We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality Hotel But let down by noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arkin Palm Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arkin Palm Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Arkin Palm Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nadir Yolu | Deve Limani, Famagusta, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Famagusta
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Quality Hotel But let down by noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is a good standard and we had a junior suite overlooking the beach. the staff were generally attentive and the beach and pool had plenty of sunbeds which were well maintained. it is situated next to the ghost town which is a bit spooky especially at night.

There was problems with this hotel.

There were 6 wedding parties held at the Hotel during of our stay. These weddings were all set up round the pool and you were not allowed to use the pool after 4:00 when the staff would kick you off your sun bed. These weddings would go on till gone 1am and you would be kept awake due to very very loud music... Even with doors closed you could hear the music.

The service of the hotel staff dropped off when these wedding were on as most of the staff were diverted to serve at the weddings. The bar staff didn’t even know how to make cocktails.

On Sunday afternoon at 4:00, they decided that they would start to play clubbing music on the beach. This music was so load it made conversation difficult. Many of the guests complained and eventually the music volume was turned down however not until a manager laughed when my wife complained.

It also came to light that the hotel would allow people from outside the hotel use the beach which they charged we think about 10 TL. We didn’t know who the people were and they were quite often noisy and intimidating. We also felt that security was compromised by allowing these people to come onto the beach.

A real negative of the hotel was it allowed smoking everywhere. We had to be move tables one evening in the restaurant when the smoking became intolerable.

The food in the restaurant was basically the same every night and they never had the chefs cooking fresh food.

this hotel would be wonderful but they need to sort out disturbance of the wedding parties.

Room Tip: a room with a sea view is a must. the other side of the hotel look at a car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of your holiday with us at Arkin Palm Beach hotel.

As with most 5 star hotels around the world we do hold private events and functions. Unfortunately, for some of these events we require the pool to be closed in the afternoon, although we have reviewed the closing time to 17:00, in order to set-up the event. We do inform our guest’s the day prior to an event of the closing time.

We apologise for the noise created by the wedding and we will also be reviewing if we are able to do something in terms of volume. We do hold a Beach Party at the hotel on Sunday afternoons between 16:00 – 19:00 and again the volume of the music is something we are reviewing.

Like all beach front hotels here in Northern Cyprus, and due to local laws, we are not able to stop the public using our beach. As such we charge guest’s from outside the hotel to use our facilities a fee which is considerably higher than other public beaches in Northern Cyprus. Like in the UK, smoking is prohibited within closed areas of the hotel but all outdoor spaces not illegal.

The majority of guest’s and as you will see from other reviews on Trip Advisor we feel our cuisine is of a very high quality and that there is always plenty of choice. As an alternative to our buffet we do offer an A La Carte menu in our main restaurant, guests may choose to stay with us on a Bed & Breakfast basis and choose a meal of their choice from our A La Carte menu for dinner.

We hope the above points will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    63
    21
    13
    5
See reviews for
40
154
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A good 4* standard with lots of spacious, elegant public areas, bar, restaurant, own beach, spa, indoor pool, outdoor pool. Kept meticulously clean and tidy. Outlook at the rear is very pretty, large sandy beach, rock pools, a pier with a bar at the end. At the front, there's nothing interesting. Most of the staff are fairly attentive most of the time. English is spoken by most of the staff. One impressive item is a constant supervisions by senior management who spend a lot of time making sure all is well.

Our room was excellent, decent size, everything working, air con, mini-bar, safe. The shower room was fine and clean, if small. Toilet has an Islamic water jet device that is, um, surprisingly accurate! Balcony with a couple of chairs. Blackout curtains are effective. Electrical points are British square pin. Internet is in every room, although it wasn't fast where we were on the top floor.

Standard of food served is extremely good. Evening meals are buffet style with a very generous range of foods available. The wine can be very, very expensive, but there are some cheaper options. Lunch time offer is waiter served, haut-cuisine, elegant, tasty, and not pricey considering the high standard.

Beach is very good, fine sand, shallow and kept beautifully clean. There are rock pools to explore. There are more than enough sun loungers and umbrellas to go round. No life-guards.

