We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill Hotel

Best prices from these 3 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Mill Hotel to your Saves list
The Mill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Milos St.8 (P.O.Box 11533), Kakopetria 2810, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Kakopetria B&B and Inns
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We enjoyed very much our escape to Kakopetria during Christmas holidays. The hotel has a traditional style, the room was spacious and had a jacuzzi despite staying at a standard room. The room overlooked the river and the sound of the water was very relaxing. Nice wooden balcony with view at the village. Very cosy place at reasonable price for this time of year. Try the trout at the restaurant too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    26
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
paphos
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had an overnight stay here in January 2013, as was going to the Troodos. This hotel was recommended by a friend and did not disappoint.

We had a junior suite, perhaps a little expensive at 55 euros per person per night, but well worth it. The room was exceptionally large, with a jacuzzi bath.

Although only 13 rooms all booked, the only noise was the sound of the river outside.

Staff were very helpful, whatever you needed was arranged for you immediately, we ordered coffee when leaving the restaurant, and it was in our room almost as quick as we were.

Our evening meal in the restaurant was taken by the large open log fire, and breakfast the next morning the same.
The restaurant is famed for its grilled trout, and it truly was wonderful. We had a two course meal in the hotel restaurant with beer and a bottle of italian wine for 67 euros, which was very good value for money.

Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We checked in here for two nights in October, when the weather is changeable but definitely cool in the evenings. The hotel was easy to find with plentiful free parking out the front. The check in was smooth but not overly welcoming. The room was very large but did look a little dim, the room could do with being refreshed and the carpet definitely needed changing (we were room 202). We had a junior suite after reading that the difference was worth it. We had a balcony which we didn’t use much because of the temperature. On arrival the balcony and its table were covered with bird poo that we had to request someone come round to clean. This was done reasonably promptly but it shouldn’t have been there in the first place. The room had a mini bar which we emptied out to put our own stuff in, no problem. The bathroom was decent size and in reasonable condition although we did have some issues getting the taps to switch between shower and bath.
The booking was made by email and was held with a credit card – no charge, all very efficient.
Breakfast was served in the restaurant and was a decent spread but like everything else just felt a little flat, maybe it was because we were slightly out of season.
The hotel feels too small to be a large venue for tour groups but isn’t offering the service you’d expect from a boutique establishment. We didn’t have a bad time but we left feeling a little disappointed without really being able to point the finger at what the problem was. A lingering smell of smoke in the corridors, slightly uninterested service, stained carpets. A few coats of bright paint and some attention to lighting would go a long way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Its so peacefull there. The only thing you can hear is the murmuring of the river passing exactly in front of the hotel. Spacious snd very clean rooms. On the top of the hotel there is a very nice restaurant. You have to try their trout with the special sauce!! I alway miss being there!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

A group of us poped in on the off chance we could have a spot of lunch, the majority of tables were reserved, but, they moved some table about and got us sorted. The food was suerb, I have eaten trout before and didnt like it, although I heard this place have "the best trout" so I got a starter size and I am sooooo glad I did, it was superb!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Mill Hotel is one of the nicest hotels in the mountains of Cyprus, next to a small river / creek which is music to the ears. The architecture of the building is very nice. The highlight of the hotel must be the restaurant at the top which has stunning views of the nearby peaks (Kakopetria, the village where the hotel is located, is in a valley in the lower slopes of the Troodos mountain range). The food is delicious, with a vast array of traditional dishes. The breakfast is also super with a very rich selection. The rooms are large, well furnished and with a nice view. The issue with me is the fact that the restaurant is located at the top of the hotel and it gets a bit noisy at nights for people staying in the upper level rooms. There is also the issue of the open air bar at the entrance of the hotel, which generates a bit of noise. I would personally go there in the winter and enjoy the village and the surrounding areas in peace and quiet. It is great to sit in the restaurant, enjoying the cypriot food and wine with the several nice fireplaces warming the place. Lovely! If the hotel management takes care of the small issues, the Mill Hotel would be an excellent place to stay at. Overall, a very good place with room for improvement

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have been there with my "just married" husband and we enjoy it. Special atmosphere, very big room with a nice balcony and Jacuzzi at the bathroom. Nice breakfast. Hearing the river below music for the whole time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Hotel

Address: Milos St.8 (P.O.Box 11533), Kakopetria 2810, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Kakopetria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kakopetria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.