We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COULD BE GREAT BUT CHAOTIC AT PRESENT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of High Life

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added High Life to your Saves list
High Life
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akdeniz Sokak No: 25 | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Dinner on us!
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“COULD BE GREAT BUT CHAOTIC AT PRESENT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just returned from a one weeks stay in Kyrenia. We stayed at the Highlife Hotel which we knew when we booked wasn't a luxury or boutique hotel but it sounded very nice and value for money. It is a lovely small hotel with rooms overlooking the swimming pool and mountains to the back of rooms, spacious and comfortable (ours), and also rooms with a side sea view. Breakfast is served from a terrace overlooking the sea which is really nice.
The last reviewer is quite right - we arrived just after the chef had suddenly disappeared - so breakfast was in chaos - we were sitting there for over an hour before our order was taken. This improved greatly as the week progressed only because all the guests organised themselves and asked the waitress to serve the tables in order, which worked well. The breakfasts were cooked very nicely and were adequate - tea or coffee, fresh orange juice, Cypriot breakfast or egg breakfast - cooked how you preferred, or full English breakfast for a small extra cost, fresh bread or toast. (I don't think you can expect a huge buffet, etc for the price paid). It wasn't the fault of the waitress - she had also just began working there and had to clean the rooms which was impossible for her to do properly in the time she had, so things were not being undertaken as they should have been. So, doing everything was this poor girl and the owner - and there was an atmosphere within the family who weren't helping with anything. The day before we left a new chef came in but that didn't solve the problem because the owner left him to it so there were still only two staff looking after approximately 18/20 guests. Two couples who were staying another week asked to be moved to another hotel because they were so fed up with it. If we had been staying two weeks we wouldn't have moved because we liked the room, the location, and the other guests were lovely, so would have made the best of the situation. I do hope that the owner comes to his senses and puts on more staff for high season otherwise the situation will be much worse, which will be a shame for guests and especially all those guests who have been returning year after year.
The hotel does have a lot of cats - they are all rescue cats and neutered, and do not bother you if you don't want them to. They are never in a large group, just dotted around here and there, and don't come asking for food when you are eating because they are all very well fed and looked after. We love cats so enjoyed their company especially two of them - a large tabby with one eye called Bob, and a large back and white, who were both gorgeous.
We didn't eat at the hotel in the evenings because we were told that you only get offered one or two choices and with that choice comes two potatoes and one other veg and that's it. It seems they were offered one starter and one sweet - but not always.
There are two restaurants we tried which are close to the hotel - Courtyard - left at top of drive down the road a little way then cross to the right and it is down the drive - very delicious Pakistani food + European. Also, Taners Terrace Restaurant - right out of hotel drive and first turning right, follow the road and its on the left - Cypriot and European. We tried 3 Brothers Meni Restaurant in Kyrenia town, which was good, but our very favourite was Niazi's Restaurant almost opposite the Dome Hotel - excellent service and delicious food.
This has been and still could be a fantastic small hotel if the owner gets his act together. It is totally disorganised at the moment and the owner appeared uptight most of the time. Having said that, he was fine with us and let us keep our room until 6 p.m. when we left and didn't ask for payment. Luckily, we didn't leave early to require an early breakfast which he was refusing to do for guests.
We did enjoy our holiday very much and really only used the hotel as a base for sleeping and breakfast, so made the best of the going's on there.. Hopefully the situation will have improved for those guests following on from us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    60
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
154
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Brilliant hotel with lots to like, holiday only spoilt by the lack of staff (one girl to do everything) serving breakfast and cleaning out rooms, and the terrible attitude of the hotel owner who has no people sklls at all. When asked for breakfast at 7.30am for an early departure his reply was no breakfast is at 8.00 am and would not be moved. It was more like a scene from Faulty Towers most the time, we had a chef at the start of the week but he walked out. The food prepared b the owner the left a lot to be desird

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The setting of this hotel is amazing and I felt as though I was in paradise when I opened my door or stepped out onto the balcony. Unfortunately, the owner was not set up for the season when I arrived and I couldn't get in. I ended up staying at Pia Bella for one night. The next day, I returned and decided to stay. I had room 34 in block B, which is on the corner, upstairs and has an extra window for views. The family are having some problems at the moment and so the atmosphere is a little strained, with Beher taking on a John Cleese role. There was no service during the day, even though it was clean and peaceful. I enjoyed the stay for comedy value alone but in the end I asked to be moved to a different hotel because it dawned on me that I had paid a substantial amount for my Easter break and actually deserved some facilties (my towels were never changed, nor was my (damp) bed made or sheets changed in the 5 days I was there; no English breakfast available or meals on request). It's probably worth a visit in season, when he stretches to hire a cook and cleaner and I hope the family can settle their differences. As there were only 5 guests there (two sets of Germans and myself) I suppose it was a bit soul destroying for him to bother offering a full service. I wish the family the best of luck as it could be absolute paradise there.