1st half June, the clientele were mostly elderly, English baby-boomers. In response, the hotel's background music contained a lot of Elvis Presley! Groan. However, younger people were coming in later in the month. The hotel run a lot of events (like weddings) and also a haphazard selection of entertainments for the guest. At times, the air was full of loud, beat music coming from the neighbours. Nothing after midnight though.

The area surrounding the hotel is grim, you're effectively in a Turkish, military zone, although things are dormant now and you only see the occasional soldier. The hotel is hemmed in on three sides by the sea, the abandoned town of Varosha, and barracks / military depots. The only way out is by a boring 30 minute walk to Old Famagusta. Nevertheless there are half dozen or so bars / cafés close to the hotel where you can find drink and meals.

Overall, this is a really excellent hotel with a fine beach, superb food and many well presented and maintained services. If that's all you want, combined with warm weather, and you don't mind English clientele and a bit of noise at times, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: 1) Pay extra for rooms overlooking beach, because the sun is hard on the other side during the after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review on Trip Advisor. Your remarks of our staff, beach, cuisine, cleanliness and hotel in general are greatly appreciated. We are located 1 km from the old city of Famagusta which is a short 5min Taxi journey or approximately a 20 minute walk (depending on speed).
We hope to welcome you back to Arkin Palm Beach hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

well i was amazed a truly great five star hotel, so spotlessly clean, staff are very friendly and the rooms are so comfortable. i went as a solo traveller for two weeks and have just got home. all the guests were friendly and i didnt feel alone at all. the sunbeds on the beach are so pretty and the sand is lovely and kept so clean, went and had a look at another five star hotel nearby and their was just no comparison. thanks for a great relaxing holiday arkin palm beach would not hesitate to come back again.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are so lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us at Arkin Palm Beach hotel. Your kind comments make us proud of the work we do and are appreciated by all the personnel.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with a friend of mine after reading other reviews on trip advisor..

On arrival there were plenty of places to park which was a relief to us as we were driving..

Reception was excellent a guy was there ready to take our cases from the car and take to reception, check in very quick and easy.

On arrival at the room we had been allocated a room overlooking the car park on the second floor, this was not a problem for us as only being there for 2 nights how much time do you spend standing out on your balcony, I say standing as there is not enough room for a chair.

The room was small and for 2 people anymore than 2 days could get quite claustrophobic, but very well equipped and clean.

Service was excellent, there is nothing negative you can say about the staff, very attentive and always polite and smiling, when laying on the beach or by the pool there is always someone walking around to see if you need a drink.

We found the evenings at the hotel boring if you didn't want to sit around and just drink or go to the casino.

On Saturday night the hotel had a wedding, notes were given advising guest the pool would be closed from 4pm so they could set up....

Negatives ....

Due to the wedding that was all set up round the pool and our room being next to it we were kept awake till gone 1am due to very very loud music... Even with doors closed you could feel the music thumping. There were no warnings given about this and the fact we wanted to check out early and hit the road for our 3 hr drive was not good , with little sleep, after the music stopped I thought we could finally get some sleep, that was not going to happen either.. The walls of the rooms are very thin and when guests come back to there rooms, you can here every word as they walk down the corridor and then the doors slamming shut.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor . Your positive remarks regarding the efficiency your check-in, the service you received, general cleanliness of the hotel, and personnel are greatly appreciated by all of us here.

We apologise for any noise that was created by the weeding during your stay with us. We always inform our guest’s the day prior to an event whereby we are required to close the pool early. The original hotel was built in the 1940’s but when the refurbishment was carried out the entire hotel including the rooms where insulated to a high standard.

