We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resetaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Veranda Restaurant

The Veranda Restaurant
Ridvan Unver Street No 7 | Karaoglanoglu, Kyrenia, Cyprus
822 2034, 822 2053
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 220 Restaurants in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Great Resetaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Visited The Veranda in July, really nice setting over looking the sea, very good value and great food and wine. All the staff were really nice and I loved the menu. Large boards are brought to your table and then you choose. Had a wonderful view of the sun set, Will be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great relaxing location with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

There are only a relatively few places in Northern Cyprus where we go where we so enjoy the location and views and are confident that the food will be high standard ,, the Veranda is one of them (Abbey Bell Tower and Buffavento are two others). The menu may not be hugely varied, and as a vegetarian it is more limited still, but the fish is always beautifully presented. I guess the comments about service being slow may have some validity; but this is a place to linger in by a setting sun over the beautiful seaside location. Personally I have never been disappointed and we always think of the Veranda when we want a quiet and charming evening out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamshire, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ambience - Mediocre Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have eaten here for years and still come back even though the food is really only average at best. The menu hasn't changed in the last 7 years of being here so we have pretty much tried everything as its not that an extensive menu.

The setting is delightful, a stone court yard set just above the shoreline, it has a very rustic feel which actually just makes it 'the' place we enjoy so much. The choice of drinks is very good, although not the cheapest place around.

The serving staff are always very friendly, the only person who seems less than happy to see guests is the Turkish owner, considering we have been here 20+ times over 7 years, he hardly smiles at you, even on your 3rd visit in 2 weeks. This is contrary to all the other people there who are lovely.

The food is average, nothing special, the favourite dish i had this time was the fillet steak with peppercorn sauce, was very nice, but then its nearly twice the price of everything else. The Sea bass was disappointing, as was the Kleftico (with lamb).

If it wasn't for the ambience / setting of this restaurant, we wouldn't go, but the draw of the setting out weighs the mediocre food, as long as you are happy with that, then you will have a lovely evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Waited a long time for our food, not the meak meal we had in Cyprus.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Excellent location, over looking the sea, in a village called Karaoglanoglu !!! between Girne & Lapta..
Food very average and better value at many other restaurants.
You are paying for the location & setting.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Veranda Restaurant also viewed

Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 

Been to The Veranda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Veranda Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.