Room Tip: Block B, Room 34
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We arrived at the High Life on 24 September. Although it was dark when we arrived, if arriving during daylight hours do not be put off by the first impression of the 'front' of the hotel - the hotel is back to front. The hotel consists of two blocks A and B, (we stayed in block B at the 'front' of the hotel), as you head towards the sea from block B you pass the swimming pool, this was always clean, although owner Bepa had concerns that you used the poolside shower to maintain it cleanliness. There is a plentiful supply of sunbeds around the pool, it was mainly always in the sun, but umbrellas gave shade if required and it was never crowded when we were there, despite the hotel being full. You then pass block A and pass through gardens to the reception area. The reception backs onto the bar area and the restaurant, which is the highlight of High Life. The restaurant fronts the sea, albeit some 5 metres above it, but there is a spectacular view along the coast to the new harbour where ferries depart for Turkey's mainland. The restaurant is where breakfast is taken and serves as the restaurant in the evening if you take the half board option - personally we didn't (we never do wherever we stay - apart from Italy). We did eat at the hotel on one evening taking in the lamb Kleftiko. This was all very well, but when all the 'guests' arrived, there was no one to take orders for drinks, (we had to go to the bar and order our own), the meal consisted of a nicely cooked lamb shank, and rice, etc, BUT THAT WAS IT !, there was no offer of starter or dessert. Furthermore it was not particularly cheap, we ate poppadums, starter, main and drinks at a local restaurant The Courtyard for less than we had Bepa's kleftiko (and it must be good, we ate there twice in a week). If Bepa wants to make something of his 'gem' of a hotel, he needs to make a better fist of his restaurant, making it cheap enough to entice people to 'eat in' or improve / extend the menu. Other guests were also not very impressed with the volumes of food at the hotel.

Now by now you may think why have I voted this hotel very good when all I have, is derogatory remarks to make about it.

Well, it has A LOT going for it does the High Life. It is exceptionally quiet, seafront views (all you can hear is the sea lapping at the shore), nice pool area, the rooms are large, it is very clean (special mention to the cleaning girls) good sized balconies, free A/C, and if you like cats (as we do) there are 14 of the beauties. They are looked after by Bepa and the owners daughter Mel who lives in the hotel. They are not the usual type of cats you would get in Cyprus, they are cared for and well fed. Whilst there are so many cats they do not come to you unless you want, and as it is generally so hot, they just sleep in the gardens all day, so if you do not particularly like cats this should not put you off coming here. However, if you are privileged, Tommy the 'Felix' lookalike will do a 'go cat' free running exhibition and visit you on your first floor balcony - and if he doesn't like you, he will take his life in his paws and free run onto your neighbours balcony, sometimes visiting your room (given the chance), before returning back to earth via the outside A/C unit and balcony railings.

The beachfront of High Life could be improved upon greatly with a little investment, maybe a 'man made' beach introduced instead of the 'broken concrete platform' This meant we could not enter the sea, which is a shame because it looked very enticing. Bepa could also introduce a beach bar area on the various levels down to the sea, which would also entice people to stay and spend money at his hotel. Unfortunately, at the moment he is reluctant to spend the money - maybe when he retires, his family will change this.

High Life is approximately 300 metres from the main road, from where you can catch a dolmus into Kyrenia for 2 TL (70p), alternatively it would be a good 45 mins walk into town along a very busy road, in 35C - needless to say it didn't appeal. For a further 3TL we visited 'Escape' beach, it cost 15TL each to go onto the beach, but it was worth it, as 'Escape' has large sunbeds and cushions, with hammocks in the sea, it had a bar area with food at 'beach prices'.