We hope that these points will not deter you from choosing to stay at The Arkin Palm Beach hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I wrote a review earlier in haste and I have been spoken to today by a member of staff and now feel
at ease. I was told the 'napkin' which is placed on the floor is part of the turn down that staff do in the evening. So other than prompt communication promised by a member of staff I can rate this hotel. The beach setting is beautiful and the food is plentiful.
All staff I have spoken to have been extremely polite. The room is nice and beds are comfortable.
I would definitely return to this hotel again and would recommend it to my friends. Please ignore my post below which I wrote without all the facts.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Arkin Palm Beach hotel and for taking the time to write a positive review of our hotel.
I do remember that you were surprised due to a turn down service which we offer to our guests which involves the rooms being prepared in the evenings. I am happy that this was resolved with you the following day.
We appreciate your positive comments regarding our beach, personnel and cuisine.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Arkin Palm Beach hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel is tastefully renovated to very high quality standards. Interiors, lobby area,restaurant area, pool area, beach area etc are all equipped with high quality and astetically pleasant furnitures and fixtures. I can not think of anyone who would not be impressed with the hotel interiors, the sandy beach etc. The staff is overall friendly, courteous and helpful.

As for the hiccups:
Open buffet dinner had a lot of offerings but most of the main dishes were not that great tasting especially the grilled meat and meatballs which were very cold when served were big disappointment.

Coupe of people mentioned Molton brown products but what we had in the room was unbranded (low quality looking) shampoo, soap and shower gel though the vanity kit and sone other products were from Molton brown. Not sure why we got the cheap replacement for shampoo, soap etc.

The bed was extremely small and the matress felt like low quality box spring kind. We had a standard room facing the car park as sea side rooms were not available, so not much of a view.

I would recommend and also come back to this hotel but will be more selective about the room and the bed I was given.

Room Tip: Avoid car park facing rooms just because the view on the sea side is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor of Arkin Palm Beach hotel. Your comments regarding our hotel, facilities and personnel are greatly appreciated.
We pride ourselves on the quality and selection of our cuisine and as you will see from the majority of our guest’s reviews our cuisine is positively regarded. We apologise that you felt this way and are positive that this was a one off. As mentioned the majority of our guests are complimentary of our cuisine.

We do provide Molton Brown products to our guest rooms, unfortunately, we have periods, due to delivery delays from the UK, where we do not have stock and as such have to provide an alternative product of a similar quality.

When travel agencies send us reservations we always reserve a room depending on their requests. E.g. depending on sea view/garden view we will apply that reservation as there is a supplement for sea view rooms. Depending on availability we will always try to be as flexible as we can with our guests.

We hope to see you again in the future at Arkin Palm Beach hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels and resorts, but this stood out as one of the very finest. Unlike other hotels where the focal point is the pool, at Arkin Palm, the focal point really is the sea, and every part of the hotel gives excellent sea views including the lobby, the restaurant, the fitness centre and the indoor pool.

The view from my room was stunning, the hotel building is situated right on the beach so I can see the sea right from my bed. The water was crystal clear, very calm and very inviting. It was especially perfect for my 1 year old. We could actually see small fish around our legs as we stood in the water!

The indoor pool looked magnificent with it's traditional arches and it had a big glass wall so we can look at the sea while swimming indoors. The same goes for the fitness centre, which was very well equipped.

The room was very well appointed and even came with two bathrobes, a very nice touch. Even the pillows were divine. The service was very good and all staff know English. I was travelling with a baby and was promptly given a very nice baby cot with baby pillow, blanket and all.

The dinner was simply luxurious. There was tasteful, live music every night, creating the perfect ambience. The restaurant also provides excellent sea views.

Guests were also very warm and friendly. I also met some couples who have been going there annually for the last 15 years and I can certainly understand why.

Room Tip: Even rooms that don't face the sea still have a descent lagoon view with incredible sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and would like to thank you for taking the time to share such a positive review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are happy to hear this is one of the finest resorts you have stayed in and your comments regarding the situation of the hotel, our facilities, rooms, service and cuisine and greatly appreciated by us all here.
We hope to see you again here at Arkin Palm Beach hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arkin Palm Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkin Palm Beach Hotel

Address: Nadir Yolu | Deve Limani, Famagusta, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Famagusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Famagusta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Famagusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Arkin Palm Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arkin Palm Beach Hotel is located in the ancient port city of Famagusta, North Cyprus. The Hotel offers "a Heaven on Earth Location" where the turquoise hues of the Mediterranean sea, the magnificence of its private golden beach, nature`s own beautiful greenery, and amazing sunsets all come together in a truly idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Arkin Palm Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkin Palm Beach Hotel Cyprus/Famagusta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.