We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ecevit Caddesi Girne - TRNC | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Kyrenia
Jarrow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just got back from a week at the Colony Hotel. Very nice hotel, very clean, and stylish. Staff friendly and attentive. Rooms spacious and well equipped. Roof, with bar, pool & restaurant very good, nice views. But it is not a hotel to go to if you like to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view, building site at one side, garage to the front. Didn't spoil our stay. But we were not happy with their policy on not allowing you to taking water into the hotel, petty we thought. We would still go back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony h, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your interest in our hotel.
It is a pleasure to read your comments. We also appreciate your time that you spent writing down your comments on Trip Advisor. All the opinions and comments are valuable for us especially about bringing water from outside. Our hotel's policy is to take care of our guests and we do not allow a drink or food from outside.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel in the future.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    78
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
38
158
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Colony and were extremely impressed with the hotel and its facilities. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and the internal architecture and decoration was first class. We had a second floor room with a large balcony and faced the famous petrol station and main road but this to us was not a problem. In fact there was a small benefit in that it faced East and therefore got the morning sun and not the very hot sun in the afternoon and early evening. There was an abundant choice for breakfast and the main meals we ate in the roof top and main restaurant were excellent. I was also surprised that there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room but had cheated and took our own. We hired a car and were always fortunate to be able to park at the rear of the hotel. One comment which has nothing to do with the hotel, is that the highways department could do well to splash out on some road direction signs to places and sights of historical interest. A thoroughly enjoyable stay at the hotel and Northern Cyprus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony h, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all thank you for your time that you spent writing down your comments on TripAdvisor.
These comments are always helpful and valuable for us for that we pay a great attention.
Your positive point of view to different topics such as view from rooms and food variety is appreciated.
Kindly note that we are working on providing coffee&tea making facilities in guest rooms.
Thank you one more time to choose The Colony Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We are just back from 10 days at the colony.The hotel decor ir lovely.The hotel is spotlessly clean.The staff are all so attentive and really helpful.We had a room on the second floor at the front. These are large rooms with very big balconiies. The down side is they face the petrol station and the main road. I must say I did not find the road noisy at night once the doors are closed.The beds are really comfortable. Plenty of space for clothes etc. The bathroom is really nice a really deep bath and a shower. Plenty of toiletires, shoer gel, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. replenished daily.Lovely thick large bath sheets. Bathrobes and slippers.
Our friends had a room on the second floor at the dise. The room was very much the same a little smaller and a small balcony facing a part constructed building. These balconies vere better as they were private. The ones on the front have only a small wall seperating them
The breakfast was dissapointing. I had read where you could get a full english breakfast.They have stopped this now and you have to pay extra for this.Plenty of cereal, fruit yoguart and pasrties. The cook food was a bit hit and miss. The food was spoilt by the cold plates and the slightly warm food.
As mentioned on TA no tea / coffee amking facilities in the rooms.
The biggest thing and all the guests did not like the ruel about not bringing your own water in.You need a cloth bag if you are seen with a supermarket bag they take it off you.There is a note saying they will charge you hotel prices for all food and drink brought in.
The other thing was the drinks are expensive except at happyy hour. This means the hotel is almost empty at night with no atmosphere. If the drinks were a little cheaper I think more people would eat and rink in the hotel.
The hotel say you get a turn down service. We only had this about 3 nights.They are suppose to change the towels at that time. Quite a few people were complaining that unless you asked you did not get the service.A five star hotel should have consistance with the service.
The roof top pool is very nice and the beds are the most comfy I have ever had at a pool. Plenty of towels for use in the pool and the spa.
The spa is very good very relaxing very good steam room and relaxing area with beds and all in candlelight.
All in all we enjoyed the stay at the colony.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have stayed at the Colony Hotel twice now. I do appreciate the location & the standard of the hotel but they have obsurd rules about bringing one's own water to the room! The day of arrival I was very dehydrated & they told me they would have to charge me 'minibar price' for a bottle of drinking water! this would not be quite as appaulling if there were coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms, but NO! not a kettle in sight which is disappointing in a hotel which caters to plenty of Brits! I was forced to petty crime sneaking in water! They insisted the room service would be happy to bring me water, but there is NO substitute for freshly boiled water for tea! Also, they would bring a small pot, hardly enough for 2 cups! this ridiculous scenario went on for the week & I was pleased to leave! The room was nice, firm mattress & decent TV channels, but I see no reason why I had to go without a very simple comfort!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony h, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your interest in our hotel.
It is a pleasure to read your comments. We also appreciate your time that you spent writing down your comments on Trip Advisor. All the opinions and comments here are valuable for us.
Kindly be informed that the reason why we do not allow any drinks or food from outside is the health of our guests. On the other hand, bringing only water will be allowed that we had same requests from other guests. We are also working on providing tea&coffee making facilities in guest rooms.
Thank you one more time for your valuable comments, we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in the future.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located smack bang in the middle of Kyrenia old town, within a short stroll down to the harbour. The downside is that it is located on a main road in to town and has no outside space other than the rooftop terrace. That being said, the rooftop terrace is lovely and does make up for the lack of any gardens, and includes a decent sized pool, and the most comfortable sun lounger I have ever laid upon! The rest of the hotel is lovely and has been well thought out, maintained and decorated - from the reception to the bar to the restaurants.

