We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIG,BIG Disappointment!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Famagusta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Majestic Beach Hotel
Save
You added Majestic Beach Hotel to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bogaz | Mersin 10 Turkey, Famagusta, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Famagusta
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“BIG,BIG Disappointment!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Do not believe the brochures. This is by no stretch of the imagination a beach holiday, the beach is in fact a small scruffy public beach. There is no pool bar, no fish restaurant, no pub and no lobby bar.
You do not need the hassle, so many things to complain about.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    5
    6
    7
See reviews for
4
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heathrow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

The room was clean and spacious, and the two pools were kept clean through out our stay. However we would not stay there again. There are beach views but no beach to swim off. The food was over cooked and offered little choice, the rice having formed glue like chunks, and desserts were for example half a banana wrapped in foil, a cake, some sorry looking fruit and sweetmeats the flies had been on. Breakfast you could have eggs cooked as you liked but some of the side dishes such as olives came up for every meal albeit the flies were in abundance and the food not covered. The night before dirty glasses were not cleared away and one morning broken glass was on the floor from the night before. The table clothes (when used) were stained and creased. As a previous reviewer wrote the owner and his family enjoyed excellent waiter service while the rest of us did not. On a previous review I read the owner was keen to promote special occasions among his guests, when told of our ruby anniversary for which my husband had ordered flowers through the hotel the member of the owner's family merely grunted. As is expected in Northern Cyprus the electric and water went off a number of times. Before booking we told both the tour operator and spoke to the hotel telling them that I am intolerant to dairy products and were told this was not a problem, which it never was when staying at the Palm Beach, however on the barbeque night (our Ruby Anniversary) there were very limited options for me apart from the red cabbage and beetroot which turned up every night. Some of the staff had good English but other did not give confidence in their understanding of whether or not food contained dairy.
On the plus side there is firstly the daily free transport to Famagusta from which you can access the wonderful clean sand and sea of the Palm Beach Hotel. For the cost of a mere 10 TKL the Palm Beach offers the former range of Beach, sun beds, the Cylpso Bar is reopened plus rest room amenities and lounge bar of the hotel are available. (and yes, Gupta, still commands the beach throughout the summer!!). Secondly the book exchange which went on at the Palm Beach is alive and well on all three floors of the Majestic.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire, england
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

we had a great holiday in this hotel, the hotel was very clean, lovely air conditioned room, the food was excellent, such a wide range to choose from we even had roast beef & yorkshire pud one evening! wow! little bit of england there hahaha.
we enjoyed the live entertainment & friendliness of all the staff, nothing was too much trouble for metin, he was always available if we needed his advice, we had such a relaxing time, in fact we plan to have a repeat holiday at the majestic beach hotel in 2010.
we would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to "chill out" and unwind.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We have just returned from a ten day stay at the Majestic - and it was just what we were looking for and expected. The family run hotel has everything you would want for a relaxing holiday. The food was really good, and plentiful. The staff courteous and always eager to please. The rooms were cleaned daily and were very spacious. Add into the equation a large, cool swimming pool, small sandy beach, warm sea........... what more could one ask for. Would we go back? - you bet !

Thank you Metin and all the team for a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Ippolytts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

