We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a winter break hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Venus Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sky Venus Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Sky Venus Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salamis road | yenibogazici, Famagusta, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Famagusta
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not a winter break hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed in the hotel on the recommendation of a family member who had stayed ther during the summer . Our visit was during March. The location is superb. We had booked a "deluxe" room. It was large with an extra single bedded room. However the room had not been prpared for visitors. The water had been turned off, there were no fixtures in the bathroom to hang towels on, and the wardrobe had no coat hangers.Breakfast was something out of " Faulty Towers" as we guests were locked out of the restaurant, and then waited a good half an hour before breakfast arrived. At one stage during our vivst we did wonder whether anyone else was staying. An interesting experience, but if the management want more european guests then they will have to up their game.Two nights was long enough, as indicated in another review very handy for the ruins at Salimis, you can walk to it along the beach,but with litle else in the vacinity, it is definately a " summer beach" hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    6
    8
    17
See reviews for
11
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pissouri, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had high hopes about the Sky Venus hotel but we were sadly disappointed. Firstly let's look at the positives. The location of the hotel is right on a sandy beach with clear, clean water, the room was clean and tidy and well presented.

Now for the negatives.
Firstly the breakfast buffet was a joke, with ONLY a small selection on offer, the staff looked uninterested and just went through the motions. Our room door handle was broken and we reported this to the front desk, it was still broken when we left.
The common areas were fairly scruffy and several glass windows had huge cracks.
The waste pipe under the kitchen sink was not fitted properly and water spewed out of it.
The room door need a Herculean effort to open.
The Lift was broken.
The room was supposed to be a self catering suite, but there was a complete lack of plates, and cooking utensils.
There was no kettle.
Any complaints reported were met with a shrug of the shoulders. Its a pity because with a bit of effort this hotel could be a good place, but our final thoughts were that it has been neglected and customer service was not a high consideration.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huseyindisko, Manager at Sky Venus Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
We have just taken over ot run this Hotel it was closed for over a year we have fixed all doors and lifts cleand everything new staff our hotel now has %85 accoupancy we will like you to com back to see us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This was the 25th hotel my wife and I stayed in on our recent trip around Europe and we have never bothered to write a review until NOW. Honestly where do we start. From the hundreds of dirty fingerprints on the glass bi-fold doors at reception which hadn't been cleaned since the hotel first opened in God knows when, to the ton of bird kaka that we had to maneuver around on our walk to the room which no-one is available to help with any luggage. The hotel is falling apart around you and the care factor of the owners is zero and that's plain to see from the broken wall and floor tiles all over the hotel to the lack of cleanliness and hygiene all around. The rooms stunk and were very dirty.The walls needed a major repaint etc etc etc. I could go on but I couldn't honestly give you a fair indication of how bad this hotel really was. PS the photos on the booking websites don't even come close to the real thing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huseyindisko, Manager at Sky Venus Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
I think you are over exagerating we had hundrets of guests stay and nobody complaint yes I agree the Hotel needs some things to be done and we have done most of them but it is not as bad as you have put it .We have had many returning clintsin the short time that we have taken over this Hotel we would like to see you back here again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

If your holidays involve little more than lying on a sun lounger on the beach then you'll probably like this hotel. We only stayed a couple of nights but found the hotel to be generally satisfactory. As so often, it's the little details that would make it a lot better (things like a fridge that doesn't switch itself off when you leave the room with your key card - you really want that cold drink when you return from the 35C heat outside).

It's very handy for the Roman ruins at Salamis, which few people seem to visit so you may have the whole archaelogical site virtually to yourself. Downside is the hotel is not exactly convenient for central Famagusta, but once you've seen the old city walls and the various old churches/mosques etc within, you may be struggling for reasons to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

This place has a great location if you're looking for proximity to Gazimagusa/Famagusta (still need car / taxi) and its a short walk (5 mins?) along the beach to Salamis. Its literally right on the beach so I can see how that would be good for families. Someone wrote on here that it has brown sand which is a bit bizarre... its not a white sand caribbean beach because of different local rock formations, but its perfectly normal sand! Its quite a narow beach though -- Cyprus is virtually non-tidal, so the beach is about a constant 15metres wide. If you're looking for beautiful landscapes go North into the Karpaz peninsular -- anywhere from Bogaz round to Esentepe just East of Kyrenia has beautiful empty beaches, especially on the Northern coast -- but those places are also very isolated with little in the way of services. TRNC isn't the same as the southern part of the island, and if you're expecting a Paphos/Limassol style holiday on the cheap then I think you might be disappointed.

As for the hotel... we were there way out of season and we really only wanted a place to sleep close to Salamis for a couple of nights, so for those reasons our expectations might be different than most. The room was large with pretty good beds and linens, but the place in general was pretty dirty, shower leaked badly, toiletries were pretty rank, and the room wasn't serviced for the 2 days we were there -- not a big deal for 2 days, I can make my own bed but it would have been nice to have the shower leakage cleared up. Plus, the walk-up rate was 10 euros higher than the web rate, which isn't common in TRNC in my experience, and there was no-one at reception speaking English to resolve that. I'm sure that in-season many of these things (especially English speaking reception) would be different, but in general if I was staying here for an annual 2 week holiday from England, rather than a weekend jaunt from Lefkosa/Nicosia which is what we were doing, I think you might be a bit disappointed.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Having read the last 2 reviews, I wonder if the hotel has had a 'makeover' since we stayed in June. We arrived from Kyrenia for a few quiet days on the beach, that is exactly what we got. There were about 6 people on the sunbeds on the beach and no-one at all at the pool in the 3 days we were there. We had a beautifully furnished clean room (actually a suite of 2 rooms) on the 5th floor with a wonderful sea view, but we seemed to be the ONLY people staying in that block and the room was not cleaned or beds made, clean towels etc. in the time we were there.
Certainly at breakfast, with not even juice to start which was served in the bar area overlooking the beach by the chef/ waiter, we were the only people there each morning.

The evening we arrived, we went to the bar to have a drink but were told by the very pleasant Bulgarian cleaner that it was closed 'until chef comes'. Thinking that it was a mistake in translation, we waited for 15 minutes until indeed the chef arrived. He was most apologetic and served us with our drinks. We then asked to see the menu and he told us that there wasn't one, but he could cook us either chicken or fresh fish, which we opted for and it was very good, it was also served by him as there wasn't any other staff. He is a nice guy and tried very hard to make us feel welcome. It did however feel a bit strange to be the only people there.

The hotel has so much potential and it's position in fabulous, so I hope that the new management can take it back to what it once was and that it doesn't go the same way as so many TRNC hotels have and close down. It certainly needs a lot of money spent on it. Having stayed in Salamis Bay before, the Venus Beach was preferable even with all my complaints about it.

I do have to say that the very few staff members that we met when we were there were very friendly, helpful and pleasant.

Given the new reviews for the hotel, we will go back to see for ourselves and hope for improvements because it could be amazing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

we stayed at Venus beach in a self catering room overlooking the sea. We had the beach to ourselves 20 yards away, the pool was spacious with ample beds and umbrellas. Really good relaxing week. You will need a car to get to the supermarket and nearby restaurants, rather than just eat in the hotel. Beach bar was great, with plenty of shade. Try Damaktadi restaurant about 1km down the road toward Bogaz.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sky Venus Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Venus Beach Hotel

Address: Salamis road | yenibogazici, Famagusta, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Famagusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Famagusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sky Venus Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Sky Venus Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Beach Residence Hotel
Sky Venus Beach Hotel Cyprus/Famagusta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Venus Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.