lighting plenty of space (as usual), we were lucky enough to get a balcony (again) too. Not sure how I would be without one. We love the morning sun and people watching from the balcony.
The location is superb. Very stylish hotel. Unlike the sister hotel at Palm Beach the casino doesn't interfere with the hotel and there's lots of internal amenity space.
Had a couple of evening buffet meals. Nothing wrong with them. Suits us fine.
If I could plonk it on the beach I'd live there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony h, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely thoughts on our hotel.

We are extremely happy and proud that you enjoyed your stay with us.

All of your comments are greatly valued by us and we hope to see you again in the future at The Colony Hotel.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Having just returned from 7 Great days in Kyrenia, at the Colony Hotel , go there its lovely , great rooms, great service, good food , and the view from the pool is to die for . 41 YEARS since our last visit to Kyrenia , it is still just as good but bigger.

Room Tip: Have a balcony for the fun of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony h, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Colony hotel.
Your kind words regarding our staff, service and food is much appreciated.
Comments like these always make us proud of the work we do and our guest’s feedback is always so important to us.

We will be glad to welcome you back and look forward to seeing you again this year.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel

Address: Ecevit Caddesi Girne - TRNC | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kyrenia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
#4 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Kyrenia the The Colony Hotel lies between the mountains of North Cyprus and the timeless blue Mediterranean Sea. Architecturally blending the colonial style of the island's past with the glory of the Ottoman era, The Colony is a haven of tranquillity and opulence amidst the bustle of this busy town and harbour. With a total of 94 rooms and suites The Colony is justly proud of its reputation for stylish elegance and comfort in its surroundings, and attention to detail in its customer care. To stay at the Colony Hotel is to experience something special in the world of hospitality, and you know you deserve it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel Cyprus/Kyrenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.