I did alot of research before booking 'The Majestic Beach', and decided that we would try it even though there were some bad revues here.
My partner and i are not into kiss me quick hats, disco bars and fruit machines, when we go on holiday we like to chill, get away from the hussle and bussle of everyday working life, this place scores very highly on these points
What a great decision. The Hotel is very comfortable, the rooms spacious and very very clean, the food was very good with plenty of choice and also plenty of it, the local spirits are cheap and the measures large, so be careful (or dont be).
Yes the beers are more expensive than the local cafe/bars, but they do not carry the large overheads of a hotel, this may bother some people enough to moan, but personally this does not worry me.
The owner Metin tried to make the beach to the rear of the hotel more user friendly, however the power of the ocean beat him.
We used the other beach to the east, the same distance (60 second walk) from the hotel, this is lovely and sandy, just a few very small pebbles as you go into the sea, and then just more and more sand, the sea is lovely and warm and very safe to bathe in.
Metin is going to develop this area for hotel customers with the idea of a patio area and bar.
The staff are very friendly and courteous and will do everything they can to help.
The only thing i can find to complain about are the whinging, whining complainers i witnessed at the hotel, all of them i am embarassed to say English.
It appears that alot of the whiners want 7 star Sandal resort facilities. This is not a Sandals resort, you are not paying £4-5K Sandals resort price, get real.
All these misers wanted was a reduction or if possible a freebie.
They moaned about things such as 'do you know there are 4 kittens at the end of the drive with no mother, what are you going to do about it', also 'the matresses on the pool loungers are damp', oh really, weve just had a rain shower what do these people expect.
I would reccomend this hotel if you want a very comfortable reasonably priced relaxing break, if you want a 7 star holiday , go to Sandals, simple, and leave this gem for the people that appreciate it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Well, to be honest we sort of expected things not to be excellent looking at some of the reviews and it is only a 3 star but there are a few things which are not great.
We went B & B because we knew we were close to the Bogaz Village and knew what the food was like there.
Beach - It doesn't have its own really, certainly not with easy access. The hotel is set back off the sea front and there was obviously some form of business there before as there is an old hard standing/concrete area. There is a small area to the left with access but not great, rocky and I didn't see anyone there. The main beach area I believe to actually be public, although the hotel uses it. It has boat access and is often used.
The beds are ok, not all have cushions and the umbrellas are not always available to all.
Its certainly not maintained, rubbish is a shame, dog poop etc etc - If you've been - it's not like the Famagusta Beach. But the water is clear and its all sand apart from a small bit of shingle as you enter. There was a big pile of rubbish, which had obviously been collected but not cleared - it sat there all week and had obviously been there longer.
Breakfast was ok, normal fare. We did have a meal in one night but I have to say, it is prepared to please - Beef Strogonoff, Fish and Chips and Chicken Nuggets on the night we ate in with a standard spread of dips, salads etc. It cost 100 Lira, with a couple of drinks, we didn't spend anywhere near that in the village and half board supplement is half what we paid, so if you don't want to venture out, make sure you pay before you go.
Rooms were ok, Air Con worked, small balcony but were not always cleaned well. Bathroom was not great, small, no windows (if your in the main block) and the water pressure/hot water was very intermittant - something they should have resolved by now.
No swim up bar, Pub has not been open for years according to the locals and the staff were a bit hit and miss.
Swimming pools, of which there are 2, were ok if your a pool person but they didn't appear to have been cleaned for a while.
The walk into the village is ok along the beach in daylight, good torch at night. Alternatively you can walk along the road, last 50 yards there is no pavement, but otherwise your ok. Again, good torch to shine at the cars helps.
It can be quite a busy road and we could hear the traffic in our room, the so call villas are even closer to the road so I expect it was worse for them.
As you would expect, things are far cheaper in the restaurants and shops than buying in the hotel, Beer was double the price, turkish coffee 4 times the price !!! So we tended to take the stroll for refreshments, alot of people did.
I did catch a few people moaning, want to get moved etc as they had more problems with their rooms than we did but I believe most easy things did get resolved.
There was alot of talk about other things getting fixed etc but I have my doubts - it needs quite a bit of investment to do that.
Its about 30-45 mins transfer if there are no other drop offs and it's a bit more than 7 miles to Famagusta - not sure exactly.
They do a free daily bus into Famagusta, apart from Sunday, leaves at 9.00 and picks up at 3.30.
Overall, the holiday did what we needed it too, just ignored the issues really but I wouldn't go back and I wouldn't recommend, there are better.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaw Nr Oldham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Our room was good, spaceous and very clean with comfortable beds and free air con. We stayed on a half board basis which turned out to be an excellent choice. Breakfast was buffet style with a good variety of food both hot and cold. Snacks were available throughout the day. The evening meal was a choice of a buffet or an al a carte menu. The buffet included local dishes, with numerous mezzes, selection of salads, cold side dishes, soup, plus 3/4 main courses of meat/fish/pasta, fresh crusty bread was always available and several sweets to complete the meal. We ate from the buffet mostly and found the food to be of excellent quality. We also chose from the al a carte menu which offered a varied selection and was excellently cooked and presented. Meals were taken on the pleasant restaurant terrace. Waiting staff were excellent and friendly.
The hotel owner, Mehtin and his family regularly ate and socialised with guests. There was a very friendly, homely feel to the place. We feel that they will quickly build up a loyal clientele to this hotel under the new ownership. The swimming pools were clean, and well maintained, although the steps into the pools could be improved by a hand rail as they were slippy. Pool beds and large umbrellas were good and well spaced out allowing good use of both sun and shade. The beach front was a dissapointment to us, but the sandy beach area was available with beds and umbrellas which were always in full use. We understand from Mehtin that he has plans to develop the beach area at the end of this season which will be a real asset to the Majestic Beach Hotel's Future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Beach Hotel

Address: Bogaz | Mersin 10 Turkey, Famagusta, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Famagusta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Famagusta
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Majestic Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Beach
Majestic Beach Hotel Cyprus/Famagusta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.