We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable evening Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bo Thai

Bo Thai
175, Besparmak Cad., | Catalkoy, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 196 restaurants in Kyrenia
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: web address on business card is www.bothaicyprus.com but didn't work when I tried it
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very Enjoyable evening Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went to this restaurant a party of 5 of us, and some of the party had never really had Thai food before, however they all really enjoyed the thai food which they ordered and were served. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly and attentive. We were given prawn crackers and crisp fried bread with dips as a pre-starter then we all had our 3 course meals, by the end we were absolutely full as the portions were very good in size. Then it was finished off with coffee and digestifs which was the end to a very enjoyable meal.
We will be using this restaurant again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    17
    8
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lower Penn, South Staffs.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Example of Thai food ever...!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Your antenna is up when you ask for a simple Thai favourite that is not on the menu, and the kitchen CAN'T do it for you..the menu made reference to salads but there were none, and I wanted my favourite Thai Beef Salad (spicy)..with this disappointment aside, I asked if they could do another favourite (Penang Chicken) which they obliged...it had flavour, but was overpowered by the greasy soup like presentation..I always thought curry like this should at least be made with coconut milk in the sauce - it was like bisto gravy with fish sauce thrown in..as we were leaving we asked the waitress if the chef was Thai - guess what - NO was the answer.!! No big surprises there..genuine Thai food lovers should avoid it, there is so much better out there...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely takeaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I've eaten here in the past but just got a takeaway on a recent trip. Although some people have said that it's not authentic enough for a Thai I would suggest that finding the key ingredients in Cyprus might provide some challenges! However we got 2 vegetarian dishes that were really tasty (some gorgeous flavours incorporated into a simple sounding dish) , quick and cheap. So no complaints from me!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I visited this restaurant a couple of times last week when visiting friends in Catalkoy; it was close to where they lived, we had the banquet meal and it was very good; lovely authentic dishes, as good as you would get in a 5 star establishment anywhere.. the actual building is stunning and was build by the owner Des; lovely and clean with good facilities. The cost of the meal was less than you would expect. It is a taxi ride from central Kyrenia but would be worth the trip.
My friends consider themselves lucky to live so close to this excellent eating place; we will be visiting again in September.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The building is beautiful and so clean that you could eat your food off the floor. The staff are so lovely. Even the boss man over the years is very pleasant and helpful. We ate there this time twice. Once we ordered off the menu ourselves the next visit we had the banquet for two people. Absolutely gorgeous food it is the best Thai food I have eaten. Great stuff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bo Thai also viewed

Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Catalkoy, Kyrenia District
 
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 

Been to Bo Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bo Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.