We had a room of the third floor at the front of the hotel. The room was large, well appointed and very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a decent size with a good shower too. There was plenty of cupboard and drawer space for two people. The only real criticism that we have (it's been mentioned before on TA) is that the road can be noisy and the rooms at the front do overlook a petrol garage. To be fair though, you'll realise that views from anywhere in Northern Cyprus are often hindered or hampered - it just seems to be the way here.

The spa is included in the cost of staying at this hotel and includes a gym, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and chill out area. The only extras are the sunbed and any treatments you might select - all of which appear to be reasonably priced.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel and so can't comment on lunch or dinner, although the hotel restaurant does seem to bring in non-residents. The one big comment is that an awful lot of reviews on TA about this hotel have raved on about the breakfast being "amazing". It's okay and what I would reasonably expect from a 5* hotel. That being said, there was often food served at breakfast that had clearly been leftover from the evening buffet the night before. I would therefore rate it at 7 out of 10.

If you hire a car then you can park behind the hotel, but there are only about 20 spaces and so at peak, you may need to park in a public car park about 1 minute walk away.

All in all a very good hotel, well appointed, well maintained, clean, comfortable and with very friendly and attentive staff. I would recommend staying here. Compared to The Rocks and Pia Bella this place does tip the balance in it's favour, due to location, facilities and quality.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel do get traffic noise. Ideally you want rooms facing the rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony h, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your interest in our hotel.
It is a pleasure to read your comments. We also appreciate your time that you spent writing down your comments on Trip Advisor. All the opinions and comments here are valuable for us.
We appreciate your detailed explanations of our hotel from different areas. Hopefully you will have dinner at least one time with us on you next visit.
Kindly be informed that all our meals (breakfast,lunch,dinner) is being served freshly and daily.
We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in the future.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Second time in three months and we are as pleased the second time as we were the first time....Decided to split the week and had three days at the sister hotel Palm Beach at Famagusta
and spent three days of great sunshine and lovely beach scenes.Hotel and staff very attentive and spent the three days trying hard to find a fault.....A nice shock was we were up graded to half board at no expense and then found the free food as excellent as the hotel and its views were as excellent as the service.-..:-) A twenty min walk took you to the old town and a number of bars for a drink and then back for the late meal a d then drinks on the balcony overlooking the sea finished our nights....
(If the customer service man Idris reads this sorry that he is an Arsenal fan)BUT YOU CANNOT HAVE ALL IN LIFE.....finishing off with the familiar Colony Hotel we are getting what we expected....Food/staff/hotel all great.....Pity about the weather though......
i

Room Tip: OK for grown ups but little to do in the area for younger children..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony h, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your interest in our hotel.
It is a pleasure to read your comments. We also appreciate your time that you spent writing down your comments on Trip Advisor. All the opinions and comments here are valuable for us.
We are very pleased to hear that you liked the food and drinks you had in our property. Our award winning Chefs and welcoming staff is very pleased to read your comments.
Please note that Idris will also be informed seperately.
We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in the future.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights after staying at the Malpas. This hotel was great for sight seeing and walking to the Keyrina Harbor. The rooms are smaller than other hotels but were very clean. The pool, view and facilities were very nice. Stay away from the buffet it is expensive and the food was not very fresh.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 6th floor it was quiet in the room and air conditioning was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony h, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your interest in our hotel and for your time that you spent writing your comments on TripAdvisor. Your comments are valuable for us and we pay attention to these comments.
Kindly be informed that we are sorry to hear your comments about the buffet.Our buffet price is aproximately 17 GBP and this price is not expensive for England and Cyprus conditions. Both our breakfast and dinner buffet is being prepared daily to keep all the items fresh for our guests.Our Award-Winning Chefs and Executives control the items and looks after the buffets at any time.
We are highly appreciated that you choosed to stay with us and we hope to welcome you at The Colony Hotel in the future.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel

Address: Ecevit Caddesi Girne - TRNC | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kyrenia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
#4 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Kyrenia the The Colony Hotel lies between the mountains of North Cyprus and the timeless blue Mediterranean Sea. Architecturally blending the colonial style of the island's past with the glory of the Ottoman era, The Colony is a haven of tranquillity and opulence amidst the bustle of this busy town and harbour. With a total of 94 rooms and suites The Colony is justly proud of its reputation for stylish elegance and comfort in its surroundings, and attention to detail in its customer care. To stay at the Colony Hotel is to experience something special in the world of hospitality, and you know you deserve it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel Cyprus/Kyrenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony Hotel - A Park Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.