We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 Star Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of British Hotel

Save Saved
You added British Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Otel.com AMOMA.com
British Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kyrenia, Kyrenia, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Kyrenia
Near Derby
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good 3 Star Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Enough reviewers have mentioned the location ,yes it is excellent .

We found the staff friendly and helpful with an adequate working knowledge of english ( especially the owners daughter who is fluent ).

Breakfasts were simple but fine with all we needed and expected

The air conditioning in our room failed but was promptly fixed by an engineer , it failed again 2 days later and we were immediately moved to another room with profuse apologies , could not ask for a better reaction to a problem outside their control

We paid extra for third floor and I suggest it is money well spent for the views over harbour , I think the lower floors would be okay but as rooms but the view would be adjacent buildings

Room Tip: You need the third floor harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We needed somewhere to stay for one night as we couldn’t check into our villa until the Saturday and flight times were much more sociable on the Friday.

We wanted to be in Kyrenia as we didn’t get the hire car until the next day.

The British Hotel was very reasonable (about £55 per room per night) and included breakfast. Breakfast was ‘fried/poached/scrambled egg on toast’ and a nice fruit/cheese/meat/jam selection.

The room was nice and the bathroom huge and looked recently done up. Air con and a nice balcony.

All in all it was great for one night, not sure about spending a whole holiday there but if you are looking for a reasonable, clean, handy hotel in Kyrenia you can’t go wrong with the British Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

nice and clean hotel located on the harbour. restaurants, shops and all the touristy things at walking distance. super view from the roof terrace and from the rooms from the 2nd floor up.
being this close to the harbour the rooms can be a bit noisy sometimes.
average breakfast and good service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addo Elephant National Park, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Brilliant view of the harbour. 3rd time we stayed in this hotel. The owner was very helpfull getting our car parked right in front of the hotel. Very well situated only a few meters from the harbour and restuarants.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel could be fantastic if it were to be totally refurbished. We found it very dreary and shoddy. We had a good view of the harbour being on the third floor (although we paid a premium for this). With no form of shade, and uncomfortable chairs, sitting out on the balcony in the daytime would not have been an option. Had to boil the kettle on the floor as no plug high enough for it further up. Water system not very effective this far up. Shower drizzled and loo v. poor flush. : ((((. Towards the end of the week water stopped altogether, although guy on reception seemed to know how to fix it in 5 mins. Breakfast adequate I guess, although anyone who enjoys a good cooked breakfast could be very disappointed. Began to find the welcome to breakfast with the words "Egg - boiled, fried or scrambled" every morning quite amusing.
Lacks creature comforts and style, and sells itself on location only. Sorry, but we definitely wont be back, either to this hotel or N. Cyprus. Know far more attractive and relaxing places to go for less money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Centrally located. Lovely rooms but breakfast leaves much to be desired. Make sure you get there before 3 if you have a car otherwise you'll find the road leading to the hotel closed! Parking is not far away for those with a car and it's relatively cheap €5

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The nice, quite small hotel right in the center of Kyrenia and just two steps from the harbour. This location is just perfect to stay in the city. The staff were friendly and helpfull. The room was quite big and camfortable with all I needed drung the 3 days stay. Clean, comfy bathroom. The simple breakfast was included in the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Hotel

Also Known As:
British Hotel Kyrenia
British Hotel Cyprus/Kyrenia
Address: Kyrenia, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — British Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.