Like many others who visit Kyrenia, we visited Bellapais Abbey during the day, it cost approx. 15TL by taxi, the Abbey is a beautiful setting and a further visit to the fabulous Kybele restaurant one evening was required. The food was excellent, bats accompanied us, and frogs croaked their symphony in the Abbey pond, with a piano and violin recital in the indoor area of the 13C abbey to add to the ambiance. The food was dearer than in town or even the harbour, but it was special, with large portions. 2 courses with wine cost approx. £50, but if taken in the UK, you would have expected to pay double that given the location.

The harbour is a good place to visit and eat in the evening, we recommend Chimera, at the end under the castle walls. We can only recommend one other restaurant in Kyrenia as we only ate there twice. This was Pizza town near the bus station. The Pizza town special pizza was very good, as was my wife's special local lamb dish.

We hope to return to the High Life next May, so it cannot be all that bad.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

It is 13 years since our last visit to Kyrenia but the first visit to High Life Hotel. What a surprise!!. It is small, only 20 rooms. which suited us because there was always room around the super pool area, Breakfasts were served either alfresco or inside the pleasant restaurant bar but it was so warm out side we chose to eat outside.Diner menus were varied and good value.We went b&b but ate in 4 nights, food was excellent, wine was excellent service was excellent. The staff are very pleasant and hard working, rooms were large and clean and all have balconies and a/con. It would not suit families, as all of the guests were of mature years.the owner Beha is hands on and always available and pleasant.Our party consisted of 2 couples aaand we definately be back to Kyrenia for the 7th time and the High Life for the 2nd time. Thanks Beha and staff. Great holiday

Room Tip: W e had an upstairs corner room in block A. High ceilings Very comfortable king size bed two easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I have just spent a two week stay at the High-life and my wife is allergic to cats
and the hotel is over run with cats they were every were Gardens Reception Kitchen Pool
Dinning areas We had not been told about the cats other wise we would not considered
booking we tried to get an other hotel or a flight home with out success
However there is some good points the staff are excellent nothing to much trouble
Rooms comfortable sea view
Dinning alfresco Breakfast and Dinner down side people kept throwing food from their meal
to the cats.
Have board is not half board as we are use to anywhere else we have stayed as 60% of
the menu had additional charges for half board quests
Hotel is isolated you need the services of a taxi or car heir and the nearest beach was 15 minute drive from the hotel

Room Tip: 1 st floor good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

This could be a great little hotel, but unfortunately it isn't . There are positives , like the staff (excluding Beha) , the view from the balcony , the pool area is excellent and the gardens are great . Unfortunately and overall the negatives pull the Hotel down. One of the 'jewels' should be the view over the sea from the Terrace and it is , if you look beyond the broken bottles and litter on the now 'unavailable' sea terrace. The food is a little over priced for what you get (especially the Kleftico evening , which was basically a very plain lamb shank) . We had a room in Block A , top floor, which was fine , except the very efficient air con was so noisy we were embarassed to leave it on , also the balcony light was broken and despite 3 requests to have it fixed , it never was . The sky tv , was sky but in Turkish apart from CNN , on which the sound was very poor. We had been told that the furniture was of a very high standard , you should make your own mind up about this .The bathroom shower area is mouldy and needs updating .

Also be aware , we booked 7 nights B&B , but you don't get breakfast on day 7 if you leave early as we did . When I requested a breakast , I was told that if we got one, then everyone would want one , surely that is the idea ? or have I got that wrong .

This is a quiet hotel which is great , but it could be a quiet great little hotel , with some effort and money spending .

We flew with Onur Air , which we were dreading , but full marks to them, they were really good !

Would we go to the Highlife again ? Yes if they could prove the issues (minor) had been sorted .

Room Tip: We overlooked the sea and the evening sunset , if you like this type of view , go fo Block A top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 25 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,523 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#2 of 25 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
5.1 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Merit Royal
Merit Royal
#3 of 25 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#17 of 25 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#9 of 25 in Kyrenia
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Life

Address: Akdeniz Sokak No: 25 | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kyrenia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
#3 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Life 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since Summer 2013, a family owned hotel, just a few minutes from the center (old harbor) of Kyrenia in North Cyprus. Situated on the sea, away from noise, well suited for those seeking a quiet environment with friendly and quality service. With only 20 rooms and a restaurant with a spectacular setting, High Life is a place guests come back to year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise so you can book your High Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Life Hotel Karakoumi
High Life Hotel Kyrenia
High Life Kyrenia
High Life Cyprus/Kyrenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Life, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.