We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Beach has it all!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arkin Palm Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arkin Palm Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Arkin Palm Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nadir Yolu | Deve Limani, Famagusta, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Famagusta
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Palm Beach has it all!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent two nights in the new Palm Beach Hotel in November 2012 and were really inpressed with the total package. The Customer Service was excellent from Idris in Guest Relations to all the friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel. The Room was extremely comfortable with a great view. The Spa was first class. The sumptious Buffet Breakfast and Evening Meal, was too delicious!! with terrific, great variety of choice. The various designs of loungers around the pool were very creative and comfortable.

Only constructive comments were our surprise at being charged for a Latte and Americano with our breakfast, which has never happened wherever we have stayed previously. Also, we had hoped to use what we thought were complimentary bicycles to go to and from the Old City which is a 20 minute walk each way. Would have been great service for guests, but unfortunately the hotel charges £5 per hour or £15 per day. May sound not a lot, but you can almost rent a small car for £15 per day!!

However despite the above admittedly small concerns, the total package was excellent!!

Room Tip: South east wing has sun for most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind interest in our hotel.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding our personnel and aspects of our hotel which you mentioned in your review.

For breakfast we do serve Nescafe, tea and fruit juices which are all included in the breakfast package, however, Latte and Americano are offered from our A La Carte Menu and as such are chargeable.

We do offer a bicycle rental facility for our guests and we feel the pricing structure really just covers the running costs of maintaining the bicycles. During the high season all car rental firms will only rent a car for a minimum of three days at 26GBP per day. We feel that the bicycle rental service offers our guests the flexibility of discovering the Historical Old Town of Famagusta and surroundings at their own leisure and is less expensive than renting a car.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor, our guests thoughts are always valuable to us.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    63
    21
    13
    5
See reviews for
40
155
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limmasol
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We only spent one night here and wish we had longer. Firstly, Famagusta is an amazing city and well worth the visit. Our guide book said that most visitors only make it as a day trip which is a pity as they miss out on some fantastic restaurants and bars - and this amazing hotel. The facilities - swimming pool, sauna, steam room, gym - are all first class but the star of the show is the golden beach and crystal clear sea just right outside. We went for an early morning swim - quite shallow so good for children and non-confident swimmers. Feeling righteous, we tucked into the sumptious breakfast buffet out on the terrace, enjoying the sunshine. Slightly spoiling this is the chain smoking locals but this is typical all over northern Cyprus. There is a casino, but our entertainment was watching the lightning over the Karpaz from our balcony.
There was, however, something slightly surreal about this 5* exeprience right on the edge of the bombed out, decaying, deserted hotels of Varosha. At Euros150 it's not cheap but we would love to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with a balcony - ony Euros10 extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on our hotel, our guest’s thoughts always mean a lot to us.

We agree that Famagusta is city full of history offering tourists plenty to see and do. One of the highlights is the coastline, as you mentioned, offering golden sandy beaches and crystal clear water.

Our location is unique in that it is set next to the old Town of Varosha ‘Maras’ which has been uninhabited since the unsettlement in 1974 between Greek and Turkish Cypriots. We feel our location offers our guests the opportunity of being able to witness this unique area first-hand along with being able to offer our guests a very quiet and relaxing environment as the other side of our hotel is surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea.

We are always very proud when a guest leaves and says they would like to revisit, we will be glad to welcome you back and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Wonderful holiday. Refurb excellent. Had the grandchildren with us for the 1st week. We all loved the position of the hotel with regard to the beach and closeness to the old walled city of Famagusta. Halil Kahraman, Office Manager and Idris, Guest Relations, were exceptionally helpful, as was Emotion on the front desk. Staff at every level were attentive and cared about our comfort and needs. Abdoullah in the restaurant and Ali on the terrace were always there for us. The food was excellent at breakfast and again with the buffet in the evening, with plenty of choice, especially the 'puds', which the children loved. We hit the festival of Bayram which was great as we were invited to enjoy the special dinner and entertainment on the Saturday. We had a seaview room with excellent AC, all mod-cons, a very high standard of cleanliness and Molton Brown products. The Hotel has indoor and outdoor swimming pools, steam room and sauna. Overall, a comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable holiday. A big 'Thank You' to all the staff at Arkin Palm Beach and Green Island, the Travel Company we travelled with. If you are looking for a quiet location and a great beach for the children, where you make your own entertainment, then this hotel is for you. We will be back!!

Room Tip: A sea view room is great. All have very good showers and beautifully tiled bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was lovely to see you again for the second time this year and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us once again.

We appreciate your time and the positive remarks you have written on Trip Advisor regarding our hotel and staff. Comments like these always make us proud of the work we do and our guest’s feedback is always so important to us.

