We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, a little run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of British Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added British Hotel to your Saves list
British Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kyrenia, Kyrenia, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Kyrenia
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location, a little run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

British Hotel, formerly the El Greco but changed for political reasons, is perfectly situated overlooking the picturesque harbour of Kyrenia. Rooms ample for the price, but getting a little frayed round the edges. Black condensation marks, for example, round the bath tub. Needs only a little tlc to be really good.

Room Tip: Choose room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice little boutique hotel in an amazing location. I have previously stayed in a number of hotels in and out of Kyrenia harbour and this particular place has the best view of the harbour itself. The rooftop terrace also has a great view of the mountains and Kyrenia town. My friends and I were very satisfied with the quality of service. Breakfast was fresh and a good selection was offered. Rooms were very comfortable, cosy, safe and very nicely decorated. The building itself is very authentic. Staff was very friendly and attentive. This was our first stay at this hotel and our plan was to stay in a number of different places, but we then extended our stay to cover the entire 2 weeks of our holiday. I've noted some comments that parking was an issue, which it indeed is but that pretty much applies to any location in Kyrenia town and not just to this particular hotel. However everything is within walking distance so parking is not really that big an issue. Overall we definitely received more than our money's worth.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 201, 301 and 302. Very satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgess hill
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice setting with small balcony overlooking the harbour if you can get a top floor room (otherwise you look at the White Pearl hotel, which has the better position). Car parking almost impossible unless you are lucky enough to bag one of the tiny spots to park in the narrow lanes, otherwise there is some free street parking on the one-way circuit but demand is high, so you may need to use one of the car parks about 7 minutes walk away with an overnight charge of 10 Euros. Rooms looking a bit shabby and tired and smell of smoke. Our room ceiling was black with mould in several places and the bathroom smelt mouldy. The curtains were so flimsy that as soon as it was light you were wide awake staring at the unpleasant ceiling in a pretty uncomfortable bed! Minibar provided but you are not allowed to use for your own items and indeed are forbidden from bringing them into the hotel. Breakfast was pleasant if unremarkable. Overall our least favourite hotel of our tour, wouldn’t recommend to friends and would say try the White Pearl instead as the parking situation is identical.

Room Tip: top floor only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights running upto and after New years eve
Very friendly staff who made me feel very welcome
Breakfast great and a good selection
Room was a little tired and in need of a lick of paint but in saying that very clean and room cleaned daily
would definitely return

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paralimni, Famagusta, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I chose this hotel just for 1 nights stay as traveled over from other side to celebrate valentines, its location is perfect for harbour and walking in to town, and I appreciate an old harbour building but standards here a minimum and not value for money a third floor room costs €85 per night b&b. The rooms look superb on the website nice bedding, bedroom furniture etc but our particular room 302 was small and not what I had expected. We had 2 bulbs not working, twin beds not a double that also the head board was not fixed to any thing but just stood on the floor against the wall, cobwebs around main bedroom light, no full length mirror (not so important), no water pressure in bathroom, the shower didnt work properly, water from the shower tap not from the showerhead (the tap wouldnt stay up to keep shower head on), the shower too small to use, no paper waste bin, curtain pole longer than fitting and not hung properly (see photo), no clock or alrm clock , towel rail hanging off, damp and mould, no black out blind just voiles at window, no room information or recommendations on what to do and see, and the breakfast just a choice of eggs (even got that wrong but did offer to put right) and cold meats and fruit (I know this is Turkey but should may be advertise breakfast in a little more detail so you know what to expect).
The staff are friendly and helped park the car right outside, and recommend a good restaurant and the manger did charge us just 2nd floor price €75 but came away feeling could have chosen somewhere better. We didnt complain as only one night and wont be returnuing, so dont know if would have given us a better room (although I believe all should be of the same standard) or done something different.
To stay here for more than one night would be difficult and especially if you were on holiday with higher expectations- the balcony to small to relax with just 2 wooden chairs the view over harbour would soon become boring and the hotel is in need of decoration.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have just spent a 9 day winter break at this Hotel. Although small the staff could not be friendlier. Rooms pleasant and bedding and towels changed everyday. The bar and mini bar prices were very reasonable. Would recommended and certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 for just one night. The hotel is located on a quiet back street close to The Old Harbour in Kyrenia. The staff were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room itself number 301 was small and rather scruffy but clean. The upside was the view from the balcony - superb. As we were leaving on a ferry early the next morning we were served breakfast early. Fresh fruit and yogurt,cereals and Turkish coffee. Service excellent and breakfast room clean and airy.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms at the front have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Address: Kyrenia, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — British Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The British Hotel has been delightfully transformed to bring it into line with the high class and quality level expected by the worldwide tourist. It's location is unique, in particular. Effectively, whilst in immediate reach of the historic and sought after area of the yacth harbour and the castle is surrounded by mountains. It's precise location has the added attraction of it's approached being cobbed side street with only minutes of access to cafes, restaurants, shops and casinos. It is on four floors a lift and 18 rooms (45 beds) all with ensuite bath or shower, WC, air-conditioning, telephone, minibar, remote control sattilate TV, kettle, hair dryer, tea and coffee facility. Most rooms have a balcony or terrance, with superb views. It has a bar, terrace restaurant, 24 hours room service, night porter and breakfast area serving between 8 - 11. Special attention is paid at the British Hotel to the needs of the client. Since this is a family owned and run with special emphasis at all times on personal attention by the proprietor and staff a like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Hotel Kyrenia
British Hotel Cyprus/Kyrenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.