We look forward to seeing you and your husband on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visited the old Palm Beach Hotel three times between 1990 and 2012. Although the hotel had deteriorated over the period, it still managed to maintain the slightly chaotic, friendly, family feel that we all knew. In October 2012, we decided to visit the refurbished Palm Beach Hotel.

Our first impressions were good, gone was the dark lobby that was there previously and we were greeted, at 2 o’clock in the morning, by the Night Manager and in no time were settled in our room on the northern seaward side of the hotel. On previous occasions we had stay on the south eastern beach facing side, so we requested a change of room the following morning. Here we came up against a problem, one that several other guests reported. The young lady on duty at the front desk did not have a very good command of English and was not particularly helpful, in fact she was almost off hand.. We were told, “no sea view rooms available, come back after breakfast” which we did to no avail while she was on duty. Eventually we manage to speak to a more senior male member of staff and were immediately offered the option of a sea view room or suite. We opted for the sea view room.

These rooms are small, we knew that but while the refurbishment has completely revamped the room, it lacked storage space. One cupboard was taken up totally by the mini-bar and it’s supplies, another drawer was taken up completely by the hairdryer and the wardrobe itself did not have sufficient space for the belongings of two adults. The bathroom also lacked storage space, there was not even a shelf over the wash basin. Having said that, the room was immaculately decorated, clean and it remained that way throughout our stay.

Breakfast proved to be a comprehensive buffet which was excellent in quality and quantity. There was the option to sit indoors or outdoors. Unfortunately if you did not smoke, sitting out doors could be a problem. In fact, smokers were a problem at all the outdoor facilities whether it be the restaurant, the terrace or even the beach. This was a major bone of contention among a number of non smoking guests we spoke too.

We only used the beach side lunch time facilities once and thought the selection rather limited for such a large hotel. The other issue with the beach side facilities was the service or lack of it at times. Certain staff were switched on, certain staff were definitely switched off. Definitely room for improvement.


We took some friends to the restaurant for lunch one day. Believe it not, they had stayed at the Palm Beach over 50 times in the past and were still remembered by some of the staff.. We had a nice lunch over looking the beach and the service, as usual in the restaurant was good. We were half board and dinner was also of a good quality and quantity. There was a very large cold table buffet, a selection of hot European dishes, two different hot soups every day, a pizza for those really desperate and a large selection of deserts. We found this more than adequate although the hot European dishes could have been a little more imaginative at times. Service in the restaurant was excellent, the major complaint was the wine prices which we considered to be a bit over the top.

For such an up market hotel, a more stringent dress code was to be expected in the restaurant. Tee shirts, jeans and cut offs were quite common, some people looked as though they had walked straight in off the beach much to the annoyance of the guests who had taken the trouble to dress up..

Facilities on the beach were ok. Plenty of towels, sun beds and mattresses with two umbrellas at each position. Unfortunately the umbrellas were fixed, so with the sun at such a low elevation in October, if you want some shade you spent a lot of time moving your sun bed around. The umbrellas themselves were quite smart but not very practical and given that the hotel has only been open since December, were beginning to look slightly battered.

There was little night time entertainment. The Turkish evening and film show were cancelled on account of poor weather forecasts. There was some music on the terrace on two evenings but the noise levels, if you attempted to sleep, were excessive at times.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the refurbished Palm Beach. The hotel has certainly gone more up market but had lost a lot of the friendly atmosphere that had existed previously. Certain aspects of the hotel were more “style over substance”. Too many men in suits wondering around, too many inexperienced staff, a bit clinical overall. Would we go again, maybe!!

Room Tip: See view rooms can be noisy if there is late night entertainment on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry that you encountered a problem when you requested a room change and that our member of staff may have seemed a little ‘off hand’. Our employees are all trained to a high standard, with on-going training offered throughout the year to maintain our high level of service which a lot of our other guests agree with, as you may see from the other reviews on Trip Advisor.

Unfortunately, As the hotel was originally built İn the 1940’s and due to planning restrictions, we were not allowed to knock down any of the original room walls. The rooms were completely modernised throughout to what we feel is a very high standard for a boutique hotel.
With regards to storage in the bedrooms/bathrooms and as mentioned on other posts as well with the dress code for evening meals, these are points which we are looking to improve where and when we possibly can.

We are pleased that you enjoyed lunch with your guests and to hear that they have stayed at Palm Beach 50 times is quite remarkable.

The Arkin Palm Beach hotel has just completed its first year since re-opening and we appreciate and value your comments as we can only improve as a hotel when we receive honest feedback from our guests. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Have been waiting to return to Palm Beach after the long awaited refurbishment and like many other comments I thought it was excellent. Requested a sea view, which we received, and the 3rd floor room was satisfactory though did find the bathroom slightly "snug". Which ever way you opened the shower door it was a bit if a struggle to get through as you couldn't leave it open as the floor would be flooded. Breakfast and dinner both very good, with varied selection, but I do think there should be some sort of dress code especially for dinner. I'm not expecting dress suits or tiaras but feel the shorts, flip flops and t.shirts should be left at breakfast! Beach brollies, sunloungers and seating round the pool all very nice and lastly all the staff we came into contact with were helpful, courteous and friendly. Definitely coming back next year. All in all well worth the wait!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor, all of our guest’s thoughts are greatly appreciated.

As we have mentioned previously on other postswe were restricted due to planning permission and were not able to make any of the rooms larger from the original 1940’s construction of this hotel. We have also taken on board yours and other guests comments regarding a Dress Code for dinner and will be discussing this with senior management of the hotel.

We are happy that you found the new Arkin Palm Beach Hotel staff to be helpful and friendly and to also hear that you are planning to come back next year. We look forward to seeing you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We went during the first 2 weeks in October and booked via Discovery Collection, an excellent boutique tour operator who specialise in North Cyprus and 4 or 5 other destinations. We flew on a BA flight direct to Larnaka, far quicker than going via mainland Turkey and only a 45 minute drive to the hotel from the airport which meant we left home at a reasonable time and arrived at the hotel in the early afternoon, time to grab some much needed sunshine! (The temperature at this time of year saw daily maximums between 26-31C which was spot on for us!)

The hotel is beautifully located on a gorgeous sandy beach and was totally refurbished in the last 12 months to a standard that would not be out of place in a 5 star West End location. We had a junior suite which had a beautifully large terrace with our own double sun bed plus chairs and a table, all overlooking the calm sea - quite idyllic. The room was very well apportioned with a very nice en suite and all the extras you would expect. If we had one criticism it would be the lack of storage space, particularly the wardrobe - other than that it was very comfortable indeed.

The service was very good indeed with friendly staff and as mentioned elsewhere, Idris on the front desk was first class and extremely attentive. The food in the restaurant was very pleasant with a good selection every night which varied throughout our stay and the waiters were formally dressed and very pleasant indeed. (Maybe the management should try to ensure that the guests for dinner wear at least smart casual)

As mentioned above the beach was very nice indeed and we never failed to get sun beds at the front, just a few yards walk into a very calm and relatively warm sea. Staff come round as one would expect and take your orders for drinks and looked after us well. The pool is a very good size and slightly cooler than the sea but beautifully clean and well maintained. Additionally we used the spa on more than one occasion and was very good and certainly compared well to London prices.

We wanted a chilled break and that was exactly what we got and couldn't have asked for more. We did hire a car for a few days and went over to Kyrenia and up the Karpaz but other than that our only sorties out were the 20 mins walk / 5 minute taxi journey to the old walled city which is certainly worth a visit.

Overall a great holiday and brilliant venue with friendly attentive staff. Ideal for a relaxing break and a fabulous place to chill out

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Fırstly, thank you for choosing to stay at the Arkin Palm Beach hotel. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to write your review on Trip Advisor. Such a positive review of our personnel and hotel is always greatly appreciated by everyone.

As mentioned in a previous post we are speaking with management at the moment with regards to introducing a dress code for dinner.We are pleased that you were able to relax and “chill out” on your holiday here and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Five nights very sweet spot. We slept like babies there. Sound of the waves, full moon and sunrises. Half board meant breakfast and dinner included. Excellent food even we are vegetarians. They went out of their way to please us. Staff and waiters were great, humorous, and taking care. The morning sunrise over the ocean is heaven. Newer hotel, nice spa, two pools, sauna, etc. This is perfect if you want to just swim, walk on the beach, read, eat and relax a few days. The people of Northern Cyprus are very nice. The pharmacist near the big roundabout was typically generous. Checked the paper and gave us the posted exchange rate when we needed Lira on a Saturday afternoon when all were closed. She then closed her shop to drive us to another place that we were looking for in town. First rental car was comical-out of a movie it was so beat up- but they graciously replaced it with a nice car the second day when we asked. We were impressed at how clean the city was compared to many countries. We booked with a travel agent and got a better rate.

Room Tip: Ocean view magnificent. Otherwise, its a parking lot view on the west side. The ocean view is stun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Arkin Palm Beach Hotel and for taking the time to write your positive comments about our hotel on Trip Advisor.

The Arkin Palm Beach team would also like to thank you for your kind words about our staff and facilities of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you back and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arkin Palm Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkin Palm Beach Hotel

Address: Nadir Yolu | Deve Limani, Famagusta, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Famagusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Famagusta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Famagusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Arkin Palm Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arkin Palm Beach Hotel is located in the ancient port city of Famagusta, North Cyprus. The Hotel offers "a Heaven on Earth Location" where the turquoise hues of the Mediterranean sea, the magnificence of its private golden beach, nature`s own beautiful greenery, and amazing sunsets all come together in a truly idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Arkin Palm Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkin Palm Beach Hotel Cyprus/Famagusta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.